We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are many reasons why I keep coming back, quality outfit all around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evolution Diving Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There are many reasons why I keep coming back, quality outfit all around!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is now the third time I've been to Malapascua to dive with Matt, Dave and the team at Evolution and once again I left hoping it would not be too long before I could return.

Dave and Matt's operation manages to perfectly walk the fine line between utter professionalism while maintaining the laid back attitude that you would expect from a dive shop located literally right on an amazing white sand beach of an idyllic tropical island.

The facilities at Evolution are first rate, and the staff are a credit to themselves and Evolution. The local dive guides really are freaks, how they manage to spot the critters they do is astounding. Thanks in particular to Gino and Jo Jo; diving with you guys is such a pleasure.
The boat drivers and boat boys are always smiling while going to extra mile to help you in and out of the water, and the restaurant/bar staff, well lets just say they can be a little too efficient at replacing your ice cold beer at times. The food is also great!

If you're planning a trip to Malapascua do youself a favour and check Evolution out, you won't be dissapointed.

Once again a big thank you to the entire team at Evolution, until next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanegrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    51
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
52
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Took my first ever diving class and got my PADI Open Water at Evolution with the best instructor (Kelly). Ask for her. She's great. The dive facilities were great, we got to see thresher sharks, lots amazing reefs (go to Gato Island). If I go back I will stay at Evolution again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

I took an AN/DP tech diving course with David. In just 4 days he has helped me improve my diving inmensly. I have learned so much about self-reliant diving and am now able to properly explain dive plans with their mathematical reasoning

The standards of safety and correctness at Evolution are higher than anywhere in the world i've been in 15 years of diving.

In short: If you want to dive with the best then dive with Evolution

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Evolution diving is relaxed atmosphere, personal attitude and professional staff that will do their best to make your diving a memorable experience. Treasure sharks, a lot of macro sealife, and amazing reefs (especially Gato Island)! I strongly recommend them and would definitely stay at their bungalows.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckaBadzLudzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Evolution Diving is located in a very nice and quiet part of the island, but still close enough to the main bars and terraces. It is also the same place as Craic House, the best restaurant of the island.

There are only 4-8 rooms (I think they were building a couple new ones), and they are perfectly located, next tot he diving center and in front of the restaurant (where you also have breakfast before the morning dives).
There is aboard where you subscribe yourself to the different dives, and there is always someone around to help or answer questions.

Don't miss the very early Thresher shark dive!

Room Tip: If you go after Jan/Feb take one of the rooms with airco, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maastricht_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Fan room was basic and clean. Bathroom is dated, shower head should be cleaned or replaced.

The restaurant serves good food. It takes some time, until the meals (especially breakfast) are served. It also happened, that you sit down in the restaurant and nobody pay attention to you. When I went to the bar to place my order, staff member told me “I thought you only would like to sit there and listen to the music”…
It happened twice that food and beverages were charged twice and I was not sure, if this error occurred really unintentional.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The perfect combination of laid back atmosphere coupled with a well organised and run dive centre.

Since living in Singapore I have taken the opportunity to escape the city as many times as possible (mostly for diving brakes). This means I have seen a fair bit of what south east asia has to offer, but I must say that Malapascua still managed to surprise me with it's friendly locals and chilled out atmosphere.

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay than evolution dive resort.
My room was new, clean with hot water and everything I could have wished for. The Staff where all extremely friendly and I was impressed how they made the effort to remember my and my partners names (it is the little touches that make the difference).

The same goes for the dive centre, a full equipped technical dive facility with well maintained gear and gas blending (nitrox recommended for the Thresher shark dives).
The boat men and dive guides are again very friendly and know what they are doing when it comes to spotting the amazing macro life Malapascua has to offer.

All in all I can only recommend this place!

P.S. the food is also top notch... however I must stick with my guns and say "it is not a cocktail unless it comes with a straw!"

Thank you to every body that made our stay fantastic and memorable.

Room Tip: The "garden" fan rooms seem to be newer and are only 15 meters from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBargielowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evolution Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evolution Diving Resort

Property: Evolution Diving Resort
Address: Malapascua, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Evolution Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evolution is small and friendly owner operated resort that provides everything you could need to enjoy Malapascua's great diving. We have 16 rooms with a choice of AC or Fan, all within a short distance from our golden white sand beach. The resort is home to one of the most highly rated restaurant on the island, where you'll find food for all palates, and a great selection of vegetarian dishes as well. Just let us know what you need to make your trip great and we'll do our best to make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Evolution Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing