We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome jungle hideaway”
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden of Eden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Isla Solarte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome jungle hideaway”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very beautiful secluded small resort. It is very secluded and you need to hire a private water taxi which can get expensive if you are moving around a lot. We spent 3 nights there and enjoyed it very much. We had the most beautiful view out on our little deck of the back dock , the water and the jungle. We saw dolphins jumping all the time. The food was really good, the staff were really great and the resident dog was awesome. I loved how when you jumped in the water no matter where he was on site he would come running and jump in with you. We were also very lucky when we went that the other two small groups were great and friendly and we had a great time hanging out with them. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    32
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
207
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bocas del Toro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Garden of Eden is my new favorite spot in Bocas Del Toro. My mom and I recently spent 3 enchanting nights there. The location is private and pristine, quiet and secluded. The staff was very friendly and amenable to my very specific (vegan) dietary needs. We felt pampered the whole time we were there. Highlights are kayaking on clear, calm bay waters, being able to see the Milky Way at night, swimming in the pool, and simply feeling free to be yourself. Thank you to Kipp for your generous hospitality. Will return for sure in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetlaurakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you're looking to enjoy the beautiful islands of Bocas del Toro in a more secluded and peaceful environment than Bocas Town, then you simply must consider this place. It's only about a 20 minute water taxi ride from Bocas Town which can easily be arranged by the hotel or by yourself when you are in Bocas town. There are only three rooms available, and it's adults only. As soon as you step foot on the property you feel the total relaxation of island time wash over you. The grounds are beautiful just like the name suggests, there's a pool to enjoy, great swimming from the dock, hammocks on the balconies of the rooms and near the eating area, and kayaks for jaunts across to the nearby Isla Bastimentos (once there it's an easy hike to the other side which has some spectacular beaches with waves to enjoy). Kip can help you with anything you need including assisting with organizing various tour programs throughout the islands and any transportation needs. Breakfast is included, and the dinners prepared by Miguel were delicious and hearty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSherpaKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Garden of Eden in Bocas del Toro is a hidden, pristine and very private getaway, that feels very remote in this archipelago of ten islands on the Caribbean coast of Panama - yet it is easily accessible. Only a few places around the world have been able to retain the particular atmosphere and authenticity of Bocas del Toro: seductive, primitive and unforgettable. It is a haven for snorkelers and divers, with crystal-clear impossibly turquoise waters and rainforest ecology; it's also one of the most multi-cultural places in Panama. In Bocas, you have the option of staying on the main island, Isla Colon - the site of the only real town, Bocas Town, and its selection of bars, restaurants and shops. Although Bocas del Toro has become quite popular with indie travelers in recent years, relatively low-key development has left an authenticity an unpolished vibe that is highly appealing to those looking to escape beach destinations full of mega-resorts.

Or, you can take a water taxi out to one of the other islands which are quieter and more secluded - some more than others. A 20 minute water taxi ride from Bocas Town will bring you to the Garden of Eden on Isla Solarte - a small three-room property that offers a true getaway-from-it-all in paradise. Technically, Garden of Eden is not even an actual part of Isla Solarte, but its own tiny island connected to Solarte by mangroves.

Stepping out of the boat onto the Garden of Eden dock, you will likely be met by Kip the owner and Zeus, the exuberant dog. The grounds are small but lush and gorgeous, with little paths that wind up to the rooms, dining area, pool, game room, and also down to a boat dock on the back side that is good for swimming and kayaking.

The three rooms are simple but comfortable, and offer private decks with that essential island item: hammocks. At Garden of Eden you can have all the remote downtime you want; but it's also relatively easy to make your way around the Bocas archipelago to do activities. Keep in mind that it's a 20-minute water taxi ride to Bocas Town if you want some shopping or nightlife, and you need to arrange for a ride ahead of time. You can also take boats to neighboring islands for beaches and other restaurants, or if you're up to a 30-45 minute kayak trip you can take the property kayaks across to Isla Bastimentos where there is a marina, restaurants and several beaches. Isla Bastimentos is also home to the Parque Nacional Marino Isla Bastimentos, Panama’s oldest marine park. Tours of all sorts are available for snorkeling, diving, fishing, jungle exploration and cultural experiences with indigenous villages.

And of course, just hanging at the peaceful Garden of Eden or swimming in the pool are laudable pastimes. The property is Adults Only, and with just three bungalows it's easy to rent the whole place with a few friends. The Garden of Eden offers quiet, upscale accommodations , free hi-speed internet access, and a full service bar and restaurant. Two cabanas are located adjacent to the pool, with queen size beds and a futon that can open to a full size bed; private bathroom with hot and cold rain water showers; and a veranda with a hammock and chairs to enjoy a fabulous panoramic view of the bay. The third room is a suite with both a king and a queen sized bed, private bathroom with hot and cold rain water shower, and a large deck with a hammock, lounge chairs and a ceiling fan.

Rates are $150-170 per night for two people, including continental breakfast.

http://www.gardenofedenbocaspanama.com/

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamasteFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Nomen est Omen: In Garden of Eden you feel like entering a new world with untouched water, flora and fauna everywhere. What's more, the managers were extremely helpful and friendly, helping us with basically everything - including the booking of nice snorkeling tours and trips to the area's top beaches and islands. The room was very clean and the view from the balcony just amazing. Last but not least, the food in the hotel-own little restaurant was very delicious and carefully prepared and served. There is literally nothing we could complain about, and our expectations have been exceeded on all fronts. We would thus highly recommend this wonderful place!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you want to escape the party people and happy hours on Isla Colon...then you have to go to the Garden of Eden on Isla Solarte. On this private island are 3 beautiful cabins with nice seaviews, hammoc and fan. There is a pool, nice garden. Or you can snorkle, kayak and swim around the island. Everything you need is here; food, drinks, sun, relaxing. You can also do some nice trips. And the best is the hospitality from the happy dog Zeus. He makes your stay complete.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
237 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Garden of Eden is a great place to just get away from it all. There is a lovely pool, music, game room, and sitting area to read and chat in. The cold drinks are available which make relaxing so much easier and the meals prepared for us there were delicious. My one problem was our room and Kipp said he was working on it. The cabana we stayed in was fairly boring, it lacked personal touches. Also, there were a lot of Mosquitos and "no see em" so one room had a mosquito net but ours did not. I would have been much more comfortable with one and didn't sleep well at night because of this issue. Other than that, take some Deet and you will love this place because it is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Solarte
4.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
7.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Property: Garden of Eden Inn
Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing