We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Magic place were even a typhoon is a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Magic place were even a typhoon is a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was there from 4th- to 17th November just in time for Hiyan/Yolanda typhoon. I survived to the scary experience thanks to Andrea and Silvia the owners of Tepanee Beach Resort - they were taking care of us since the beginning, power, water, food, smiles and warm atmosphere were never missing. They were pampering us even with espresso and cappuccino for breakfast!! This is the situation were you really see the soul of the people. My room was MANILYN - all the rooms have staff names I love the idea!
The resort is so cool and quite, with a private beach.Local people part of the staff is so lovely and friendly, they smile all the time. Vittorio (the chef) prepared a very tasty menu with a large choice of pasta, meat and fish, delicious.
Tepanee is the perfect (and safe) place for vacation alone, with friends or partners.
I will be back soon to complete my diving package and Vittorio menu tasting ;-)

Room Tip: plenty of choice: if you like a romantic place MANILYN, if you like the quite shade stay near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefania302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    152
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
60
273
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived on Malapascua 2 days before Typhoon Haiyan hit the island. Initially, we weren't booked into stay at Tepanee this time around as we were on a tight budget so had initially organised a room elsewhere. After reading about the typhoon on the island we decided that our bamboo hut wasn't the safest place to experience the typhoon, so booked into Tepanee for the night before the typhoon as it seemed a safer place to spend the night and the following day, hoping to ride out the storm. The rest... as they say... is history. The typhoon reaped complete destruction of Malapascua Island during 5 hours we will never forget on the 8th November.

Our room took some heavy damage in terms of windows/doors/water damage, but structurally it was sound, with the roof remaining - something I didn't see anywhere else on the island. Not all the rooms were affected, some received absolutely no damage, and others received varying degrees of damage, but again no structural issues. The grounds of the resort were a chaotic scene in the immediate aftermath of the typhoon, most trees had been ripped out of the ground or snapped, there was debris everywhere.

From the first moments of the typhoon dying down, the owners of Tepanee, Andrea and Silvia were scouting the resort checking the extent of the damage and it was clear that this had been a storm of unprecedented power. Their resort and the hard work of many years had been extensively damaged within a few hours. Having stayed at the attached sister resort Logon for 5 months last year we can assure you it was a stunning resort prior to the typhoon.

After all the guests had emerged unscathed and everyone had gathered in one place, the incredible hospitality of the owners began. Over the next few days, the owners fed us, supplied us with plentiful water, and just showed an overwhelming amount of generosity. We stayed in Tepanee after the typhoon for 6 days, with a small group of people, helping to clear the debris, chop trees, and generally do what we could to help.

I can safely say having been there after a few days that the resort is fully operational. Most of the rooms were looking exactly as they did prior to the typhoon, the beach restaurant was operational and serving delicious food, and all the usual amenities were functioning; air conditioning/hot water etc. etc. The resorts restaurant which was newly opened this year named Amihan, was badly damaged during the typhoon and needed some work, however I’m sure that this will be up and running shortly.

The resort is good to go, so don’t worry about any upcoming reservations, go to Malapascua and have a great time at Tepanee!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GStk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The week before the typhoon hit Cebu and also the lovely Malapascua, we spend some time on the island. First of all..Malapascua is such a great place! You'll love it.
Tepanee is located in a quiet area )but still close to the main beach area) and has its own private beach and massage service (really nice). And good coffee! We stayed in a fan room (room 3). This type of accommodation might be the best value for money (1500 php) since it has a balcony with direct oceanview, a mosquito net which give you plenty of space when you're in bed and did I already mentioned the amazing view?
Mention that there is no hot water in the cottage. The water is also a bit smelly..but the cottage and bathroom is clean.
There is no breakfast included but they provide it at the beachbar. We actually went to the 'town' at GingGing..but don't know if it survived the typhoon.

So, we really enjoyed Tepanee and Malapascua. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had an amazing week in Tepanee.

We stayed in one of the ocean view huts which looked out onto the crystal clear water by day and allowed you hear the sounds of the waves lapping onto the private beach below by night. The room was very clean and the service throughout our stay was excellent. The guys/girls who worked at the cafe bar and reception always had smiles and were very eager to help.

The Italian owners have developed the resort very sympathetically with the surroundings and have added some very nice touches like great coffee. They were always on hand to ask advice about what to do, such as making a very good recommendation to go the Thesher Shark Divers for some diving.

The private beach is one of the nicest and quietest on the island and is about 10 yards from the restaurant where you can enjoy great pasta dishes and cocktails. Not all bad!

Room Tip: Definitely go for an ocean view villa. The view while laying is bed is pretty impressive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unvexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

we stayed at Tepanee for 7 nights and it was suberb. great view of the ocean from the room! room clean with aircon & fun, no issues at all. the private beach is simply stunning! nothing beats this view when you eat breakfast or drink coctail at the sunset. chiringito bar serves good food and the staff is friendly. the owners are welcoming and really helpful. amihan, the newly opened restaurant that sits on the hill at the back of the resort serves delicious food and amazing chocolat cake! overall fantastic stay and we definitely are coming back!

Room Tip: ask for teh room close to beach & chirnigito bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asza333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Got to Tepanee at 8.30 am after 30 straight Hours from N.Z.Great breakfast on the beach While our room was made up .What a fantastic room, clean, so much character and a fantastic view of the bay. Stayed for two nights and loved it .Great staff and food.Snorkling in front was ok.Top beach to hang out.Cn
Cheers Jude and Dale

Room Tip: Go for the fan cooled rooms on the cliff,fantastic view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I enjoyed six days here with my family. Rooms are comfortable; those facing the water have a nice breeze most of the time. Breakfast and lunch are served by the beach and the food was excellent. Their new restaurant, Amihan, is also excellent. The chef (contacted before we came about my need to be gluten free) was able to accommodate my needs with delicious meals. He even had gluten-free pasta. This is probably the best place on the island to stay - the location is great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peheidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Property: Tepanee Beach Resort
Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing