We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mangrove Oriental Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$70
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Celtis Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hippocampus Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malapascua Legend(Malapascua Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tepanee Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Slam's Garden Resort(Malapascua Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
198
50
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
50
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesmango pancakesthe ownermike's placeplace to stayfan roomisland historyaffordable placequiet end of the beachhot cold showerincluding breakfastfour nightswhite sand beachbasic roombackpacker roombeautiful gardenour night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We came to mike & diose roughly 6 weeks after the typhoon that left a trail of destruction also in Malapascua. Although damage can still be observed the hotel as well as the island is fully functional: dive shops and restaurants are open, there is running water, electricity (not always 24h, but always when it's dark) and a roof over the head :) We were not hindered in any activities and enjoyed a great time.

To sum up the hotel in one word: fantastic. Best value for money, really helpful and friendly staff and you feel right at home the minute you set a foot into the resort. Mike took us on a walk across the island (about 1h) and visited various dive shops with us to help us make the best choice (we settled with evolution dive center) and also showed us plenty of places to eat. He and the staff is helpful in every aspect and made our stay unforgettable. We can only recommend staying there as it is truly a marvel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank geo_matt_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After staying in a more expensive beach-side bungalow for a couple of nights, me and my boyfriend had to find a cheaper place due to lack of cash and ATMs on the island. We found Mike and Dioses place, and Mike offered us the Maids room at the very back of the complex for only 400peso incl breakfast. The room was very basic, but it had a small bathroom (the kind where water goes everywhere) with a curtain, a fan and mosquito-net. The bed was kinda small for 2 people, but good enough, and you cant complain about it for this price. We would have moved to the fan-rooms for another 200 peso, but they were taken.
The place is right at the end of the beach, it has a huge beach with hammocks and huts. There is no people walking past or through this place, which was the case at our previous accommodation. So no people trying to sell us things. One day there were some massage-women on the beach, but this was an advantage as it was just what we needed for a very good price.
In the morning a good pancake-breakfast was served right on the beach. Unfortunately there was only instant coffee, but nobody is perfect!
Mike seems nice and caring, I had a wound on my leg and he took it very seriously, grabbed a huge medical box, cleaned and bandaged it for me each day which I am grateful for. All healed now :)
A couple of negatives:
There is no wifi in the rooms (unless you are in one particular hut where the router is just outside), and no wifi on the beach. You literally have to sit right outside the reception building to go on the internet.
They charged us extra for one TINY extra sachet of coffee for our breakfast. I mean, we are coffee addicts so need on BIG coffee each day. We did after all not use any of the sugar or creamer they gave us....
As other reviewers said - there IS a club next door that at times plays loud music. However this is difficult to escape from all over the island, and they stopped around midnight anyway. There are also roosters - but again, they are all over the island. I woke up one morning at 7am by hammering, however I think that was the neighbours and not Mikes fault.
All in all, I do not think you can find a more beautiful place at better value than here on Malapascua!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torunn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This place has the perfect setting on beautiful Malapascua. They have their own little beach with lots of sunchairs, and tables for having breakfast or chillin` in the evening. Most the other places have only a narrow strip of beach, with a main thoroughfare. The advantage with Mike`s place is that it is at the end of the beach, so much less people bothering you and trying to sell stuff, like in the other places.
The rooms look beautiful, and reasonably priced. The fan rooms were 600. Me and my girlfriend stayed in a smaller room for 400 peso each night. That is as cheap as Malapascua gets.

The staff are as friendly as we have ever had. They are all smiling and adressing us by our names(which is really cute). Mike is jovial and fun. He even helped patch up a wound that my girlfriend hafd. Every day he would put new bandages on from his big medical box.

Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable and really good - freshly made mango pancakes anyone ?

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but the cheapest is the "Maid room" for 400 peso each night. Chepest room in Malapascua, and suitable for couples.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Mike is just about the best host you could possibly want, he's always available for advice or just a chat, but he's never in your face. The accommodation is great, and the cottages are all individual and unique. Breakfast on the beach is just superb. If you want a chilled out experience this is the place to go, it's close enough to all the restaurants and bars on Bounty Beach, but also very tranquil and quiet. 10 out of 10 Mike, your place is the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del_Boy3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Mike is a hardworking owner! He is always floating around the small property and so is available for chats, advice, trips, island history and cooking up BBQs. He makes great efforts to know all his guests personally, always remembers names and hugely contributes to the friendly laid back vibe of island.
Breakfasts are good; choice of pancakes or eggs. Although if you are in a couple, you will eat this on large communal beachside table as there is limited seating and so you are packed in! We thus ate around 8.30am to miss rush and get some space.
The location is fantastic. It is the last spot off Bounty Beach before the villages and so is away from the busy beach section, but near to Craic House- which does best food on island. Mikes' also has a huge sandy beach with loungers and awnings. As this is at the end of the tourist section of beach it is relatively private and by far the best hotel beach on east side of island. Stunning views. Swimming area however isn't substantial but you can walk 5 mins to a clearer spot.
The rooms are nice and cosy although resort seems to be in a transition period as basic rooms are being upgraded to cottages and so there is a bit of construction. Cottages are good value as you get a large terrace as well as room, bathroom and tv area. Also the lighting touches put in rooms by Mike are fantastic. great ambiance! The cottages are 50m back from beach, without view, but this does mean beach itself is nicer as there are no buildings nearby. Finally, bathrooms are fine but are a mozzie risk as we always seemed to get bitten during the evening shower!
No wifi in rooms but a wifi area near kitchen and so if you stay in budget room you will get wifi there too. Connection is fast.
Recommended. We would stay here again as its a good price, best part of beach and quiet.

Room Tip: The smallest two cottages (as these are not shared with two floors) are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews