We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Resort we stayed in in the Philippines”
Review of Malapascua Legend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malapascua Legend
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Resort we stayed in in the Philippines”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

A new resort that was just built, Very nice place, great staff, good food.
We really liked the atmosphere which was in high standard but still in the spirit of the Island.
Hot showers wern't instoled in the west building

Room Tip: The east wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zivshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    59
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We moved here for some luxury during our stay on Malapascua and were impressed with the rooms at Legend. Two huge double beds and a big wardrobe and tv, plus a large bathroom with a walk in shower. This hotel offers something not yet available elsewhere on the island - luxury. Breakfast was included and was nice. We also received a welcome drink upon arrival!

The luxury comes at a price and rooms are far more expensive than elsewhere on the island. We negotiated a good rate with the manager as we were walk in customers but I doubt such a good discount would be available when booking in advance.

The hotel offers a boat shuttle back and forth from Cebu and you can share with other guests making it good value and far less hastle than walking to take the ferry.

The pool is perhaps not required on such a pretty island but it was a nice way to relax after a days diving.

Diving with Evolution Diving was superb. We saw the thresher sharks and dived Gato Island which was incredible!! Highly ecommended!

All in all Malapascua was an incredible island and if you want luxury there the Legend is a good choice!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holidayjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I generally do not spend this much on a resort during a dive trip, but this was packaged with my dive by Seaquest Dive Centre. But I'll say it was worth the money.

Nice big, comfy rooms, with 2 big beds enough for 4 people. Big bathroom, no tub but a big shower area. Both room and bathroom allows a lot of natural light to enter, with blackout curtains for the room (so you can sleep in). It's not a big resort, so the hotel's restaurant is only a short walk away. But, the minibar's prices aren't any higher than the restaurant anyway.

Tap at your doorstep allows you to wash sand off your feet before entering your room, or for washing dive equipment.

Resort is only 6 months old, opened in Oct 2010. But the staff were adequately competent and efficient. Only had one miscommunication with them, they prepared an extra set of breakfast for our 4 am dive. O ya! They were more than willing to pack a sandwich for us to bring onto our dive boat in place of the breakfast served in the restaurant.

Do note the tap water is salt water. But they provide a jug of fresh water for brushing your teeth.

Extra tip: A memorable portion of the trip for me was when our dive master brought us around the village for a "tour". Almost seems a different world just behind the resorts. There are cock fights and open air discos once a week each. And provision shops for cheap beer. (Buy the 1 litre San Miguel) Or just watch the village children play. Shows you the simple days before Play Stations or even Gameboys.

Room Tip: Cheapest SMB we found. (Excl village)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PinYiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed for 1 week at the Legend and had a great time. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom was new and clean. The room was big and great for 2 adults and 2 children - but it was not cleaned the entire week. (We cleaned the bathroom and swept the floors, not a big deal but still..)
The staff were really friendly and it was great to have a nice central dining area where we hung out on the one rainy day we had.
They set up transfers from the airport for very reasonable prices (beware of scamming ferry men at the dock though who charge you to carry your bag about 4 feet and then charge for the bag transfer and the people transfer separately when it's already included in price! This is not the hotel's fault.)
Lovely new pool and great pizzas and shakes!
Try to negotiate prices though - we got 4 breakfasts included in our rate which was much less than advertised.
Great central position on main beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The food is overpriced and terrible even by Philipino standards, the hotel itself is unorganized and it takes forever to get anything done.

The worst part is that the hotel lied to me and ruined my entire vacation. Do not stay at this hotel all they care about is stealing from you!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank primo23k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malapascua Island hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Like many places along the beach, Legends is newly built (or rebuilt). With a huge pool nearly complete and a popular restaurant with entertainment, this is destined to be a very popular place. Rooms are large and very comfortable and well decked out. The staff are super friendly and helpful, and manager Manuel was always around to assist with a warm handshake and a friendly smile. As it was a soft opening there were still some kinks they were working out, but none of this distracted from our stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuchridEucrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Legend

Property: Malapascua Legend
Address: Bounty Beach | Daan Bantayan, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Legend 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua Island is situated two and a half hours away by car and four hours away by bus from the city of Cebu. A barangay of the town of Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island takes pride in its world class diving spots and pristine white sand beaches. It is widely referred by locals as the "Boracay of Cebu." As a diving destination, Malapascua Island has become known for its beautiful coral gardens and excellent local dive spots, as well as further out sites like Gato Island, Monad Shoal, and Kemod Shoal. Monad Shoal is an underwater plateau where thresher sharks and manta rays can be seen on a regular basis. The town's name is derived from two Spanish words, "mal" and "pascua", which translated in English means, "bad" and "Easter" or bad Christmas. According to locals, the Spaniards named the island that way after they arrived there on a stormy Christmas. Malapascua Island is a promise of a great dive and a relaxing beach experience, making it a popular travel destination for local and foreign tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malapascua Legend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Legend Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing