We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay on Malapascua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston Upon Thames
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“The place to stay on Malapascua”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Really liked it. Very laid back and relaxed, right on the best part of the beach, with the best beach bar on the island (shame it closes at 11pm). Had a deluxe room, very spacious, simply and tastefully furnished, ultra clean, lovely big balcony overlooking the beach with very good loungey furniture. Breakfasts were good, lunch was even better. Staff were a delight and overall owner Soren runs a great place.
Came here after a work conference needing a couple of days to unwind and experience the good things in life - it delivered.
If I ever come back to this island, I'd stay here without hesitation.
Other tips include eating at Angelina's restaurant and chartering a boat to go off on a morning's snorkelling around the island (if you're not into diving)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    113
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
71
202
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had previously visited Malapascua in early 2013 and was blown away by the wonderful diving , the beautiful island and of course the great operation Sea Explorers and Ocean Vida run. It then felt like on of the safest places on earth but as we know nature had other ideas and the island was devastated by the super typhoon in November.

Anybody visiting today for the first time would be hard pushed to realise that anything had happened. The resorts on Bounty Beach have all been rebuilt and the visitation is growing back very quickly. Ocean Vida has been repaired and refurbished to a higher standard than ever. The owners and managers have done so much work themselves in terms of maintaining the employment of their staff and have built new houses for most if not all. However the island needs all the help it can get.

There really is no reason whatsoever to now not visit Malapascua. The diving was sublime , the thresher sharks were out in force every morning and we had excellent trips to Gato and Calangaman. Malapascha also had superb macro diving , but without the rubbish in the water seen in other sites. Our guides , Rex and Kleng , were superb spotters. The boat crew were indescribably helpful in getting us in and out of the water and were so much fun.

I would urge anybody contemplating a trip to Malapascua to just go without delay. We had perfect weather in early June , the summer weather in the Visayas is apparentmy usually perfect for diving.

Room Tip: The superior rooms facing Bounty Beach are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place was so nice. Had nice and chill staff who were ready to serve you. The service is a lot better than other places we stayed while in the Philippines. There was no At
tM on the island which would have been nice to have known before hand... But they took any card you wanted to pay with. The food was good. The rooms were nice. I loved the bean bags on the beach at night :) a good place to go relax and enjoy the beautiful waters of the Philippines.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice... But the garden view is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalundborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We checked into this place after having checked it out on the web where it looked nice. But the reality were somewhat different. Cage like rooms 1 meter from the main beach room make you feel like an animal in a zoo. The guests were some of the most obnoxious we ever met. Thats not the managements fault but we got enough after 1 night and found another place.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanvida, General Manager at Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Kasper,

I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience in the resort you stayed in, but I am a little confused about your review as we did not have any guests stay with us in a deluxe sea view room for only 1 night in May. Are you sure your review is about Ocean Vida?

Also just about everybody else who have visited the resort agrees that the location is wonderful. Ocean Vida is a beach and dive resort and it is therefore natural to be located right on the beach a few meters away from the water’s edge.

Our rooms are some of the largest and most well-equipped on the island and most certainly bigger than the rooms in White Sand Resort which you also review.

Having people on the beach in front of you room is almost unavoidable as all beaches in the Philippines are public by law. Not much we can do about that, but I can ensure you that Logon beach which is where White Sands is located, is certainly not “private” as you describe it. It is actually the main route for one of the island’s most popular restaurants “Angelina’s”, which again means that every single customer would have to pass straight in front of your view at White Sands to get to the restaurant.

As the manager of Ocean Vida (and a Danish national like yourself), I speak to almost every single guest we have staying with us and a fellow Dane would have been a welcome rarity. I am sorry to say that I do not remember you at all and I surely did not receive any complaints while you were staying here, which makes it very hard to accommodate any special needs or rectify any issues or problems you might have had.

Most of our guests are dedicated divers and easy going couples, who are here to enjoy a quiet vacation without constant party music or hassling vendors, which is exactly the paradise you get on Malapascua. Calling the other guests “obnoxious” is not a description that I can recognize and as you say, none of the managements fault, so reviewing the resort based on that, is very subjective and simply not a fair assessment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Was recently here for a weekend and I was very pleased with the service and facility. Beers were really cheap and they have a serious 1 for 1 happy hour from 4-6. Great place and highly recommended. The service and staff were accommodating and arranged for me to be shuttled from the Cebu Airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get whatever is least expensive. You're not going to spend much time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We (wife, 2 girls aged 8 and 12 and me) recently returned from a great 2 weeks at Ocean Vida. Great rooms right on the beach and excellent value food and drink.The weather was mostly fine with a few thunderstorms thrown in and it was all very laid back.
We could go off for a 5.00am dive with the threshers on Monad Shoal and be back for breakfast before the kids had even woken up. Threshers on most dives at Monad and an array of nudibranchs, pipefish, clowns, mandarins etc on the other sites. Favourite sites were Chocolate Island and Deep Rock which is just covered in soft coral.
All of the staff were fantastic but I owe special thanks to Tata for loaning me his camera when mine developed an electrical fault on the fourth day.
For diving, kicking back and chilling out this place is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Beach front room every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank safaridiver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It was a great experience. Awesome food. Friendly staff. Cool owner. Nice rooms. Perfect location. The owner is very nice and makes sure his guests are having a great time. Oh my and happy hour is truly happy hour! Awesome cocktails! I am surely coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
533 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
235 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vida Beach and Dive Resort is situated on Malapasua Islands beautiful Bounty Beach offering 12 Sea view and 8 garden view rooms. The rooms include air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, beach towels and balcony. The resort also features a restaurant, beach side bar and a fully equipped PADI 5* IDC dive center, Sea Explorers. Free high-speed WiFi internet is available throughout the resort. Guests can also join one free Yoga lesson every day and use the Gym in Buena Vida free of charge. We hope we can welcome you here in Malapascua one day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing