We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best and cheap lunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Isla Bonita

La Isla Bonita
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best and cheap lunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Almost 2 weeks we ate every day lunch here! Not from the menue, from the local pot service. Lots of dishes, always different and super tasty for cheap as 50 pesos!!

Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    48
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place was fantastic! They literally cook out of their house and the little tables are outside on the lawn under trees. It feels very homey and the food takes a while but it's worth it. Excellent Greek salad, and fish dishes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpeas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I love this little place, the food is great! We ate there every night for a week because we just loved it so much. The soups are all homemade and the flavours are awesome, they have great pizzas, very tasty salads, etc. Everything we tried was very good. The servers are very kind and quick to help you.
Some others have complained about slow service but its no secret that great food made fresh takes time. Try talking to your friends or making new ones while you wait, I know some of you may feel a little bit lost if you cant be texting every second but really there are nice people everywhere here -If you want fast food get off this beautiful island and go back home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller6574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heerlijk eten, maar lange wachttijd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were invited by a couple whom we met on the island. They ate at Isla Bonita before that week. Realy good food. You have to wait a while, but hey... you're on Malapascua island... No rush here!
The restaurant is off the beach, which is nice to experience.

I had the Marlin fish. Perfectly made!!!
The chicken adobo and the kinilaw are also very nice here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zaza82Breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice food, long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We went to La Isla Bonita for lunch and despite being the only diners, waited nearly 45 mins for our pizza and salad. Even drinks took 20 mins! Slightly odd as waiter is very attentive and professional, so it must be the kitchen that's slow. That said, food was worth wait. It is good quality, not greasy and one of the cheaper options on the island. This is probably because it is a few roads off Bounty Beach and so doesn't have a sea view and accordingly you don't pay premium for that. A good option if you are not in a rush and on a budget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Isla Bonita also viewed

 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to La Isla Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing