We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had an amazing week in Tepanee.

We stayed in one of the ocean view huts which looked out onto the crystal clear water by day and allowed you hear the sounds of the waves lapping onto the private beach below by night. The room was very clean and the service throughout our stay was excellent. The guys/girls who worked at the cafe bar and reception always had smiles and were very eager to help.

The Italian owners have developed the resort very sympathetically with the surroundings and have added some very nice touches like great coffee. They were always on hand to ask advice about what to do, such as making a very good recommendation to go the Thesher Shark Divers for some diving.

The private beach is one of the nicest and quietest on the island and is about 10 yards from the restaurant where you can enjoy great pasta dishes and cocktails. Not all bad!

Room Tip: Definitely go for an ocean view villa. The view while laying is bed is pretty impressive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unvexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    156
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
61
285
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we stayed at Tepanee for 7 nights and it was suberb. great view of the ocean from the room! room clean with aircon & fun, no issues at all. the private beach is simply stunning! nothing beats this view when you eat breakfast or drink coctail at the sunset. chiringito bar serves good food and the staff is friendly. the owners are welcoming and really helpful. amihan, the newly opened restaurant that sits on the hill at the back of the resort serves delicious food and amazing chocolat cake! overall fantastic stay and we definitely are coming back!

Room Tip: ask for teh room close to beach & chirnigito bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asza333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Got to Tepanee at 8.30 am after 30 straight Hours from N.Z.Great breakfast on the beach While our room was made up .What a fantastic room, clean, so much character and a fantastic view of the bay. Stayed for two nights and loved it .Great staff and food.Snorkling in front was ok.Top beach to hang out.Cn
Cheers Jude and Dale

Room Tip: Go for the fan cooled rooms on the cliff,fantastic view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I enjoyed six days here with my family. Rooms are comfortable; those facing the water have a nice breeze most of the time. Breakfast and lunch are served by the beach and the food was excellent. Their new restaurant, Amihan, is also excellent. The chef (contacted before we came about my need to be gluten free) was able to accommodate my needs with delicious meals. He even had gluten-free pasta. This is probably the best place on the island to stay - the location is great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peheidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
734 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is between two beach and have good views, one time you can go to the bar/small beach view , other you can go to the restaurant/front desk and take the boat views.

Really you can see the owners try do the best ( small details you can check ), the people is funny as all philippines.

I recomendate, only have a stone at stairs and is really not good with sleepers. but is the "resort style " : wodden , bamboo and stones. Combination > GOOD.

Price is overprize than other places and little far from the "bar zone",at night is really dark ( from 18 30 pm dark ). But you can stay only at the hotel because have all : small beach, massage, bar, restaurant, view... But that is not the idea i supose.

Dislake : many cats and dogs around the bar when you eat, puppies but is a resort.

ABOUT MALAPASCUA ISLAND:

CAUTION: al the times the philippino people ( boats ) offered expensive options. To arrive to malapascua from cebu you need go to Northern Bus Terminal ( NBT ) by taxi : around 100P from downtown , then take Philippino Bus ( 180P ), by private car the cost is around 4000P ( ??? ) - take the YELLOW BUS ( A/C ) -

Then in Maya the people try give the boat : 1000P, but if you walk 30 meters, you ll take a ticket and the price is 80P.

Then you ll arrive to MALAPASCUA and can choice the hotel.

SUGGESTION: if you dont like or can not dive, dont go to malapascua. is only poor/average beach.

Room Tip: Rooms with view are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAU1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tepanee in 2 x deluxe air con rooms with amazing sea views and couldn't fault it! The staff are very friendly, and their new restaurant now open for dinner serves the freshest fish, the best on the island. We are looking forward to coming back next year. The diving on the island is brilliant, we used Thresher Shark Diving, and the private beach at Tepanee is excellent for snorkelling, relaxing and they have the best masseur! As Arnie would say, 'I'll be back'! Thanks :-) The Clarkes

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My family booked from June 14-17, 2013 for a/c de luxe cottage ocean view. The room was big enough for my standard as an asian. It is simple, clean and comfortable.It is tropical designed room using bamboo bed, tables and light covers.The only negative is when there are fishing vessel at anchor staying for cover before fishing to sea. Since its ocean view you can hear their voices at night when your out at the veranda. You will have your pleasure at the private beach with a massage, bar, food, swimming and sunbathing. All in all it was a very good experience staying at the hotel. Thanks to Ranji from reception who he helped us with our bags & umbrella since it was raining. We have to brave the not so good weather riding the boat (outrigger ) when when we went home. A word of advice. To enjoy the place, come when its not typhoon season in Philippines. Malapascua island & Tepanee is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatcebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
430 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Property: Tepanee Beach Resort
Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing