We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views and the beach, great music and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Me and my girlfriend spend a week and all i can say are compliments on behalf of the staff and the location. Views from the bungalows are amazing, good dives to. You have a private beach which is the best on the island, italian food, fresh fish and very, very good music!!! The prices for what you get are great!! Really enjoyed it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Tepanee Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very nice hotel:
Amazing place with its own private beach
Bungalows and rooms for all budgets starting 1500.
Clean and good looking
Very good breakfast, incredible pancakes.
Massages available.
Great sunset view.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tchoopacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in one of the hillside cabins and were very happy with the size facilities and cleanliness of the cabin. A private deck and nicely maintained landscaping made it a nice place to sit and relax when we were not busy diving at Evolution (a 10 minute easy walk away). When we return we will try to reserve one of the ocean view rooms. Tepanee has a very nice and clean beach in a small lagoon that is not readily accessible to the public. We found it to be very nice when relaxing with a cocktail from their bar as we watched the sunset. The food was also very nice when we ate there. On one occasion we were treated to a Sicilian home cooked meal by a visiting family member of the owners! A fun variation from the normal!

Sidenote: Malapasqua is a very nice island with friendly people and some nice hotel and restaurant options. The only negative observation we had was the amount of litter in the public areas around the island. We live and work in the Philippines and were disappointed to see no attempt to manage the litter in areas outside of the efforts made by private businesses.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CountoMonteCristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Tepanee is the crowing jewel of my discovery of Malapascua. The island is what I imagine many Thai islands looked like 10-15 years ago. A few resorts with locals dominating the majority of the exotic locale. Tepanee is definitely the stand out resort of the bunch (base don a week and a half of exploring the island).

The resort is smallish, but it is beautifully situated on the southern tip of the island. It has its own beach(s) which are no where near the size of the main beach--Bounty--but they are nicely bracketed by craggy rocks draped in morning glories. Very picturesque. Also, Bounty Beach is a two minute walk away.

The restaurant is small, but it is all quality. The owners are Italian--a lovely couple. The chef is also extremely hospitable, and his Italian food is magnificent. All of the ingredients are fresh, and there is a large emphasis on importing authentic ingredients. I have rarely eaten so well. The atmosphere is toned down, this is not a party spot. The restaurant is accompanied by a massage gazebo and the beach furniture: in a word, relaxing.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms from rustic beach cottages, to fully equipped superior rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atroxian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Very nice little complex with different types of rooms. The small cottages at the seafront are furnished in a simple way: a bed, a fan and a small bathroom bathroom with cold water (which is not really bad in this climate). The garden rooms have a more sophisticated equipment. directly at the private beach there is a small bar where you can get breakfast and lunch - all really delicious and many ingredients are grown directly in the hotel's own garden. Also, directly next to the reception there is an Italian restaurant (doesn't belong to the hotel) with a very good menu. For those preferring local dishes, there are a lot of restaurants near from the hotel. The owners and the staff are really friendly. We had a problem with a driver in our way back. We called the hotel and the guys at the reception desk helped us organize a new one right away. We really loved our stay at the Tepanee and would definitely stay there should I come to Malapascua again.

Room Tip: If you can't shower in the cold water or need air con, don't go for the cottages at the beac...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Em_Niew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in March and absolutely loved our stay. The resort is a very relaxed place - the rooms are just brilliant, each with their own balcony for enjoying the evening sundowners. It has it's own private beach and sunsets can be enjoyed for the beach. We would love to come back sometime and would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Malapascua is an 'odd' island! We've travelled to many islands and this quiet little island is an interesting mix of resorts and locals back to back, which never seems busy or crowded.

Tepanee was an excellent choice. We stayed for 6 nights in one of the new deluxe cottages, which was heaven, I can't say a negative word about it, perfection!.

The resort is away from the main beach and should be a haven, but at times we felt that the music from the sunset bar was a bit intrusive. But, it is fair to say that I am very much a 'relax on the beach' type of person.

It has a good small private beach which has a very good house reef, which I enjoyed exploring.

The service was excellent and the owner/s are very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuzanneOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
412 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £44 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing