We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay here again and again and again!”
Review of Malapascua Legend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malapascua Legend
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again and again and again!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Big room (it has 2 double size beds), nice bathroom with more than enough toiletries (overflowing of shower gel), nice pool (it has a pool bar) great service! Because my flight was a bit early, I had to leave the hotel at 6am and they packed my free brekky for that day!
Beach front.
They change towels everyday.
They clean your room everyday.
They will give you anything that you need (seriously!).
I remember talking to the owner. He was very nice and humble. He was the one who arranged the early preparation of my packed brekky the day before. I wanted to thank him the morning I left but he wasn't up yet. Too bad!
If you feel like staying here, go! You'll love it here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binabanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    59
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
31
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

stayed for 5 nights low season. private pool for guests was lovely. large rooms, good (but loud) aircon! bathroom massive, the size of some rooms we have stayed in. quite expensive for what you get but little availability elsewhere on the island (we had not pre-booked). quite quiet and a number of items on the menu not on due to low season on the whole of malapascua but plently of people willing to massage you! take cash, no atm. great fun....if you buy a snorkel shop around first so you dont get ripped off, 100 peso for the boat over from maya, and there shouldnt be a charge for baggage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Legends Resort is the place to stay in Malapascua Island. It's serene, not crowded, uncommercialized and clean, unlike other islands. We were greeted with a welcome drink by attentive staff. Our luggages were taken care of by the staff as soon as we got off the boat. The spacious rooms were all ready for us, spic & span, and airy. The elegant and huge bathrooms had inlaid shells on the wall and clean and modern. We didn't have to lift a finger at this resort. The great thing about this resort is that we were able to take a crash course in scuba diving at their pool, the afternoon of our arrival. Then, we went scuba diving the following morning and additional 2 dives for the day. This was so convenient as the scuba shop was right in this resort. Our stay included breakfast with a variety to choose from. The kids had pancakes with yummy mango shake while I had rice with corned beef and fresh brewed coffee. The kids who couldn't go scuba got to swim in the pool and on the beach in front of the resort and kayaked too. The staff also arranged an island hopping tour where we stopped at various small islands and went snorkeling. The staff set out a table for our family to have a sunset dinner right on the sand, very cool. Malapascua Legends Resort is the best resort, in the Philippine islands.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKWorldVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price, Legend is the place to be. Also the resort is the only one with a pool which is very nice when the weather does not allow you to enjoy the beach.

Friendly staff, stayed here for 3 nights with 3 other friends in one room. very cozy.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend you try the food from various resorts, the island is small, so try and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I was with a large group that included non-divers. This turned out to be the right choice because it has a swimming pool. The kids loved it and alternated between the beach and pool. Great service. The resort arranged a boat tour around the island – we made a couple of stops to snorkel.

Spacious airconditioned rooms and bath (with hot water). I brought soap because of the review below, but the resort supplied shower gel, soap, shampoo and hair conditioner. We got a room on the ground floor across the pool. Hotel cleaning staff swept our porch more than twice a day, and provided beach towels too.

The staff was accommodating and flexible. At our request, they set up tables on the beach where we had a dinner of grilled tuna, noodles and chicken … and mango juice. We brought our own wine and they waived corkage. Food preparation took awhile, so best to order in advance.

Dive shop (Seaquest) is a few steps from the reception. Seaquest arranged a few dives, including Monad Shoal. We saw one thresher shark that day. The divemaster, Luwil, was safety-conscious and knowledgeable. He spotted a crown of thorns starfish and pointed out small marine creatures to us.

Certainly a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludeleo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Malapascua Legend might be the only resort on the island with a swimming pool, but that's about the only positive thing I have to say about it!

The rooms are outdated and scruffy- quite surprising when you consider it is the most expensive resort on the island.

The floor of the room was dirty- I don't think the cleaners ever wash it. During our 3 night stay, they didn't change our sheets. And they for some reason removed the container for my contact lenses that I had placed near the sink in the bathroom...

Staff overall was slow, arrogant almost rude.

The food in the restaurant was horrible and we ended up not even having the breakfast that was included.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denmarkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malapascua Island hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it suited our needs well. We had originally travelled to Malapascua to stay in huts on a beach and relax on a quiet beach. The original place we had booked misled us with regards to what the room offered which was a shame so after a terrible nights sleep we walked up the beach to find Malapascua Legend. The staff were immediately welcoming and found us a room that suited our needs in no time. The room was large, clean and the airconditioning worked well. The large pool in the centre of the premises came in handy as the beach was quite busy in the afternoons and the low tide made it difficult to swim after 3pm. So we could snorkel and swim with our son thoroughout the day all over the island and spend the late afternoons by the pool relaxing. The place is well set up for families and they provide many extra services that other small hotels on malapasuca do not provide. Malapascua Legend provided a 20Ltr container of water in the room for guests to use for drinking and brushing your teeth and provided a hot water urn in the restaurant to use to make coffee and tea in your room. Our room wasn't cleaned the whole time of our visit, but perhaps you need to ask to have your room cleaned. It wasn't ideal but didn't take away from our stay.

Room Tip: we got a room at the front so we could have a view of the beach from our verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Legend

Property: Malapascua Legend
Address: Bounty Beach | Daan Bantayan, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Legend 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua Island is situated two and a half hours away by car and four hours away by bus from the city of Cebu. A barangay of the town of Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island takes pride in its world class diving spots and pristine white sand beaches. It is widely referred by locals as the "Boracay of Cebu." As a diving destination, Malapascua Island has become known for its beautiful coral gardens and excellent local dive spots, as well as further out sites like Gato Island, Monad Shoal, and Kemod Shoal. Monad Shoal is an underwater plateau where thresher sharks and manta rays can be seen on a regular basis. The town's name is derived from two Spanish words, "mal" and "pascua", which translated in English means, "bad" and "Easter" or bad Christmas. According to locals, the Spaniards named the island that way after they arrived there on a stormy Christmas. Malapascua Island is a promise of a great dive and a relaxing beach experience, making it a popular travel destination for local and foreign tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malapascua Legend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Legend Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing