We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No real customer service”
Review of Malapascua Legend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malapascua Legend
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No real customer service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Was my second time to stay in Legends in Malapascua. Unfortunately the first time experience was better compared to this time. Stayed in a super deluxe room and the room is quite big. Too bad there were so many Mosquitos sharing the room with us. Shower didn't work properly. Aircon was working but is rather noisy. TV/cable channel didn't work at all since the hotel didn't pay their prepaid load early enough so that the cable TV stopped working for 2 days. As it was raining, we asked to borrow an umbrella -but they didn't have any and also didn't try to help out somehow.
Food is also not really to be recommended.
Next time will stay in a different hotel in Malapascua.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramero D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    59
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed there overnight and stayed at the native room. The rooms smells as if its not touched for centuries. We asked for air freshener waited for hours and we are just informed that they don't have air freshener. The air-con on the native room is not working well..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is situated in front of the beach itself. It has its own pool where you can swim after enjoying the beach. The rooms are big and good enough for 4 to 5. The restaurant inside the hotel is just okay. We looked around the area and I can say that the hotel is one of the best in the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia Monina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This beach hotel is pretty OK for the island. We went there for diving, so did not need too much of comfort. The rooms are large, they have aircon and are reasonably clean. The showers are OK, but the water is a little bit salty. The hotel has it's own swimming pool which looked appreciated by other guests (I did not try it). They have several options for the breakfast, all of them based on eggs (omlette, fried, scrambled, etc.) After 4 days, it was a little too much... They also organise all kind of shows for dinner, which may be a little to noisy for people staying closer to the beach. Personnel is OK, they are helpful, but not that friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor and a little bit further from the beach are more quiet. The view is pretty much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romulanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. The room was large and had A/C (a bit noisy) and a good sized bathroom with hot water. The room was fairly clean with some old stains on the bed sheets. We were provided with fresh towels every day. The hotel has a good sized pool and is located right on the beach. The breakfast options were OK and the dinner restaurant was decent as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acostin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

In comparison to other resorts on the island this one is nice and is has it's own pool. Rooms are average but with spacious showers. Can be loud with local animals and randomly with people driving up on their mopeds and diving into the pool in the middle of the night?! Staff are friendly but we had problems with our bus transfer. Nice beach space but beds could be more comfortable. With a bit more TLC and help to restore itself after the disaster this will be back to being a smart resort I'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent 6 nights here with a group of 10 people, occupying 6 rooms- 5 Super Deluxe rooms & 1 Native room. The rooms were large & all overlooked the pool, which even though you are right on the beach, it was still nice to have that luxury & option. The Super Deluxe rooms are air conditioned, all have refrigerators (not all of them working!), great showers & located next to the best dive shop on the island...Sea Quest.

The staff were always attentive if at times a bit slow & the food was ok & adequate but with the island being so small it was easy to wander & find great food (check out Ging Ging's & help support their rebuild). Breakfast is included in the room price but it took a couple of mornings to work out the there was a choice of options with the food

Given the price range, we would stay here again but would plan our transfers a bit smarter. You are in for a 5 hour drive & up to 20 to 30 minute boat trip across to the resort. Subject to tides the transfer could require a small boat ride from the Port of Maya onto the larger traditional banka to cross to the resort, nothing major but be prepared.

The island is slowly rebuilding & there are still families & businesses struggling but given the short amount of time since the typhoon there is still a strong sense of community & pride. This is a beautiful island, if the opportunity arises please visit.

Room Tip: Choose the Super Deluxe rooms & check if the refrigerator works
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocobana Beach Resort
Cocobana Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
102 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Legend

Property: Malapascua Legend
Address: Bounty Beach | Daan Bantayan, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Legend 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua Island is situated two and a half hours away by car and four hours away by bus from the city of Cebu. A barangay of the town of Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island takes pride in its world class diving spots and pristine white sand beaches. It is widely referred by locals as the "Boracay of Cebu." As a diving destination, Malapascua Island has become known for its beautiful coral gardens and excellent local dive spots, as well as further out sites like Gato Island, Monad Shoal, and Kemod Shoal. Monad Shoal is an underwater plateau where thresher sharks and manta rays can be seen on a regular basis. The town's name is derived from two Spanish words, "mal" and "pascua", which translated in English means, "bad" and "Easter" or bad Christmas. According to locals, the Spaniards named the island that way after they arrived there on a stormy Christmas. Malapascua Island is a promise of a great dive and a relaxing beach experience, making it a popular travel destination for local and foreign tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malapascua Legend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Legend Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing