We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and easy-going”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Sand Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you are looking for a whiff of the pre-resort Malascua atmosphere, this is the place to go. The host family is very friendly and helpful, the location is beautiful and relatively quiet, and the bungalows are spacious and charming. The children loved it. Good value for money.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
13  Thank annabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

White Sand was the absolute highlight of our entire stay in The Philippines! We have stayed in many different places over the years but never found anything like these bungalows. Spacious, native, charming with loads of character in a splendid garden and right on the beach. Our two kids just loved the cosy attic that provided us with an extra room upstairs. The big surprise was the big bathroom, it was like walking into a 4-star hotel bathroom! The location is perfect - only a few minutes walk from the tourist traps but in a quiet little cove with sun chairs and hammocks. Exactly the way it is supposed to be but so many times never is. The food was among the best we had in the country and definitively among the cheapest. After a few days we ended up having two meals there daily. The friendly staff was always helpful and very informative. White Sand Bungalows is the kind of place you will never forget in a good way. Our kids are still comparing other places with White Sand, it created a whole new standard with our family.

Room Tip: Maybe you should go for the bungalow called no 9. It has a different kind of window in the attic. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If you want to feel like you are in the philippines and not in a hotel which could be anywhere this is the place to stay! The bungalows are absolutely beautiful but very basic - the shower broke so it was buckets of water for us! With regards to cleanliness the bedding was clean and the floor was clean but had old stains, i assume that is just because of the wood used. there are mosquito nets in the rooms but if you are someone that gets bitten make sure you have insect repellent, I've never been bitten so much as on malapascua! The view from our bungalow was lovely and you get some spectacular sunsets. The boat from Maya drops you at this beach which is very handy! The price was very good at php1100 per night for three people. We only ate breakfast here but that was nice and reasonably priced. Location wise its great, just a few minutes to the nearest shops (including dive shops) and a 5-15min walk to the other beach resort with lots of restuarants and dive shops. All in all a great place to stay on malapascua.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank love_to_travel689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A perfect location for relaxing, the resort is located on the beach but on the opposite side to bounty beach which means that it is quiet and you get most of the beach to yourself. relax in a hammock or on sun beds... order drinks and shakes that are served on the beach.
Bounty beach with all the big resorts and restaurants is just a 2 minutes walk away.
The staff is friendly and the food is good and cheap. The best restaurant on malapascua is the neighbor,(Angelina - an Italian restaurant)
We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Patrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went to Malapascua on February 2013 during the Chinese New Year break. The island was packed with divers and tourists however White Sand Bungalows is located on Bounty beach, a less crowded area of the island. Because of its relative isolation and closeness to the village we were able to meet the locals and enjoy excellent and affordable restaurants. Run by a frlendly family, who took a good care of our trip from Cebu to Malapascua, we experienced a simple way of living in plain traditional bungalows with a private terrace facing the sea and nutritious breakfast made of omelettes, veggies, bread and pancakes. The simplicity of this address made our stay in Malapascua even more authentic and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Marie Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at White Sand Bungalows for Xmas 2012. We arrived in the middle of the night by car+boat which the owners, Kurt & Kiza, had arranged for us.

We did the booking via mail from home, which is recommendable during the peak season as the resort is very popular. Remember to bring cash - there's no ATM on the island and for most parts cards are not accepted.

Rooms and food: The rooms are basic - but the price is resonable and includes a very nice breakfast. We also had Christmas dinner at the resort along with some of the other guests - it was very good food and included some of the biggest shrimps we have ever seen.

Staff: The staff and owners are very nice and helpfull.

Location: The major upside for us was the location. It's just around the corner from Bounty Beach, but is located on a more private beach which means more peace and quite. Bars and happy hour is just a five minute walk away - so you are close to everything and still able to lay on the beach all by yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Annelise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Set within a pretty enclosed garden on the beach, my initial impression of White Sands was positive. I had pre-booked 10 days in the cheapest room but quickly extended this to 17 nights. My room was attached to the main house and I was suprised at how cool it was. The majority of the time it was cool enough to not even use the fan at night and provided a refreshing sanctuary from the daytime heat. The staff were friendly and accommodating, even bringing me Ginger tea when I was unwell. I would not hesitate in recommending White Sands. Although basic, it offers everything one would need at a reasonable price. Thanks guys, had a great time staying with you and will be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Gkwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sand Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sand Bungalows

Address: Logon | Daan Bantayan, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £8 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Sand Bungalows is one of Malapascua's pioneer beach resorts. Still family run by local islanders under European supervision we strive to maintain the original laid back ambience of innocent palm fringed paradise. For the comfort of families and groups of friends all bungalows have a 12 square meters attic. There are a total of 40 sq. m. floor space in each of our bungalows. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing