We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High prices and noises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangrove Oriental Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High prices and noises”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The resort rooms are on sides of a hill, and the reception with restaurant is on top of it. You get daily exercise with the steep paths. They grow dozen noisy roosters on yard, which guarantees early wake ups plus random noise any time. There are some breakfast options with daily fresh fruits. Juice costs extra. Meal prices were about double of other resorts, the same difference even with drinking water fills.
The resort is 10-15 minutes walk through a local village from the dive shops in south end of island.
The "DC Cottage" is an apartment block on 2 floor concrete building. It has nothing to do with cabin type of accommodation.

Room Tip: If you dive, try to get room at dive village instead. Choose DC Cottages only if you love roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed here in december 2009.

I was the only one on the resort, had the beach cottage, and loved it. The resort has two coves, amazing gardens and grounds. They also have chickens, little dogs running around (friendly enough).

Not sure if Josephine still owns this property, but I found her to be a very warm and informative host. Make sure you check out the 360 degree upper balcony on the main building, it has the best view of the entire island!

If you go here, take the Kayak out and stick to the shoreline, in between the two coves is a rock formation, that has a small beach. You want complete isolation, and quiet, welcome to your own private beach!

The main beach is 15 minute walk away. I really liked being away from the main beach. In order to get there you had to walk through their small town, which I found rather enjoyable.

There were no thefts, and the island is very safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erristattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Positives - OK cottage, hot water and good sunset views.

Negatives - Wrong room allocation, cold breakfast buffet, same CD on loop in restaurant and long waits for poor quality and expensive meals.

Tip - If you need to find management, you will find it slumped in the bar sofas watching videos.

Advice - a little effort goes a long way.

Room Tip: Don't let them fob you off with anything other than a beach cottage or hillside cottage. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My partner and I stayed in Mangrove Oriental during our Easter holiday and we had the best time. We chose to stay in Mangrove because of its location. It's far enough from the busy Bounty Beach so we got the privacy and relaxing atmosphere, which was our main reason for choosing Malapascua (neither of us are divers and sightseeing/relaxation was our main reason for going to the island). The Bounty Beach was accessible by foot, it took us less than ten minutes to get there.

The highlights of the resort are the following: (1) Fantastic location -- Mangrove is in a unique location in that it is situated in the highest point in the island, giving guests the best view of Malapascua from the hilltop restaurant. It also has access to 2 private coves, a lagoon, forest trek and lovely gardens. Even though it's not near the Bounty Beach, it offers something different that other resorts do not have (2) tasteful interiors -- we got a beach cottage and we were pleasantly surprised with the way it was decorated with pretty oriental cabinets and other trinkets. The newly refurbished restaurant/reception was also charming. It's obvious that whoever decorated the resort's interiors had a well-thought out aesthetic framework (3) Excellent food -- seafood was fresh and absolutely delicious. Staff member Wendy gave us a "farewell dessert" of banana, limoncello and rum. We appreciate such thoughtful gestures.

I cannot comment on the security of the place but we were able to leave our laptops, cameras and cellphones inside our room/cottage without anyone taking them. The housekeeping staff also took the initiative to watch over our luggage which we left outside the cottage as we settled our bill at the reception.

The resort can further improve by: (1) providing better meals when dining outside the resort. We were given sandwiches as part of our island tour package, perhaps they can offer something more substantial. Some resorts (i.e. in Palawan, Bicol) have their boat crew double as chef and prepare/serve meals onsite (grill some fish/seafood in the island) while guests explore/swim. (2) giving divers the option to claim their 'free' breakfast after their dive. As divers usually leave early, they are not able to avail of the breakfast which is served until 10am only. (3) more economical transfers -- one of the pricier components of our trip was the transfer, it cost us 4,500 pesos (one way) to travel from the Mactan Airport to the island. If the cost cannot be lessened, perhaps the resort can organise a "carpool system" where guests from the resort (or other resorts for that matter) and coordinate and leave at the same time to lessen the cost. (4) Having a designated staff member discuss the guests' activities during their stay (a sort of activities coordinator) and give some tips on timetabling.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Mangrove. Josephine was an engaging host while the rest of the staff members, though shy, were generally competent, helpful and pleasing.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SabineStrohem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I went there despite reading the previous reviews about people having stuff stolen at there, so you can imagine i was a bit apprehensive. But my stay there was without incident. My room had a safe where I could keep my valuables, so I didn't have to carry them around. What everyone says about resort being secluded is true - although only in the relative sense. It's a good 15 walk to the main bounty beach, but it's not completely cut off. the resort has its own private beach where you can relax away from the other holidaygoers if you are feeling anti-social. The restaurant is very nicely decorated with various Asia motif and it serves a limited but well prepared and well presented menu of both local and international foods. As an added bonus, it is open (usually) until 10pm.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turelchemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidkoping
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

If you are looking for a calm and quiet Hotel, Mangrove is definitely right.
It takes about 10 minutes to walk through the small village to get to the "main beach" where all the other hotels, bars and restaurants are.
If you don't mind walking it is a great get away from the "crowd".

+ sides for Mangrove:
The rooms are great
The Breakfast is decent
We enjoyed the calm and quiet private beach

- sides:
There was no cleaning unless you gave them the key, apparently there is only 1 key to the room.

Their internet was not available unless they were forced to go into town to grab a computer (we chose not to force them) hehe

The restaurant could not serve everything from their "menu", they even asked us during day time if we planned on eating (we guess it was because they needed to purchase the food if so). It even closed earlier then stated in case they didn't have any guests.

We were basically all alone and never felt any pressence of the staff, we saw them at morning and sometimes at daytime but not very service minded even if we and 2 others where the only guests for a full week.

All in all, if you are looking for a calm and quiet place of your own where you basically feel all alone this is great :)

If you don't like to walk 10-15 minutes to get to the main beach and restaurants every day then this is not for you. If you like a place with a bar, music, great food and overall "cosyness" this is not for you.

We think that this Hotel probably have seen it's glory days but it has now turned into an empty resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxDahlbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woerden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Beautiful surroundings but easy to break into as we discovered after a couple of days. Double locks on doors (of which only one was working) are useless if windows are impossible to lock. As we discovered after theft of our brand new camera (and 10 days worth of holiday pictures) during dinnertime. Although most of our valueables were inside the safety deposit box, it was too small to hold the camera and lens. Of course we immediately warned the manager, but no visible action was taken to find the perpetrator that same night. Which would have been easier than wait for the Cebu police in the morning since it is a very remote island. Next evening we had to endure 'CSI Malapascua'...and guess what: a lot of fingerprints (it wasn't that clean) but nothing useful was found.
And although the former owner was very friendly, we found the staff not very helpful at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malapascua Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Oriental Resort

Property: Mangrove Oriental Resort
Address: Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Oriental Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mangrove Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Oriental Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing