We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purple Snapper - Risk free investment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Snapper Dive Resort
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Purple Snapper really was a HUGE step up from the previous place I stayed on the island. The staff is very friendly and they make you feel comfortable. The restaurant has a pool table and they recently added a ping pong table next to the swimming pool.

Before I say anything about the room I have to say that the restaurant alone is pretty amazing. The pizzas and especially the burgers are delicious (served with herbed homemade fries!) I like the simple menu anyway over the long ones they tend to have around. The food is reasonably priced. Also the breakfast (which was included in the room price) is better than the average. You choose your poison from their breakfast menu (f.ex. American is bacon, eggs and pancakes) and it includes bottomless coffee, tea, milo AND juice.

The room was mosquito free and spacious. Clean western toilet with hot shower was icing on the cake. Room was clean, as were the premises. They keep the garden nice and clean, the rooms even have a small pool outside where you can rinse your feet from sand before going in.

Wifi speed was excellent for an island connection and the possibility to watch movies in the restaurant was nice. There are plugs available in the restaurant so no matter if you sit there for hours with your computer.

I also have to mention, that the resort has an excellent professional photographer on staff, if you ever wanted to get those perfect holiday/honeymoon/whatever shots. The same guy took us to see cockfighting, which happens every Sunday. Good fun!

The resort just opened in November 2010, but I have no doubt in my mind that it will be very popular in no time. They just do everything just a little bit better than the rest. I really felt the enthusiasm they have of making the place even nicer.

The only downside really is the ongoing roodsters and karaoke, but there's no escape from that in South-East Asia anyway. Bring earplugs if you have trouble sleeping.

PS. Here's an example of some fun we had one afternoon at the pool: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZoWG7UNb18E

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impivaarajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2011

Well, were to start? (Are we really the first to write about them?)

Guess then we have to be a little more detailed than usual.

We found Purple Snapper, because we wanted a place with hot shower for a reasonable price and stayed because of the service.

After one arrives on Malapascua with out a booked accommodation there will certainly be someone helping you to find a place to stay. We ended up in a nice place for 700 PHP a night, but needed to relocate after two days. We desired a hot shower!

Walking around the Island you'll find Purple Snapper just off the beach behind "Exotic" (more fancy place), close to "evolution" (the dive base we recommend). You'll notice it when you see the bamboo arch entrance. It is located in the village at the main road (which is a food path *g*) and 3 - 5 minutes slow walking to the beach.

The owner of the place is American and his staff is Filipino. We were welcomed in a very pleasant personal manner. They offer rooms ranging from "backpacker style to air-con room with en-suite (hot shower). We choose the fan/hot shower combination.

Our room was located right at the nice pool (not a small bath tub, but swimmable with a shallow hang out area). The room is quite spacious, definitely enough for our backpacks. There is a little patio with a bench in front of it and a useful clothesline. In this price range you do not expect luxuries interior, but we like the bamboo style and the bed is relatively comfortable.

What we absolutely appreciated is the a-la-carte breakfast. They showed themselves very flexible when it comes to the breakfast hours. This is very nice, because the dives to see the Thresher Sharks are very early (very early!!!) in the morning and at most places you just miss your breakfast.

For relaxation there is the mentioned pool. Moreover, there is a pool table ;-) and you can watch movies at night. An internet access through WiFi is self-evident.

Purple Snaper serves a food selection for a reasonable price. The Pizza we liked (and Isabelle is half Italian), but the Burgers are the best you'll get on the Island (Marcel's choice). Even a salad (for the veggies like Isabelle) is a full meal, unlike south-east-asian standards. Happy hour is from 4 pm to 6pm.

Are there down sides?
Yes - two:
1. The typical philippine roosters are living in the village (cock fights are unfortunately still popular). You can hear them calling each other day and night. We got used to it after two nights.
2. Filipinos love Karaoke. And sometimes they 'll do it until late at night.

See you some where on this globe (next stop Donsol)

I&M

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sea2sky_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eneritz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Purple Snapper Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hezi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy G, Manager at Purple Snapper Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank carlafalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy G, General Manager at Purple Snapper Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 25 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy G, General Manager at Purple Snapper Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Celtis Resort
Hotel Celtis Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Resort (Malapascua Beach Resort)
Blue Water Resort (Malapascua Be...
#13 of 13 in Malapascua Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Snapper Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Snapper Dive Resort

Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £11 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Purple Snapper Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Snapper Dive Resort is emerging as one of the best places to stay in Malapascua. Located 100 meters from Bounty Beach, Malapascua’s primary shore, Purple Snapper Dive Resort offers travelers a good taste of local life and culture while in close proximity to the beach. Being one of Philippines’ top diving destination the resort is a good choice for those hit by the diving bug. We are never too far from many of Malapascua’s dive operators better yet, check out our newly opened dive shop. Stay with us and only be a dive away from seeing Malapascua’s majestic attraction-the thresher sharks. Pick any of our 25 native style rooms and be treated with true Filipino hospitality. Mabuhi! Welcome to paradise! Wecome to Malapascua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Purple Snapper Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Snapper Dive Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing