We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly staff, awesome beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly staff, awesome beachfront”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a great stay at Ocean Vida. Resort manager greeted us on arrival and check-in was absolutely seamless. Breakfast is actually pretty decent by dive resorts' standards. Tap water kinda taste funny but that is a problem that i believe applies to the whole island due to the existing infrastructure. Beach is absolutely beautiful though options for swimming are pretty limited. We were not desperate to swim given that we are there scuba diving, spending lots of time in the water anyway. Snorkelling is possible during high tide.

Rooms are kept clean and fresh towels are provided daily. Do only arrange for one way transfer as an independent massage operator, manned by this lady called Judith, can help arrange your return transfer 30% cheaper than the resort. She can arrange for island tours too.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are good enough. Beach front rooms may have noise issues at night as they are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    112
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
202
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed a week @ Ocean Vida for a week:
+ Awesome view from the sea view room - ask for a room upstairs
+ Clean and well maintained room with great isolation
+ Nice and relaxed atmoshpere
+ Aweome cocktails @ the bar with daily happy hours
+ Food is just fine, Not a michelin star for sure but decent food
+ Convenient for divers to have the shop within the resort
+ They were actually staff cleaning the beach every morning

- Transportation failed on arrival : No one was waiting for me @ airport. However, the manager sincerely appologized and offered free food on arrival + free transportation.
- Sometimes a bit hard to find a beach chair - Haven't felt any pressure from local vendors though

Overall very positive stay - Will return

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponponfbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Here is my feedback.
Pros :
- very nice rooms, especially the one with sea views. Great balcony.
- good soundproofing between rooms.
- good service (clean rooms etc)
- great beach bar with happy hour and lounge music
- smiling employees
- great 1 hour in room massage for 500 php.
- free wifi, slow, but free !

Cons :
- too many boats parked outside the resort, less space for swimmers and people who just want to stay in the water without being too close of other tourists because the space between all these boats is limited.
- lot of garbage in the sea at a only a few meters from the shore, maybe they should hire someone to pick it up once in a while. (FYI lot of algae too, caused by pollution + heat ???)
- people coming from other resorts using the limited number of beach chairs reserved for the guests. There is a sign but it's really not respected and the employees don't seem to care.
- lot of people trying to sell us stuff when we are chilling at the resorts beach, or even on our balcony, really really annoying after a few days.
- restaurant food was so so yet pretty expensive, great and smiling service though.

We had a great stay at this hotel but we are not sure if we will come back if they don't fix the problems listed above, there is so many other islands to visit...
I think this resort is very focused on the divers (they have their own diving center and lot of boats) , not so much on the people who just came here to relax on the beach. I don't blame them but I wish I knew it before I decided to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasperzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I organized my trip to Malapascua based on reviews of Ocean Vida resort and wasn't let down. Sorren the manager made us feel welcome right from the moment our boat reached the beach. The place has a wonderfully relaxed vibe. The rooms are well sized and fitted with everything you need - although the bathrooms are a little dated. The staff are all super friendly an can help with all ur needs. They organized a fantastic massage for us in our air conditioned room and even did our laundry at really cheap rates. Make sure u plan ur Itinerary around the 4-6pm Happy hour. Sipping the delicious array of cocktails while relaxing on the beanbags and watching the sunset were a highlight each evening. Food was excellent too. Also ask at reception or with the boat transfer guy (forgot his name but super friendly guy) about the 3hr snorkeling trip around the island - it was great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mla
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Best among Malapascua island? hmmm

Maybe Yes
but if i can only have a bit touch of home it would be better

What i personally don't like
The management feels that they are quite expensive for the locals so they are catering this hotel for foreigners mainly -( at least that's what i remembered ) - and additional words of ...with the price i pay the service i get is great
highly recommended for foreigners
but for locals like me, something was quite off
If you are not from the Philippines perhaps this can be the place for you
they really offer great service to you guys
yes, they are quite expensive. true. compared to other hotels around
BUT it does not mean they were already giving the best service in town
I've been to more affordable with the best service in town and it was not close to what they gave us. so i think next time be careful on the words getting the best service in town with the price i pay. because i don't think i did get the best. just enough usual service -not bad though
the place was nice - true
BUT there are still a lot of room for improvement
for a four thousand plus peso room i'd be expecting at least a great breakfast
BUT breakfast was bland dry and were just the same everyday. not quite appetizing and appealing for a 4,000+ room. choices were not much after my 4th breakfast. i missed the 5th because i knew there was nothing new
they were really fund of this big chunk of mozzarella cheese in most of the food they have
food really needs improvement
I'm a local i don't speak the language in the area of Cebu - But i can understand them when they talk about us or the other folks around
i even remember during a time when i asked for a help on a DM in their dive shop (regarding weights and torch) he talked to a lady (using their language) and told her that their not under me ask their DM to help. Take note that this DM didnt even answered on where to find find it or how to find it he just talked to the lady in their language and the lady didnt even bother to help us nobody answered us. they just sat in their table. so i smiled and just looked for somebody else who can help us
i was really in my happy moment when i stayed there and i tried my best to enjoy my stay

Dive was really really great though because Malapascua island itself is very very gifted
nice location of the place
will be back here ? - Yes
i enjoyed my stay here there were just some personal minute details that i did not like
i think they should really stop talking about their guests in their language it would be a shame if somebody like me understands it
and for the treatment on the locals try to be more fair :)

it is more fun in the Philippines :D

nevertheless the place was great

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoshoMla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were very lucky to have stayed at Ocean Vida for 12 nights in Jan/Feb this year. Booking on the internet was easy, as was arranging an airport collection from Cebu.

The Ocean Vida is situation in the middle of Long Beach and does indeed seem to be the place where everyone congregated on an evening. Having walked the length of the bay, it is definitely situated on the best stretch.
A no frills island where you don't need to get dressed on an evening. Most people were back packers & divers and shorts were the order of the night!

The room we stayed in was a deluxe sea view room and was worth the extra few pounds, as the view was amazing.

The staff greeted us off the boat as we arrived and immediately made us feel very welcome.

All the staff we came across we very friendly and polite.
Breakfast was buffet based with choices of eggs cooked to order. It was perfectly adequate, with plenty to choose from.The fresh Mango juice was delicious.

Cleanliness was not an issue. Clean towels daily, and bed linen we had changed on 2 occasions during our stay.

The hotel had plenty of sunbeds for guests,with a sign to say the beds were for hotel guests only. This sign was totally ignored and the staff did not move people away who were not staying at the resort.This is my only gripe about the Ocean Vida. Guests from other resorts and users of the Explorer divers would come in a morning order a coffee whilst sat on a sun-bed then proceed to stay their all day! I even witnessed these people buying drinks from the little supermarket and bringing them back, so they did not even continue to purchase food/drinks from the resort.

The happy hour started at 5pm - 7pm. The mango Daiquiri's were to die for.

The hotel provided beach towels which could be exchanged as you required.

I would definitely recommend the Ocean Vida and Malapascua for anyone who is wanting a get away from it all relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If your budget allows choose a sea front room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt like we had brushed our cares aside and could relax. The property is very well run and the staff are all very friendly. We stayed in a ground floor room which was very comfortable with great views and a very comfortable bed. Although the path in front of the rooms is very busy, privacy is well maintained with the tinted one way glass allowing you to make full use of the stunning view.

Happy hour was very busy and service was sometimes slow, but the mango daiquiris were well worth waiting for while lounging on the bright bean bags and making use of the free (but slow) wifi. We dined on the beach for two nights which was very special.

We had fantastic dives with Sea Explorers and found their equipment and service to be of a very high standard, with great dive guides. The dive boats were great and we especially enjoyed the early morning coffee served on board every morning en route to the dive site. We dived Monad Shoal early for three mornings and had terrific thresher shark encounters. Another highlight was diving Gato Island and doing some incredible muck dives.

The property is very well maintained, we had a problem with our shower which was promptly fixed and also noticed the huge effort made every day to clean the seaweed washed in on the tide off the beach and bury it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
530 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
227 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vida Beach and Dive Resort is situated on Malapasua Islands beautiful Bounty Beach offering 12 Sea view and 8 garden view rooms. The rooms include air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, beach towels and balcony. The resort also features a restaurant, beach side bar and a fully equipped PADI 5* IDC dive center, Sea Explorers. Free high-speed WiFi internet is available throughout the resort. Guests can also join one free Yoga lesson every day and use the Gym in Buena Vida free of charge. We hope we can welcome you here in Malapascua one day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing