We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Genuine article, charming and quite special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at the Tepanee resort in an A/C equipped apartment with my son back in late March early April of this year. Used the resort as our base while diving most days with the very nearby TSD operation. All I can say to any would-be visitor is really study and trust the resorts own website description of itself, which in my view is to be considered honest and reliable. We both entirely enjoyed our stay and so have nothing but praise to relate. The owners, and their staff and infact everyone we met on Malapascua actually, were all really lovely. The resorts sister restaurant at the top of the nearby hill also proved a massive bonus, with a cool evening breeze, lovely views and a delightful and nicely varied menu. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Tepanee resort to any of my friends or family. My son is already planning a return trip there in early 2015.

Room Tip: Read the proprietors description of the resort and think about it carefully. I personally would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbletwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 days. The island is still recovering from the super typhoon but rest assured Tepanee's accomodation will make you wow! Great value for money, the room we stayed in was so cozy, was able to sleep for hours and hours.

About the beach, don't compare to other beaches. Malapascua has it's own beauty. Clear, blue and calm. By the way Tepanee has it's own private beach front super plus plus plus!

I highly recommend this for couples who wants a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saveandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Fully recommendable place to stay while visiting Malapascua. V.good location on island, private beach(v.clean), with great sun seat view. We stayed in fan cottage with ocean view, at it was worth it!Bungalows are simple but v.clean, and well maintained.Cleaned every day. Breakfast on the beach(could be bit "bigger", after morning diving You need a propper food:))Two great Italian restaurants in vicinity. Wi-fi available for free in public areas. Logistically no issues, great communication with admin.,all arranged without any problems,private boat(if arranged, transport from Cebu city,or Cebu airport can be arranged as well) will bring You right in front of the resort. 3 min. walk from Thresher shark divers, recommendable dive shop.Owners and staff are working hard to maintainTepanee in good shape and keep real homely atmosphere.
Thank You for great time and hopefully see You again!

Room Tip: Fan cottages have amazing ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Maciej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived to Malapascua late in the evening and didn't have any clue where to stay. Luckily we found the Tepanee Beach Resort which situated right next to the beach where the boat took us to.

Very decently priced hotel that could easily do its job as a honeymoon resort. Easy-going and relaxed venue with beautiful cottages right next to sea. Not to mention the breathtaking views from the balcony. The hotel has its own little private beach which was lovely.

Worth of every penny!

Room Tip: Try to book the beach cottage with breathtaking views to the sea and private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I spent 5 days in this beautiful and spotless resort with its lovely owner couple Andrea and Silvia. The setting of the place is amazing with most bungalows overlooking either the small bay or the open sea and with its small but beautiful private beach. The rooms are convenient and very clean with a private balcony each. I went for the full-board option and I was amazed by the quality of the food, very fresh and super delicious - a great combination of local and Italian dishes. Staff and the owners are very friendly and helpful, making guests feel at home right away. All this is even more remarkable when put against the background of the relative remoteness of the island and the recent mega-typhoon which hit the island hard. Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rthausmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Malapascua is 2hrs drive plus a boat ride from Cebu City. Front of the resort is the docking area of the bancas, not so good for swimming and the back side of the resort have its own beach but i will not recommend for swimming either due to the fact that its right next to the cemetery. For swimming better to go to the main beach. The resort staff are very friendly and accomodating. The Italian restaurant in front of the resort serves good Italian dishes. Most of our stay in Malapascua was spent on the main beach.

This is a late posting.

Room Tip: Please request rooms away from the street. Early morning noise from vendors and bancas will wake yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobbilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a lovely 3 day stay at this resort. Stayed in the most expensive accommodation which is the deluxe aircon cottage. I'm a local and have been to a lot of the good beaches and resorts in the Philippines so I'm a bit more exacting of "views". The view from the Deluxe AC cottages is great but not completely spectacular. At least not from our cottage, the Jully. It is partially blocked by some trees growing on the side of the cliff and some foliage but it was still beautiful. I would suggest getting the AC cottage, they are less expensive but just as private and i would guess the view is better since there is nothing to break the sightline from your terrace. Other than that there is nothing to complain about in the room. Everything you find inside is clean and crisp- the beddings, pillows, linens, towels. En suite bathroom works well and the water pressure is good, though a bit inconsistent. Also there are times when you have to wait a bit before the hot water kicks in. Nothing major

To get to the cottages there is a bit of a climb as they are constructed right on the side of a hill. My main complaint is that they should improve the walkway/the path, get it a little more even on the steps. I'm a bit visually impaired so at night it is difficult and slightly dangerous for me to walk up to our rooms. They should put lights along the path, just enough to illuminate the way in the dark.

Big disappointment is the breakfast which is included in our package. Hardly any choices and the quantity is on the lean side. :) I wouldn't complain but they cost upwards of 300 per head for the set meal. It is reasonable to expect more than just 2 slices of toast and a couple of eggs for this amount. But good news, adjacent to them is Angelina, hands down the best Italian resto i've ever had the pleasure of eating at. Their gelatto is a must try. It is better than Berthilion in Paris i kid you not.

The private beach is exactly thatL private, clean and near perfect. The water is perfect. I have zero complaints about the beach. :) Oh, a suggestion though: maybe put a few sunbeds or sun loungers right on the beach. That would be heavenly.

They should work on training their reception staff better. When we arrived after a tiring 5 hr trip from Cebu airport, locals led us to the resort which is just a few meters away. (I would think this would make it easy for the place to have someone greet us upon arrival. But that's no biggie.) When we got to the reception, there is no enthusiastic, warm welcome, just a timid receptionist who spoke in a very, very soft voice who looked like she didn't know how to operate the computer. Then she called the main receptionist who fared better, checked us in and gave us the key. She instructed the soft spoken girl to lead us to the room and no one offered to take our bags as heavy as they looked. It was better upon check out, but this is due to us specifically requesting they send staff to the cottage to help us with luggage. Overall, service could improve. I noticed they were better with the foreign tourists that were also at the resort at the time of our stay. More gregarious, accommodating and attentive while .we were left pretty much alone. I don't think this is racism, just a carelessness on the part of management to train their staff to treat everyone like a foreign guest. It was after all our first time in Malapascua. :) But they were nice. Of course everyone was nice, this is the Philippines. Duh. :D

I would recommend Tepanee even without any of these suggested improvements. :) Stay four days to make the exhausting journey to it, worth it. Best for adults and couples. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skiflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
446 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
112 reviews
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing