We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place on a fantastic island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place on a fantastic island”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very nice place run by a very friendly german-swiss couple. Great place for diving or just relaxed on the beach or their bar. Good good and good atmosphere! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAvBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    105
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
67
194
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here as part of our dive package with Sea Explorers. The staff were great helping us on and off the boat. Everyone who works at the resort was friendly. Sven, owner, met us on arrival and was welcoming and put us at ease. Our room is a garden view and was super quiet. There’s a nice comfy bed (sheet only), soft pillows, windows that seal, great lighting, and drying racks on the porch. Fan and a/c keep the room cool. Hot water was plentiful and shower is fairly well contained. Bring own shampoo. There’s a mini-fridge, no complimentary water or kettle. WIFI never did work in the room and guests in the beach view rooms couldn’t get it to work either. Works well at the restaurant. No TV. Plenty of storage and some hangers. Woke up with several mosquito bites. Staff sprayed room for us. Laundry services are available and they are a licensed money changer.

We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant and food was good. Breakfast was great– huge omelettes that you can easily share, homemade bread and jams, fruit (if not displayed, ask), etc. Beach is great although has small bits of coral and there are few sun beds. Beach towels are available and there’s a drying rack on porch. Dive shop is set up really well. We did our advanced course with Tata and our fun dives with Ting and they were excellent. Sven and partner have done a fantastic job with this place – we are already wondering when we can come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent from the 23rd December until 1st January at this fantastic resort and would definitely return there. The rooms are spacious, of a high standard and are kept so clean by very accommodating housekeeping staff. We stayed in a first floor room overlooking the beautiful beach with a large balcony where you could relax and look out to the crystal clear sea with a view to rival.
On our arrival to Ocean Vida we were met by Christina who gave us such a warm welcome and took us up to the open air restaurant for a welcome drink. We had used the transfer service from Cebu Airport by car and then boat to Malapascua Island where as soon as you arrive a wave of relaxation immediatly washes over you! We found all of the bar, restaurant and general staff extremely helpful and friendly. Christina and Sally were very good at helping with any queries and offering advice- always with a cheerful approach.
We enjoyed relaxing on the beach; on the sunloungers and in the hammocks, diving at several of the sites and dining overlooking the beach. Breakfast time was a wonderful start to the day; for the view, the good choice of food available, the lovely smiles and warm greetings from the staff. We also had a walk around the Island and met some very friendly local people.
We did several dives with Sea Explorers and had some fantastic experiences - seeing Thresher Sharks on all 3 dives at Monad Shoal and a Manta Ray too on 1 dive. Our dive guide, Erwin, was excellent and extremely helpful before, during and after dives (sorting out our gear). The whole set up was very professional and well organised with great care taken with equipment. All of the guides made you feel very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. We went to several sites including Calangaman Island which was a little paradise (stunning) where we had a barbecue lunch and 2 good dives. It is well worth the 70 minute boat trip. The bar was a great place to meet people after relaxing for the day or diving and had a very friendly atmosphere. Sven and Fabienne were away whilst we were there but clearly have a very well organised resort with staff who seem to genuinely care. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My wife have stayed here with our 3 year old daughter Miya. This was our first vacation with her and before we were a bit worried how it would turn out. I have to say the staff and management have made it an outstanding experience.

If you like to dive and want to be sure your kids are well taken care of and safe, this is the place to go. The nanny and all the other staff were really enjoying taking care of our baby, which is really a precondition for us, to do this in the first place.

Overall, the rooms are very nice, atmosphere is chilled out and the dive center very personalized.

Great experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Ocean Vida is a new place on the strip on Malapascua Island. Let me say that the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The balcony overlooked the ocean and it was great to just take in the beautiful environment. The hotel itself is pretty much in the middle of ‘everything’ although, there’s not really much to see above water, as the action…and the only reason to go there is to dive (I used Sea-explorers, which was very good). Malapascua is all about thresher shark diving and there are tons of dive shops within a few steps from each other. The only thing about that is that all the boats are right there and my partner and I joked that sometimes the ocean front looked like a parking lot because of so many dive boats! BUT, you will have one heck of a view of it, though!

The only downside to the hotel was that there was hardly any water pressure at all for the shower. We were on the second floor, so maybe it was better on the ground floor? But, the downside to the ground floor is that there is constant traffic outside your door. Even with the poor water pressure, I’d take the second floor, as it’s nice and quiet. Another downside (not of this hotel, but in general) is that on Saturday night there is a ‘disco’ at one of the hotels. I promise you that you will NOT get any sleep until 3 AM. It does not matter where you are on the strip you will hear the music, as it is seriously loud and thumping. Thresher shark dives start out really early in the morning (5 AM), so you’ll likely not be in good shape the next day.
The next time I go I'll be certain to arrive on a Sunday (it's that bad!)

Overall, I would recommend Ocean Vida. We walked around and saw pretty much every place that is there, and I think OV is definitely a smart choice.

Hope this helps

Next stop: In search of whale sharks!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapglobal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed at Ocean Vida for five days...very clean and beautiful resort. During Fiesta time it can be quite noisy!!! They bring in speakers from CEBU and turn up the music...Other than that, you should be aware that only a few metres away the locals organise cock fights every day. Therefore, you will hear cocks all day long...Not very helpful for a relaxing atmosphere. Also worth mentioning is their rates (currently 58 EUR per day). Not very cheap for the Philippines but of course, you get something for your money (clean room, aircon etc. but no balcony!!!). In my opinion, a bit overpriced for Malapascua.

Restaurant is okay, they have a good variety of international and national dishes. The kitchen seems to be overwhelmed during dinner time, it can take up to 1-1.5 hours to get your food.

All in all, I would recommend this resort but be aware of the noise and other minor things I mentioned above!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quality_traveller_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We didn't stay here. The only reason was they don't have a pool and we were traveling with children.
However we came back ton the restaurant several times. The service was great and efficient.
The food choice was excellent and equal quality. This is one of several choices of locations to eat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vida Beach and Dive Resort is situated on Malapasua Islands beautiful Bounty Beach offering 12 Sea view and 8 garden view rooms. The rooms include air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, beach towels and balcony. The resort also features a restaurant, beach side bar and a fully equipped PADI 5* IDC dive center, Sea Explorers. Free high-speed WiFi internet is available throughout the resort. Guests can also join one free Yoga lesson every day and use the Gym in Buena Vida free of charge. We hope we can welcome you here in Malapascua one day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing