We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Snapper Dive Resort
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The owner is very helpful and friendly. When some guests showed up without a booking, he helped them find other accomodation before booking them in the next day! He made sure everyone is well taken care of. Though my booking was screwed up, he apologized and went striaght to finding me another place to stay for 1 night at the same price as offered. The vibe at the resort is very nice, divers and travellers just hang out at the bar around to talk and mingle around. There is a dive school which is a little on the expensive side but the staff were very friendly too!

The backpackers' rooms come with shared bathroom but the room itself is pretty spacious and comfortable, towels and linen provided. Only bad thing is the cocks crowing every morning at 4am which makes for not a good night's sleep. But if you sleep like a log, highly recommend this place

Enjoyed my time staying there

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

We didn't stay in the resort itself as we already had accomodation on Malapascua, but I cannot recommend the dive school highly enough.
Great, friendly approachable instructors with the highest regard for safety. I complete my open water course with them and they taught the theory so well I was able to attain 100% on the exam. My other half is a more experienced diver and she rated the adventure dive with the Threshers very highy as well. All in all Highly Recommended, especially for a keen Scuba Diver.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tigs77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Spent Good Friday here in Purple Snapper with 11 other friends and it was EXCELLENT! We arrived in the resort 4 hours ahead of their check-in time (excited much?! hahaha) but they were so kind to provide as a vacant room for our things, for the exception of not using the bed of course. We reserved 3 backpacker rooms 2 weeks before, so it's no hassle. The staff were very accommodating plus unlimited use of amenities (pool, minibar, table tennis and billiards) is just so perfect! Special mention to their minibar since we've made it like our own. We had our acoustic and drinking (hahaha) sessions in there. One more thing that my friends and I were amazed is their clean comfort room, though it was public (backpacker guests).

No hidden charges, a perfect budget accommodation! It's a feel-free type of resort. Must-recommend especially for barkada budget escapade! Two thumbs up PURPLE SNAPPER!

You can check on this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLbeYwpFdqo&feature=youtu.be for our malapascua (purple snapper) escapade! \m/

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Purple snapper is a magic place, with a social sharm, nice food, cool people who take the time to get to know you personally, clean. And all at a backpackers price ticket. It's 80 m away from the beach and beachbars, close to the local shops and restaurants. Above all this the diving is great!
(not so expensive as at the beach located dive shops)

As you can see .. only good things. Very suitable as well for people travelling alone like me.

It's one of the resort that can count on me visiting them again :).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our Malapascua vacation with so much activities such as island hopping, snorkeling, diving and simply hanging out in Purple snapper most of the time and we also made a lot of fun new friends in this place . They have mid size pool at the back, mini bar and table tennis which are perfect to spend time with friends. We took the AC room with a king size and queen. It's clean, affordable and comfortable. Their foods are good but a bit pricey so we always eat at nearby cheaper restaurants. Overall experience is very good. The owner is very helpful, the diving instructors and staffs are very friendly which made us all feel welcome and at home.
And the birthday chocolate cake is heaven! Thanks to the chef who rush back from city to the island to finish my surprise birthday cake! :) I will surely come back and bring friends over again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Purple snapper was ideal for what we wanted - a backpacker vibe but with a few more comforts. We got an A/C room with hot water.

The hot water was intermittent going from cold to scolding and nothing in between, it was easier to just have it cold to be honest so don't expect a nice luxury hot shower but the flow is not so strong so it is not too cold to bear.

The A/C was great but does trip out when there are power outages during the night so we had to get up to put it back on. Also, its quite high up to control, I had to climb the shelves to reach it but men will have no problem with it - this is the same with the fan too. The room did not get too hot during the day so the fan rooms are probably OK.

Room was clean, not absolutely spotless but clean enough for me. There were a few mozzies about (not loads) so buy in some mosquito coils and be careful opening the door with the lights on.

Staff were very attentive throughout our stay. The owner organising us a private transfer from Cebu Airport as we did not want to spend a night waiting to get to Malapascua. We got a very reasonable price and it all went very smoothly. The private boat journey was magical with the stars all out and the phosphofluorescent plankton in the sea!

Food in the restaurant was good, not amazing but as good as anywhere else we ate on Malapascua. Breakfast is included but most options are very stodgy (fried breakfast, waffles, pancakes, etc), some cereal as an option would have been better for me personally.

The pool was a rare luxury for me which was nice and warm. You can lie on the slightly submerged walls around the shallow end so you can sunbathe in the water and keep cool. Just about big enough (definitely deep enough) for a bit of a swim about but you can't really do lengths in it. Its in the sun till about 3pm when the trees partially block it.

Diving with the dive company at the resort was fantastic and the instructors and divemasters were very professional. I went to Monad Shoal to see the Thresher sharks and then did 2 dives at Gato Island which was stunning! The Monad Shoal dive was just the 2 of us and the Gato Island dives had 1 other diver so not busy at all and lots of space on the boat for relaxing and kitting up.

The island itself is stunning and the locals are mostly very friendly although also very poor. There is quite a lot of boats on Bounty Beach due to all the diving going on but that is to be expected I suppose.

Room Tip: To save on costs try to get a fan room that gets decent shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed in Purple Snapper with my 11 other friends and got 3 rooms for reservation. I find the resort very accommodating and comfortable to stay with. The people are easy to going, no curfews, unlimited amenities and unique. Although, we are unlucky enough with my room partners because we had no idea that the room we have selected has quietly more mosquitoes going inside the room during the night so we need to find a ways to make them terminated and that's why we came up of having it smoke mosquito killer and turning the fan on which is I think was very effective. One of the fun things that I really like is also their mini pool bar which we even took their permission to operate a sound system so we could make a mini disco on our own. We even do the drinking session and acoustic session on the mini pool bar which is fun because no one will bother you about what's going on. We are just having fun and no other fishy things going so the owner will just make you comfortable on what you do. A walk-in distance to the front beach is also a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 310JohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malapascua Budget Inn
Malapascua Budget Inn
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evolution Resort
Evolution Resort
#2 of 14 in Malapascua Island
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Snapper Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Snapper Dive Resort

Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £11 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Purple Snapper Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Snapper Dive Resort is emerging as one of the best places to stay in Malapascua. Located 100 meters from Bounty Beach, Malapascua’s primary shore, Purple Snapper Dive Resort offers travelers a good taste of local life and culture while in close proximity to the beach. Being one of Philippines’ top diving destination the resort is a good choice for those hit by the diving bug. We are never too far from many of Malapascua’s dive operators better yet, check out our newly opened dive shop. Stay with us and only be a dive away from seeing Malapascua’s majestic attraction-the thresher sharks. Pick any of our 25 native style rooms and be treated with true Filipino hospitality. Mabuhi! Welcome to paradise! Wecome to Malapascua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Purple Snapper Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Snapper Dive Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing