We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Malapascua Legend(Malapascua Island)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Thresher Cove Dive Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Corals Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Moonlight Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$20
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tepanee Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Slam's Garden Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Evolution Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hippocampus Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vida Resort & Spa(Malapascua Island)
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
305
125
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
125
14
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea explorershappy hourthe beanthresher sharksbeach frontfresh fruitbean bags on the beacha garden view roombeach baroverlooking the beachthe ground floorevery guestevery morningbuffet breakfastremote islandmini bardiving center
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed and dived with Ocean Vida for one week, we found the rooms to be spacious, very well maintained, and clean with decent bathroom facilities, on par with decent European standards. Our room was equipped with air-conditioning and a ceiling fan, providing the guests with a very comfortable stay. The beach in front of the rooms is kept in very good and clean condition to help you relax while sunbathing, it also provides for an excellent sundowner setting with a great relaxing atmosphere.
The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating, in their words – “we know people travel from far to be here, we just want you to enjoy and relax” and that is exactly what you do. The restaurant is well located with a beautiful view, the food is fresh and good value for money. The in-house diving facility is really great, with very competent and friendly staff to assist with every dive and cleaning of equipment afterwards.
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to friends, I will certainly not hesitate to go back – in fact, walking around the beach and looking at the other establishments – Ocean Vida is the only place I will go back to when I return to Malapascua

Room Tip: Beach rooms have a great view, but might be a bit noisy during busy season as they are right on the beach. The garden rooms look like excellent value for money and might be less noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornelis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After having a terrible experience with some other resort I decided to walk on the beach and find a better place. I came across a few resorts along the beach which were ok but this one stood out immediately and without hesitation I decided to stay there. They have a nice bar right on the beach with cool bean bag seats on the sand (Candles everywhere in the evening which makes it very cosy). The staff is really friendly. I don’t know how they do but within less than an hour after arrival they all know your name and call you so, which for me makes a huge difference. I felt I was really on holidays surrounded by very nice and cool people. No headache, just cool, clean, efficient, relax and fun. This place is run by a Swiss couple who are very friendly and just so cool. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, very very clean with real hot shower, real AC and all of them I think are equipped with a safe. The food in the restaurant was very good with a various choice. During the evening they have all the cocktails you can imagine and happy hour. Buy one get one free. They don’t run after you to sign bills all the time like most places; they know you, your room and the bills comes later on exactly what it should be. Every night I saw guests from other resorts (including staff and dive masters) coming there to chill out. The diving part is also great. They have got good material (good condition wet suits…) and very friendly instructors who speak many languages. The boat staff will carry your gear, depart on time and briefings are just what they have to be, short and precise. I really look forward to coming back there.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are especially nice but others are just the same.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mermose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

It was the week of the LPA visit to Metro Manila (Haikui) when I and a friend stayed here. Our 2 week-long search for a reasonably priced, nice resort & beach front was all worth it!
We ended up booking our accommodation at Ocean Vida Resort. It's a smooth 3-hour drive from Mactan airport to the port, and it's a perfect beach area that you'll see in all of Malapascua (we strolled along the beach one afternoon to check other resorts, some don't maintain their beach front, sand is coarse).

Waking up in Malapascua is a total experience---and I so love the early morning sunshine and the sight of the 2 huge motorized boats docked along the pristine shore every morning as if some VIP had arrived in the island. The Seaview balcony for 2 pax on the 2nd floor makes this perfect view. It has fridge, mini bar, comfy beds, and fixtures made with/ inspired by native materials (like a weaved rattan), h&c shower, toilet. At first, I was thinking if I can live without a TV since it's a place for divers (and I'm not one of them)--but I was there 4 straight days, and extended 1 day because the flood in Manila hasn't subsided. Wi-fi is free and very fast, easy to check the condition in Manila every now and then.

Overall what we love here are the hospitable staff and the owners themselves who are hands-on in terms of taking care of their customers, daily maintenance of the beach front & sand, weeding out wild grass, clean area, and rooms. During our entire week of stay we noticed, Ocean Vida never ran out of guest. It's not like peak season, but for sure new guests will occupy a vacated room, if there's any. Plus, it's not a party place (like Boracay) where you can just relax, lay on the sand, enjoy the sea breeze & sun, chill, and watch people =))

We enjoyed the daily free breakfast (bacon&ham, eggs, freshly baked breads, fresh fruit slices, cereals&muesli, honey, milk, coffee, juices)--for Filipinos who love rice, it's not offered on the buffet table, sorry =)

VERDICT: we'll surely be back here and recommend to friends. For one, we have yet to try diving here, go to Calanggaman (minus the current), and chill again at the beach bar (cocktails and shooters! wuhoo)!

Room Tip: the middle room on the 2nd floor seaview villa gives a better and wider view of the sea especially in the morning. most families stay on the ground floor of the seaview villa--and I also want to try it there next time.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoyAndLolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Small, quiet dive resort right on the beach front in Malapascua Island.
Excellent value. Nice clean rooms with good facilities.
Food was good. Service excellent.
The dive facilities were fantastic. Equipment was all quite new.
All in all, a great set up.

Perfect getaway if you want a peaceful, quiet break with excellent diving. A really good alternative to the busier dive resorts in Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia.

Best to contact the resort to organize transport from Cebu airport. It takes 3 hours by road and 20 minutes by boat.

Room Tip: Either garden view or sea view. Both clean and comfortable, but not luxury standard.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will_ashcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 weeks at Ocean Vida. It was the perfect holidays: clean, lovely furnitured rooms with AirCon and fan, friendly staff (also at sea explorers), cosy chillout zone at the beach bar: you can sit on bean bags and have a drink or even have a meal on the beach. The restaurant is upstairs but with seaview. If you ask the staff, they prepare a romantic table on the beach for you where can have your dinner. The food ranges from local filippine dishes, over thai to western dishes. They are all very delicious. ( i havenever had anything i could not enjoy). The breakfast is rich and there is even fresh bread every morning!
During the day you can either swim in the sea or take a walk around the island or simply lie in the sun an read. It is recommendable to take diving courses or do some dives as lying around can quickly get monotonous.
The local inhabitants are all very friendly and out-going. It is a nice opportunity to meet them, get an insight into their way of life (which is mainly enjoy the day). The athmosphere among the staff is very familiar and convivial. It contributes a great deal to relax, have a good mood and simply enjoy your holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlleracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews