We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, budget-friendly, quiet place”
Review of Dano Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dano Beach Resort
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The thing I like most about this resort is that it is right in front of Bounty Beach and distant from the restaurants/bars..away from the hustle and bustle of the island. Rooms are basic - with simple bed, a/c, mirror, dresser, and only have cold shower. They have a restaurant and offer free breakfast but there are other better restaurants in the area (I recommend Purple Snapper, Ocean Vida, and Sun Splash). If you'd like to roam around the island, island hop, or go to snorkeling sites, pump boats are available to rent. They don't change sheets and clean rooms daily unless you ask them. Staffs are friendly and nice though. Will definitely stay here every time I visit Malapascua.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

Service is kind and always very prompt. Are always able to help you with the ferries etc. The accommodation itself is very simple yet comfortable. The showers is cold and the water was barely running out of it. Also the fan was quite loud in the ceiling as it was circulating through out the nights. Otherwise, like I said, for great for travelers on a budget, especially for friends who can take a cabin for more people. Right by the beach! I was really satisfied!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKtripper_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Clean room with fan, situated right on the beach -- loved being served breakfast on my own personal veranda looking out onto the ocean. Friendly, responsive and helpful staff -- from setting up my stay via email and coordinating overland transport from Cebu to Maya/boat transport from Maya right up to Dano's front door, to greeting me personally upon arrival and recommending a local dive shop (Fun & Sun -- far more personal than the other larger dive shops in the area), my experience was top-knotch.

Hope to be back to try out the restaurant (under renovation while I was there) next time!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 11 -- right up front, facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shsiao05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My only major problem with this resort is the huge boat (owned by the resort) that rests between the cottages and the beach and blocks the view.

Other then that, its very very good. Room was spacious, bright, and simple. Nothing but a bed, fan, table and a mirror (and a cold shower/bathroom) - but who needs more ? Room is right infront of Bounty Beach, probably around its best section, you open the door, and its right there - the sea. You even get a small balcony - a good place to read, eat, drink or daydream.

When I was there they were renovating the restaurant, but you could still get breakfast (included in the room price) which was pretty. Didn't need much while I was there, but staff (well, one lady), was very helpful and nice.

Room rates are pretty cheap, considering what you get - and comparing to other resorts in the area.

Btw, no WiFi.

When I come back to Malapascua, I definitely go back to Dano.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank NimoDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and were more than satisfied. Our room was very basic with a fan and cold water (1100 per night, including breakfast), but with a perfect view to the beach from our terrace. And most importantly it was very quiet there. The restaurant was under construction when we were there but there was very little inconvenience since our wonderful hostess Shirill came in the morning to get our orders and brought us our breakfast to enjoy at our own terrace.

There was only a little walk from Dano to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive center (& hotel & restaurant) which is an excellent 5 star place to do your dives with the best. And the restaurant there is also very good, with a varied menu, great shakes and drinks and a chilled-out atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geddy_Hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The site on which Dano is located is huge! Most rooms are close to the beach front with balconies looking out to sea. The fan rooms are 1500 pesos and are good value for money. Rooms with A/C are however just as basic and overpriced at 2800 peso+.

Our room had ants everywhere and we asked to move but then lost our lovely balcony which was closet to the beach.

The staff are relaxed but helpful enough. Breakfast was okay and included in the price.

All in all a good, basic place to stay and located at the quieter end of the main beach.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Check out this place... Value for your money, their rates are fair no overpricing! We stayed in the Island for 5 days. Perfect for quality time with your loved ones... You can simply enjoy your privacy here... A nice place to catch the beauty of SUNRISE! You will surely have a good night sleep here away from the crowd... A lot of fishermen around so you can buy seafoods as early as 7am. And their rooms are just few minutes away from the beach - so lovely! Nice location...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADPisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Celtis Resort
Hotel Celtis Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
38 reviews
0 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
187 reviews
0 mi away
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort
#2 of 14 in Malapascua Island
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
575 reviews
0 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
259 reviews
0 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dano Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dano Beach Resort

Address: Bounty Beach | Malapascua Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £15 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Dano Beach Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing