We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on a very peaceful and beautiful island!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

A very nice hotel on a gorgeous island! If you look for a 100% relaxing place, Malapascua Island is the spot! Crystal water, sandy beaches, not crowded, relaxing atmosphere are all you'll find there!

Ocean Vida is new! New rooms were being built when we were there, but the noise did not bother us at all. The guys worked during the day and we were not at the hotel, of course! Malapascua is tiny, we walked around the whole island in a day, stopping on some wild and empty beaches by a few fishing villages. "All" the movement came from the locals, so we could get a real relaxation by exploring that island!

The hotel staff are GREAT! All of the girls and guys are pretty kind and so is the couple that runs the hotel! There's no supermarket or anything like that on Malapascua, so when we were leaving the island (a long way back to Cebu airport), we talked to the girls who work in the restaurant (next door to the hotel) about the possibility to make us some croissants (surprisingly fresh and delicious, every morning for breakfast!) and they were kind enough to get everything done for our leaving early in the next morning! Girls, thank you very much for your attention! You do make a difference, believe me!

The room (we got an upstair one) is large, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed (it was not any sacrifice to share it with my "big" brother! Haha!), big bathroom, hot water, gorgeous view right onto the sea!

I do recommend this hotel for every detail in it...building and people! It was hard to say goodbye to beautiful Malapascua and its lovely inhabitants!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekkingGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

HUGE MINUS! Dogs and dogshit everywhere! all covered in flees and bugs! And they pee on the sunbeds and the flees easely gets transfered to you if they are to close.
This island is like a big nasty dog zoo! could be heaven on earth if not..,.

When we went to Malapascua, it rained heavily. The only way to get to the island is by boat from Maya.The boattrip took about 30 min. When we arrived to the hotel we were soaking wet, but was greeted by the hotelstaff with towels, wich was a nice gesture.

The hotel has a good location, right on the beach. Was suprised to see how good the standard was on the rooms, it was not expected. The restaurant was not exactly "five stars" but good enough, the food and the staff was okey. The hotel also had a beach bar which also was okey, cheap drinks. The bartender served us a good caipirinha.

The hotel also had a watersport center, we hired a boat to take us around the island snorkeling, we paid about 1200 pesos for four persons. We stopped at several beautiful sights overlooking the island. The driver also gave us bread and crackers to feed the fish. We had a great experience. There are several watersport centers around the island, all eager to take you for a trip.

The other night we went to dinner at another hotel. We were very pleased with the food and the customer service, very cosy and romantic scene. After dinner we decided to stay and have dessert at the bar, we ordered coffe and cake, however this time they forgot about the cake and the customer service. After one hour waiting for the cake, we decided to walk home.

Room Tip: The standard rooms that we rented was recently built. I don't know the quality of the deluxe roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikingsEnjoyingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just back from Malapascua, I must say I came back with a lot of great memories about the island , the island would have never been completed without Ocean Vida and Sea Explorers dive centre staff. The resort has left a great impression, not only nice and clean room and being right in the centre of the Bounty beach but the friendliness of everyone at OV made my stay absolutely unforgettable. Having travelled quite a lot I realised that places without people are just ordinary and Ocean Vida is for sure my first choice to stay. :) Hope yours too.

Jelena

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ostrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Big, clean rooms. Surprisingly Good food and just the most friendly, happy people we've encountered in the Phillppines.

Oh and do check out the island trip to Calanggaman (heaven)and their dive shop Sea explorers!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice but the garden view rooms are a good bargain and offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadtripNicaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Nicely situated on a south facing beach. All the diving and snorkelling amenities you need. Great restaurant with a wide menu and good service. Lots of conversations at the bar during Happy Hour. Peaceful. A Malapascua treasure. Nice rooms.

Room Tip: Those right on the beach were great. We had the second floor but the main floor would be nice if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheR0ad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Ocean vida showed us how a great beach resort should be. With a absolutely great staff and owner they really wowed us! On me and my girlfriends second year anniversary the hotel arranged a romantic dinner for us right at the beach, with candles and flowers. They really put everything in and we are truly thankful for that!

By the way, the location is great and the rooms feels fresh!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

First and foremost, the diving is amazing in Malapascua. We've been diving all over the Philippines and nothing quite compares to diving with the Thresher Sharks in Malapascua. The rooms are nice, clean & have hot water / AC. Staff is friendly and helpful. Internet is the fastest we've found on the Island, although the signal in our room is pretty much non-existent. We'll definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oreksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
112 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
244 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,384 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £61 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vida Beach and Dive Resort is situated on Malapasua Islands beautiful Bounty Beach offering 12 Sea view and 8 garden view rooms. The rooms include air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, beach towels and balcony. The resort also features a restaurant, beach side bar and a fully equipped PADI 5* IDC dive center, Sea Explorers. Free high-speed WiFi internet is available throughout the resort. Guests can also join one free Yoga lesson every day and use the Gym in Buena Vida free of charge. We hope we can welcome you here in Malapascua one day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing