We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extended stay in Ocean Vida!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Initially booked for a week with my partner for some chill time and diving ended up staying for 3 weeks. The hotel is located conveniently on a central area of a beautiful beach. During the day, the banana chairs and day beds are perfect for some relax time between dives or simply soaking up some sun.

The staff are all very accommodating and friendly. Sven the owner and Soren the GM were super helpful and friendly during our stay. They even dove with us on several occasions to see the thresher sharks!

Ocean Vida also provides currency exchange, and the rate they give was better than several banks in Singapore. Make sure you book directly through them to get a better rate than Agoda!

Happy Hour - Drinks at the bar during the evening after some diving action is nice...The Mango daiquiris a must-try.

Although Ocean Vida is operated independently of Sea Explorers, they have a great little setup going together. I did my Advanced Open Water with them. My instructor Ms Dish was awesome and patient throughout the course. I highly recommend her as an instructor. Boat crew and guides simply fun and we had an amazing time.

Looking forward to coming back.

Julie

Room Tip: Get the Ocean view room, 2nd floor more privacy...unless you have kids.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JYrestlesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This little gem delivered a fantastic relaxed weekend for my son and I. The hotel arranged for a car from Cebu to Maya port - about a three hour drive- and the the Banca from the port to the hotel. As it transpired the crossing was under a moonless, cloudless night presenting us with a spectacular stellar ceiling. Breathtaking after missing the beauty of nature living in a brightly lit city. We were delivered right onto the beach in front of the hotel and were treated with a warm welcome and introduction by the manager, Soren. They kept the kitchen open for us sorting early brownie points. The resort is reasonably basic and caters largely to the only real activity on the island, scuba diving. That said it is clean and comfortable with good food and a great cocktail menu and characteristically friendly staff. I was unfortunately not able to dive thanks to a heavy dose of the flu and the medication I was on however we did manage to get a morning snorkelling in through o local 'operator'. The $50 we paid got us a private Banca for the morning with a circumnavigation of the island and a stop off at three dive sights, all of which were well worth it. Highly recommended is a walk around the island exploring local life. It takes a leisurely 2 - 3 hours easy walking and you get a tremendous sense of rural island life. If you are not a diver but are happy to relax and not demand entertainment this is is a recommended destination for a long weekend. Mix some exploring with a spot of snorkelling (this can actually be done from the hotel beac but it is best to go out and explore), exploring the island and relaxing at the hotel beach. Beverly makes sensational (and deadly) cocktails - we tried them all!) and you will be well looked after. The electronic devices at home and enjoy this tropical gem. Go.

Room Tip: For that little bit extra get a sea facing room. Not essential but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IainMacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this resort. We are locals who spent 4 days in Malapascua (too short!). While all other guests were foreigners, mostly Europeans, the staff made us feel very much at home (sadly, in some parts of Asia, locals get inferior service compared to western guests). Everyone was treated like a friend. The dive shop in the resort and the guides were also great, as well as the beachfront for getting massages and enjoying sunset with music for chilling.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Lovely outside bar on the beach with bean bags etc, decent restaurant and good prices. Organised everything via email (I think with Sven) including diving before arriving and all was very efficient with no problems at all. The rooms are large but v souless....i think that with very little money and effort they could improve the bathrooms and make the rooms a little more upmarket. Very clean though so no issues there.

A pool would have been nice as the beachfront often had lots of boats moored (still space to swim though if you wanted to)....this was not really an issue, just would have been a nice to have.

We walked up and down the main stretch on the Island and this place definately had the best atmospehere in the evenings and was close to everything. Associated dive school Sea Explorers was excellent (see seperate review).

Finally - the pre-organised return to the airport (leaving at 6am) was perfectly executed with the guys with the boat outside from about 5.30am waiting for us. No stress at all.

V impressed overall.

Room Tip: Top floor for a good view and a bit of people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at Ocean Vida for five nights and four days of diving. It was one of the best diving trip experiences. Resort was well situated in the island, well maintained and very clean. We always felt relax during our entire stay because the staff was very friendly, accommodating and always smiling. The resort restaurant food was excellent so we had our meals there in our entire stay. The happy hour from 4:30-6:30 was wonderful, buy one drink and get the second for free. Diving with Sea Explorers was also terrific. They have the best DM guides, instructors and boat staff. We highly recommend Ocean Vida and Sea Explorers. We will come back again very soon. Eliel

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor with the ocean view. It was excellent because I have a big camera and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eliel461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of Bounty beach. It has a very nice portion of beach for its guests, with sun loungers, single and double. They give you beach towels every day. Our room was the beachfront room, the view was the best we could have had! If you choose this type of room, please make sure they give you one on the first floor because if not, you will be bothered by all the vendors passing by.

The room was spacious and nice, with a big bed and a terrace with a sofa just for us. Also a lot of storage space for my husband's clothes (he loves getting all his clothes out of the luggage). The bathroom with a shower was ok, toileteries and towels just fine. There's also coffee and tea making facilities, which is very convenient.

Breakfast is ok, just basic, like a regular breakfast: coffee, tea, bread, butter, jam, some Asian food, fruit. Not much to remark about it. Service is good, always with a smile. There's a bar also, which serves good cocktails.

Several times we tried the restaurant and food was good.

Room Tip: I suggest you make sure to get a beachfront room on the first floor, so it's not easy to get bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky_Iri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

What a pleasure in this small island !! Difficult to reach arriving directly from Europe (30 hours from Switzerland) But it was really worth it.
Beautiful sand beach, very cordial and laughing staff but more importantly very service and customer oriented.
The rooms, bed and linen were extremely good. I would recommend to be on the first floor facing the sea.
The environment and the small village in the backyard were very nice to visit and walk through.
Food was very good and breakfast buffet with a wide variety of possibilities.

Room Tip: Any room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
129 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
274 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
143 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 44 in Mactan Island
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vida Beach and Dive Resort is situated on Malapasua Islands beautiful Bounty Beach offering 12 Sea view and 8 garden view rooms. The rooms include air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, beach towels and balcony. The resort also features a restaurant, beach side bar and a fully equipped PADI 5* IDC dive center, Sea Explorers. Free high-speed WiFi internet is available throughout the resort. Guests can also join one free Yoga lesson every day and use the Gym in Buena Vida free of charge. We hope we can welcome you here in Malapascua one day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Malapascua Island
Ocean Vida Beach And Dive Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing