We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just plain old love these people and this place”
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Isla Solarte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Finally made our return visit to GOE after an initial trip in June 2009. As usual, everything was perfect. Helena and Bobby are the greatest hosts, and Magali and Lisa are wonderful as well. To us they are like family, and it was great to see them again. The only sad part was that we booked late, so only three nights were availablle - not anywhere near enough. We hope to come back for a week next time. All I can say is that if you are considering staying here, go ahead and book it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cryfireSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

After two hectic days in Panama City, and months of winter in the midwest we arrived at the G of E mid-morning. We were ready for another slice of life in Panama without schedules, noise, traffic and snow. More tired than we realized, we were greeted by Helena at the dock with a warm welcome and within a half-hour we each drank a Goomba Smash. Very unusual to drink so early for us, but within minutes my husband was asleep in his cabana room (larger of the three) and I was asleep at the pool in the warm, warm sun. This began a very enjoyable 4-day stay. Helena helped us out in making arrangement with Panama Air to extend our stay one more day and have a flight to hop on for our return to PC, and then she arranged a hotel cancellation in the city for us - both acts of kindness helped me relax even more. Magla and Lisa as staff members, and Sebastian too were all very nice and enjoyable to meet. Bob and Helena engaged us in many enjoyable conversations punctuated by laughter and mutual smiles. A very early morning rainfall on our third day was exquisite to hear and feel in the tropics. Fortunately by early afternoon the clouds cleared and the warmth returned. There is a library to use, and I found a couple of interesting books on pirates that I managed to read and finish during our stay. We went to Bocas for a a few hours and were glad to return to the quiet of G of E. Fresh lobster was great to eat and my husband adored the fish dip. Here I had my first Pina Colada ever and it was so good, I had three of them! All in all a very nice respite from the world-at-large.

Room Tip: We liked having the larger of the three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at this resort and had a great time. Helena, Bob, Lisa and Magaly were all excellent hosts. This resort is very unique and well worth a stay. If you are looking for relaxation and a place to get away from all the hustle and bustle of modern life this is the place. Helena greets you and immediately makes you feel like you’re at home. The rooms all have amazing views and are on a cliff almost over the water. The fans are fine to cool things off at night. The food was very good and prices are reasonable and the portion size is huge. The coconut shrimp was amazing and I would also recommend the surf and turf ( a lobster tail and T bone steak). The drinks were also very good and the prices were very reasonable. Highlights include kayaking to Red Frog beach. The beach and hiking there was well worth the paddle. Some other highlights include SCUBA diving at hospital point and night snorkeling with the bioluminesance. My wife had a massage from Magaly which she said was amazing. There are some bugs (small biting insects) that can be a problem but if you burn the coils and use a repellent it wont be much of an issue. We did not see any mosquitoes. Helena and Bob are great hosts and have a truly unique resort that I highly recommend. You will be isolated but it is a nice break for a few days. I would recommend staying 3 or 4 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vredenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at The Garden of Eden for five nights, an idyllic setting created by Bob and Helena Myers, ex-pats from the Florida Keys.

The place is on a small island, with only three rooms (a maximum of 6 adult guests). The owners, and their two staff persons (Magaly and Lisa) are very friendly, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. Helena efficiently booked all of our trips and water taxis (yes, you need to take a water taxi to get any where, but the place is so quiet and peaceful that if all you wanted to do was relax and stay put, the place is perfect for that). Water taxis are generally $15 for two people to Bocas del Toro town or Bastimentos. Returning to Garden of Eden can be negotiated down to $10 for two people.

Meals at G. of E. are the best in the area. The lobster is straight from lobster divers' catch that morning. We recommend the Lobster Tail, or anything seafood on the menu. As a Bed and Breakfast, breakfast is simple but delicious, usually a fruit salad and johnny cakes (large English muffins) with jam and butter.

We recommend having Helena arrange snorkeling trips with a local man named Bacho, who charged us a very good rate of $25 a person per day. He doesn't have gear so you have to have your own or use what few pieces that the Garden of Eden has. The best sights underwater were the coral gardens of Coral Cay, off Hospital Point, and off Solarte. We saw barracuda, plenty of star fish, exquisite coral reefs, lion fish (which are a hazard to the region), and many unusual varieties of sea life.

There's a nice, warm small swimming pool to bathe in after a day snorkeling.

As bugs are active at dusk and dawn, we recommend having some candles and incense with you. Not every room has both mosquito netting and fans.

What we appreciated most was the beauty of the place, the serenity, and lack of touristy-resorty cavorting at the place. There's plenty of that off-island in the two local towns. Warning: after sundown, water taxis to the G. of E. can be double at least in price.

We highly recommend this place for peace, quiet, beauty and relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mellow_warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our break at Garden of Eden. The reviews of others were all confirmed during our brief stay. The friendly welcome, the peace and quiet, the spectacular location, and the chance to share experiences with other guests made for a wonderful visit. Hellena and her staff were very attentitive and treated us royally . When we left some items behind they forwarded them to us by air to Panama City. It was a great start to our Panama adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandSAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

My husband, son and myself were treated like royalty and enjoyed every moment of our stay at The Garden of Eden. Helena and staff were the friendliest, sweetest ladies and we felt like good friends after our week long stay. Every side trip we wanted to book was taken care of by Helena who helped us plan our day and put us in touch with the most wonderful guides. The food was excellent! This was a week we'll always remember. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwnskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We had a super time at The Garden of Eden. A nice slice of paradise. Enjoyed the beautiful food cooked for us & the sweet hostesses, Helena & Magally (sp?). Loved the Toucan, Woody, as well. Would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Solarte
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 3 in Isla Solarte
387 reviews
7.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
536 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
466 reviews
10.8 mi away
Urraca Private Island
Urraca Private Island
#1 of 3 in Isla Popa
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Solarte
Price Range: £138 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing