We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms”
Review of MG Matterhorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MG Matterhorn
Reviewed 15 December 2013

good and very clean rooms. Marites the owner is friendly and I will go again there. My room in the top was a bit hot but you have a electric fan and then it was OK. Wi-fi is working well there and it is near the beach. really good and not expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterdiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for MG Matterhorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse was amazingly clean and the owner was very friendly. Good restaurants nearby. The only drawback is the lack of lighting in the paths around the place, suggest a torch is necessary. 2 minute walk from tr beach, ideal for divers who don't want to pay beachfront prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AR_uktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Room was very clean, modern and large. Room also felt very private. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. We stayed in the Air-conditioned room and it worked well. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that there was not hot water or TV(not that either were necessary, but they are sometimes nice amenities to have in a room) and it is a few minutes walk to get to the beach(although the area it was in was nicely forested and beautiful in its own way.
I would definitely stay here again and can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
689MGMatterhorn, Inhaber at MG Matterhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

thanks for the review in TripAdvisor. We hope you visit us again soon and Malapascua. Marites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

These are very modern, spotlessly clean rooms. Actually they're more like small apartments since the rooms are a bit larger than usual and have a sofa and a table and chairs, en suite bathroom. Lots of sparkling white tiles, fluffy white towels, western wc, lockable cabinet for your valuables, high pressure shower (cold water), fan or air con, and the whole room is cleaned with bedding and towel change every 3 days.

We really enjoyed our stay at matterhorn. The owner is very friendly and gave information about the island and arranged for our laundry to be done. The location is very good, close to both beaches, near to the best restaurant in town. Wifi works well (though not from room). Could not ask for more, this place is excellent value.

Do bring a torch for the evening, paths get very dark, and some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper as this island is home to several hundred roosters! There is a cock fight every sunday! Chicken is always on the menu!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Matterhorn is a budget accommodation. The room is very clean, and bedding and towels are changed regularly. The owner Marites is friendly and tries hard to help guests find what they are looking for. It is situated in a fairly quiet location, so one can sleep well. The Wifi worked well, although the connection is a little slow. The Matterhorn is near restaurants and less than a 5-minute walk to the beach. Many dive shops are nearby as well. Bring a flashlight if you want to walk around at night, as the trails are partly unlit, and it can be very dark.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kohp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
689MGMatterhorn, Inhaber at MG Matterhorn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

thanks for the review in TripAdvisor. We hope you visit us again soon and Malapascua. Marites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Werner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MG Matterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MG Matterhorn

Address: Logon Malapascua Island | Daanbantayan/Cebu/Philippines, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £11 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MG Matterhorn is a small Guesthouse in Logon, Malapascua Island, Philippines. Its only 3 min from the Bounty Beach away. The Guesthouse Has only 3 rooms but they are quite spacious with a good European standard. All with private bathroom with power shower, room safe, balcony, window grills. Free WiFi. Two rooms have air con, if you like. The problem for air con is the horrible price of the electricity in Malapascua. If you are using air con whole day, you must pay 500 pesos per day more. If you are using only at night, its cheeper. The room rates are starting from 700 Philippine pesos, fan room, low season until 1300 pesos high season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing