We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
341
82
23
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
82
23
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi bocas del toro main island private room great food place to stay other islands every night other guests amazing place hospital point family dinner other travelers amazing staff jungle hike great pool a great experience
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

the Lodge is nice but the prices for food are totally overpriced...havent paid that much in any other accomodation during my 6month travels through central america. Unfortunetly for the price the portions are very small...so because of that i could not recommend to stay here!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Marian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SlorpBop, Manager at Bambuda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Hey there, Marian!

Our breakfast and lunch prices are very comparable to other restaurants in Bocas. Even a local restaurant, it's tough to find a lunch for less than $5. Our breakfasts range from $2-$6 and lunches $5-$7, and we're in the process of creating a new menu! The lunch portions are definitely comparable to other locations throughout Bocas. Dinner prices range between $9-$16 but our chef is a professional who has cooked gourmet food in other parts of the world. I know you cannot find quality food like that for a cheaper prices anywhere on the islands.

Unfortunately Panama is one of the most expensive countries throughout Central America, add the fact that were on the islands, on an island that isn't developed... simply because of transportation costs everything automatically costs more than throughout the rest of the country.

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it greatly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Bambuda Lodge was the highlight of our trip to Bocas del Toro. The pool and common areas are beautiful and there was an activity planned every day. The best part is family dinner at night, which has delicious food and is a great way to meet everyone there. The private rooms are just like hotels and were very clean. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Bad surprise was The dinner. They told us to sign in for the dinner before 6.30pm , but after our hike at 6 pm everything except the soup for 9$ was sold out. When we left at 3 pm they couldn't say, what the dinner will be, so we couldn't sign in early... Very disappointing.
Breakfast also to expensive, for what you get...

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 304dominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SlorpBop, Manager at Bambuda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Good evening, Dominik,

Sometimes that can happen that different items sell out, as we only offer a certain portion of each meal (4 different options). The chefs base what they're cooking on what's available, which has to be determined the same day. Unfortunately we are not aware of what dinner will be until a little after 4PM, as stated during check in. Since your stay, we have spoken with the kitchen staff about offering more portions for the meals, improving the issue you had during your stay.

The breakfast we are in the process of improving and renovating, as well! Because we are on the islands, even more another island that is secluded and less-developed, the food prices are higher than some other areas in Bocas. Everything in Bocas is automatically more expensive than areas on the mainland simply because of transportation costs and availability.

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it greatly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

I went there after being in Bocas for a month because I wanted to take a break from the party scene in Colon Island and this was the perfect option! This is more than just a lodge. The food in there made by A CHEF its AMAZING good, I love the way that they made a group dinner in a way all the guest can chill together. Otherwise is so relaxing that would prefer to bring a book instead of using the internet. It's amazing to hear the animals from the jungle and be "far" from the other islands. There is no a place like this with this view in Bocas

p.s. If you are a backpacker and you want to cook your own meals this is not the best option for you

Room Tip: even the shared room is worth it
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarbaraLizeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

I've checked out a few hostels in Bocas, Bambuda is still my favourite, perfect if you want to relax, chill and while at it still meet new people.
If surfing is why you are there, I would recommend you to rent a board on the main island since there is no surfing in Solarte ;)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews