We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best views on the island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tepanee Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best views on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just spent 7 nights at Tepanee over Chinese New Year holiday and it was one of the best places we have ever stayed after traveling around SE Asia for 8 years. Friendly staff, clean, cozy cottages, excellent food and the VIEW is incredible. We dove with Thresher Shark Divers (which is only 5 minutes away) and got a great package deal for diving, accommodation and food. This is the BEST place to stay on the island by far.

Room Tip: Ask for the Manilyn room which is the last cottage on the edge of the cliff overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlaschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    145
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
54
249
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I spent 4 nights/5 days at Tepanee and enjoyed each and every minute of it. The resort is small with loads of character. Beautiful views, nice private beach and excellent food options. Don't expect a five star resort, but the price is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We didn't actually stay at Tepanee as there isn't a dive shop (and we were on a pure diving holiday), but we did hang out there quite a bit after our diving. They have a great quiet private sunset beach and a very lovely setting. Some of the bungalows have a spectacular view overlooking the ocean. Food and drinks were all of a high quality (especially the croissants and mojitos). They seemed to be booked out every night which is always a sign of something good. If we weren't such crazy divers we would be staying here in a heartbeat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ano444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent Chinese New Year in one of the Deluze AirCon cottages - definitley the best on the island! Lovely views and wonderful to wake up every morning and look straight out over the crystal clear water. Massages were brilliant and the breakfast and lunch servced at Chiringuito were delicious. We had a few dinners at Amihan where Vittorio would happily spend a long time explaining all the different dishes - food was teriffic. The resort and island is still recovering from the storm damage however it will not stop you having an amazing time. We completed a few dives and found great dive sites as well as the amazing thresher sharks. Andrea and the team have a great place in Tepanee, we will visit again!

Room Tip: deluxe air con room - we didn't use the AC but the view over the ocean is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a six night stay at Tepanee and really enjoyed ourselves. The very roomy cottages are wonderful overlooking the private beach. In the rooms they provided aircon and fans but the romantic sound of lapping water on the rocks below proved too much for us to resist and we just slept with the doors open and a sheet over us. We didn't do much, just a one day excursion to Kalanggaman, the island was well worth the trip, make sure to ask if your boat provides life jackets for everyone, ours didn't and there were a few people who didn't swim which was pretty scary when the seas picked up on the way home. All in all it's a lovely island to visit. It's not a place to party like Boracay, just read a book on the beach, walk around the island, go snorkelling or go on a photo safari. The Island was recovering after Typhoon Haiyan and was undoubtably an incredibly beautiful place before it hit, even after its well worth a visit!

Room Tip: The Delux Cottage was a cracker it's on the private beach side away from the more commercial sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was a wonderfully spent week in Malapascua most especially because of our so-called "Home" for that entire week. The room we booked is decently priced and ideal for up to three occupants. With regards to how we like the room itself, well, we like it a lot... ;) We also love the restaurant by the beach coz they serve tasty breakfast! Not to mention the very friendly and all-smiles staffs! And of course, the highlight of our stay is feeding. In this regard, we couldn't be happier with all the Italian cuisine we had at the "Amihan Restaurant" c/o Chef Victorio ;) For the entire week of our Malapascua getaway, we had nothing but the feel of home. Tepanee resort is definitely highly recommended by us to those who not only wanted to have a comfy and beautiful place to stay but as well as heavenly deliciously served Italian cuisine!!!

Room Tip: If possible, request for the rooms with the veranda facing the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKoehler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We arrived in malapascua a month after yolanda hit the place. A lot of the resorts were badly hit save one, tepanee beach resort. The resort offered a native feel with bamboo cottages and surprisingly sturdy cogon roofs. The private beach is breathtaking, with the rock formations, white sand and blue waters, even better than bounty beach. The staff and even the owner were friendly and very accommodating. I would surely tell my friends about it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cvendiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
105.1 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 85 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Property: Tepanee Beach Resort
Address: 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon Beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito Bar & Restaurant. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan Bar & Restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two stories with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: 6 Deluxe cottages: six independent cottages with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wood furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi. 9 Superior cottages: nine independent cottages with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wood furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi. Some Superior cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some the garden view. 10 Standard rooms: ten rooms together in two different buildings of two stories: five rooms upstairs and three downstairs are double (queen sized bed), two rooms downstairs have two single beds each. All the rooms have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wood furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi, garden view. 4 Budget rooms: four rooms together in two different buildings of two stories: all the rooms are downstairs; three rooms are double (queen sized bed); one room has two single beds and all have private entrance, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, bamboo and wood furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi; no aircon, minibar and hot shower. All the rooms have the garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito at Sunset Beach Bar & Restaurant, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan Bar & Restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 2:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. Silvia is a scuba diving instructor: during your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing