We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an awesome bday celeb in this place! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had an awesome bday celeb in this place! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Giving this resort a 5!! 1st is for their staffs hospitality and great service to their guest. :) 2nd although the location is quite far its all worth it, great view and the beach is a picture of paradise. 3rd cleanliness of their rooms , though having a salt water in your bathroom is not ok. :( 4th price is very very affordable and you get all services and accommodations that you can get to a expensive resort not to say they have a wonderful staffs and crew that will make your day shine bright like their smiles. :) 5th Food from their restaurant is affordable and delicious!!! Don't leave without trying their beef tapa and their four season juice!! ;) all in all giving 5 though i only gave 4 for the location and rooms the other selections are beyond 5. ;)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lexlim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    109
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
32
122
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I just returned from a 1 weeks stay with Exotic Malapascua. Very comfortable stay and clean rooms every time we are back from our dives. Rooms are well-lighted and you have all options to dim the lights for a more romantic feel or light the whole room bright if you need it.
Food from the restaurant are very tasty and we enjoyed alot on the soups and meat dishes and not forgetting about the Mango Vanilla shake. Restaurant staffs are also very dedicated and provided great service for us.

The feedback that i had was the cable TV which broke down the 1st 3 days out of the 1 week stay. Staff tried to help but still it took more than 3 days to resolved which i had to go to the reception every early morning and late evening to report the issue. Replenished room towels are sometime stained which i think the beach towel are much cleaner than the ones in the room. The wifi connection in the restaurant is also not very good as well. We got disconnected majority of the time when we try to access the internet.

Overall, we are very happy with the services coming from all aspects of the resort except for the cashier who shown us an impatience expression when me and my husband tried to change change for small notes twice to settle the diving bills.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panadollgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Malapascua is a perfect destination for divers from across Asia, especially from Hong Kong or Macau, which has direct flights to Cebu. After a 2 hr:40 min flight, 3 hour van, and 30-40 min boat ride, You’re there.

I did a 4 week stay at Exotic Island resort earlier this year, about half IDC course and half fun diving. Exotic is a GREAT place to do your dive training. At first I was a bit worried that it not recovered from last year’s typhoon, but it seems to be back and running.
- Daily trips to Monad Shoal included in the courses
- Optional sunset dives to see mandarin fish mating
- Nice classrooms for training
- Full service with friendly staff.
- So much variety in dive choices – wrecks, sharks (threshers, hammerheads, whitetips), rays (eagle, devil, mantas), macro, wall dives, caves, tech – something for everyone

It was my 2nd visit to Exotic, and I noticed many improvements over my first visit a few years ago.
- Saw Thresher sharks up close at every dive at Monad Shoal. Most also had large 2-3m devil rays and eagle rays zipping by. (I can see the improvement after all the dive shops required divers to abide by the diving rules).
- Food is much better, more suitable for both European and Asian tastes. In my prior visit a few years ago, the Western food was OK, but the Asian choices were very limited and not tasty. Now it is a bit better.
- Staff is getting much more open to serve a multi-national clientele. Some even tried to learn some Chinese to talk to their Chinese guests when I was there and get Chinese language textbooks for dive students who needed it. Hope they keep this up.
- Nice coffee bar with expresso drinks made to order. (however not so cheap).
- Free nitrox tank diving for students who get certified for nitrox with them

However, some things to prepare for:
- bugs – got bit by a mosquito and then flies came by to suck the blood, leading to a minor infection. Make sure you bring insect repellent and band aids / plasters to cover any wounds.
- Flies – not too bad near the bar as they have flypaper, but elsewhere they are a nuisance. Would be nice to have covers to place over your food plates or install something to catch them. Eating outside the resort does not help as they are everywhere.
- Drinking water – provided on dive boats, but otherwise scarce and expensive on the island. You might want to bring your own water bottles. If you stay for a long time, you might want to look around the island to find alternative choices.
- Internet service was sporadic at best. Maybe it is getting better after they rebuild the tower from last year’s typhoon.
- Some food choices are not always available and there are only so many alternatives
- water pressure in the room is not consistent, but they usually will come and fix it if you ask them.

Would I go again? YES. The diving is great and I can never get tired of seeing thresher sharks and rays every day. Just got to be prepared for minor inconveniences. Hopefully it will get better over time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the restaurant and bar are very convenient and offer some sea views, but can get very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were just lying in the beach and relaxing, I have no experience of diving. But perfect for relaxation. Staff is adorable and friendly and food is really good!

Music in the bar were some nights really terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xinnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I tagged along with a friend on a last minute dive weekend and Exotic was definitely the nicest place on the island. Most of the others along the (very nice) white beach were either quite damaged by Typhoon Yolanda or just really run-down. The beach infront of Exotic is the nicest and widest as well. Be ready for a lot of dive/activity boats however, so not so much a pristine empty beach.

They arranged seamless pick up/travel from Cebu airport (3 hour drive up to Maya port) then a private boat ride (30-45 minutes) to Malapascua. It's a bit pricey, but worth it if you're tight on time.

The restaurant/food was amazing. Really good quality, good sized portions. In fact the menu was so extensive I couldn't decide what to have most nights.Great dessert selection as well, and coffee/cafe options throughout the day. Nice thatched restaurant with white sand under your feet and a chilled out vibe, looking out to the beach.

Exotic's dive shop managers and instructors were also amazing. Really welcoming and friendly; instant group of fun people to dive/eat with as they're also hosting a number of international dive students. A few items to buy in the shop, as well as free coffee all day to warm up after the 430am dive to see the thresher sharks!

Only a few rooms closer to the beach/restaurant, the rest are tucked back behind which limits your immediate proximity to the beach and view. But clean, nice rooms.

Malapascua itself is pretty small and with limited entertainment/activity options, but you can wander through the island and up to the lighthouse for a decent view, or visit the other hotels for a sundowner/dinner. Quite fun is the bi-nightly basketball game which is comprised of teams from the dive resorts competing against each other!

All in all very good.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms closer to the beach/restaurant, the rest are tucked back behind which limits your i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank kristin198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This might be the most beautiful beach in the Philippines, and the resort's location on the eastern edge is indisputably wonderful. The attached dive shop is great and very professional, and for those looking for Thresher sharks it's super convenient to stay at the hotel, since you just change your pajamas for a wet suit at dawn for the early morning dive.

We enjoyed all of this, but overall we were not pleased with the resort. For 76 EUR per night we expected the place to run a lot smoother: Our room was rather small and quite noisy since it faced the restaurant. The bathroom could have been a lot cleaner.

Our biggest pain was the restaurant: Although they had a huge menu, only very few meals were available. We don't expect Pizza or Steak on a tropical island, but fish or seafood would have been nice. One evening they neither had fruits nor fish, seafood or chicken, nor green vegetables, nor peanuts. (Still they wanted to serve us Pad Thai - I wonder how they woud have prepared it if we agreed). Whenever we were served anything the MSG taste was predominant. That seems to be the only ingredient they always have in stock.

I explicitly want to warn about the massages they offer in their spa: They obviously employ people without having them trained properly and after my Thai massage my neck was stiff and my shoulder hurt for three days.

I don't blame the employees for all those mistakes. They were very friendly and you could see how they struggle to give their best. But I do think that the foreign manager needs to overthink his concept if he continues charging these exquisite room rates.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My brother was staying at this resort to train diving and become divemaster.
Me and my mother went to visit him, and we had the best time.

The island is beautiful, and great to relax, nice restaurant on the beach at exotic resort, very friendly staff, and their dive courses are so much fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
105.5 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Property: Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Address: 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking of diving or staying in Malapascua consider us your first choice. We have everything you need for a relaxing, exciting, enjoyable stay with first class facilities and service. Exotic is the pioneer dive resort on Malapascua. The first dive shop to open on the island in 1998, Exotic has grown over the years and is now the leading dive resort on the island, without compromising its original laid-back charm and outstanding service. Our continued expansion is a result of our customer’s loyalty and desire to revisit and share their Exotic experience with others. Why not come and see what brings people back to us year after year? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive And Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing