We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mangrove Oriental Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Although accomodation is somewhat decent, I find the restaurant, a good up-the-hill hike, below an average experience. The breakfast were always cold and poorly cooked and presented. Service seemed always OJT (on the job trainee) missing utensils and condiments. Having been an established resort for many years, I expected the service, accomodation and food to be more refined as was presented...truly a disappointing experience!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank narcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Mangrove Oriental Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

My fiancé Oliver and I stayed at the Mangrove for a week over the Christmas period and it was a thoroughly enjoyable, peaceful stay! The manager Wendy is super friendly, staff are helpful and the beach cottage accommodation is lovely, spacious and clean with, a lovely view down at the private beach. The gardens on the hillside also provide lovely accommodation, although the chickens can be rather loud! The resort is within close reach of local amenities, dive shops and restaurants, perfect for divers wanting a secluded and relaxing getaway on the island.

Room Tip: The beach cottages are quiet and spacious, with easy access to the private beach
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emalou67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The resort rooms are on sides of a hill, and the reception with restaurant is on top of it. You get daily exercise with the steep paths. They grow dozen noisy roosters on yard, which guarantees early wake ups plus random noise any time. There are some breakfast options with daily fresh fruits. Juice costs extra. Meal prices were about double of other resorts, the same difference even with drinking water fills.
The resort is 10-15 minutes walk through a local village from the dive shops in south end of island.
The "DC Cottage" is an apartment block on 2 floor concrete building. It has nothing to do with cabin type of accommodation.

Room Tip: If you dive, try to get room at dive village instead. Choose DC Cottages only if you love roosters.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed here in december 2009.

I was the only one on the resort, had the beach cottage, and loved it. The resort has two coves, amazing gardens and grounds. They also have chickens, little dogs running around (friendly enough).

Not sure if Josephine still owns this property, but I found her to be a very warm and informative host. Make sure you check out the 360 degree upper balcony on the main building, it has the best view of the entire island!

If you go here, take the Kayak out and stick to the shoreline, in between the two coves is a rock formation, that has a small beach. You want complete isolation, and quiet, welcome to your own private beach!

The main beach is 15 minute walk away. I really liked being away from the main beach. In order to get there you had to walk through their small town, which I found rather enjoyable.

There were no thefts, and the island is very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erristattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Positives - OK cottage, hot water and good sunset views.

Negatives - Wrong room allocation, cold breakfast buffet, same CD on loop in restaurant and long waits for poor quality and expensive meals.

Tip - If you need to find management, you will find it slumped in the bar sofas watching videos.

Advice - a little effort goes a long way.

Room Tip: Don't let them fob you off with anything other than a beach cottage or hillside cottage. If you...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My partner and I stayed in Mangrove Oriental during our Easter holiday and we had the best time. We chose to stay in Mangrove because of its location. It's far enough from the busy Bounty Beach so we got the privacy and relaxing atmosphere, which was our main reason for choosing Malapascua (neither of us are divers and sightseeing/relaxation was our main reason for going to the island). The Bounty Beach was accessible by foot, it took us less than ten minutes to get there.

The highlights of the resort are the following: (1) Fantastic location -- Mangrove is in a unique location in that it is situated in the highest point in the island, giving guests the best view of Malapascua from the hilltop restaurant. It also has access to 2 private coves, a lagoon, forest trek and lovely gardens. Even though it's not near the Bounty Beach, it offers something different that other resorts do not have (2) tasteful interiors -- we got a beach cottage and we were pleasantly surprised with the way it was decorated with pretty oriental cabinets and other trinkets. The newly refurbished restaurant/reception was also charming. It's obvious that whoever decorated the resort's interiors had a well-thought out aesthetic framework (3) Excellent food -- seafood was fresh and absolutely delicious. Staff member Wendy gave us a "farewell dessert" of banana, limoncello and rum. We appreciate such thoughtful gestures.

I cannot comment on the security of the place but we were able to leave our laptops, cameras and cellphones inside our room/cottage without anyone taking them. The housekeeping staff also took the initiative to watch over our luggage which we left outside the cottage as we settled our bill at the reception.

The resort can further improve by: (1) providing better meals when dining outside the resort. We were given sandwiches as part of our island tour package, perhaps they can offer something more substantial. Some resorts (i.e. in Palawan, Bicol) have their boat crew double as chef and prepare/serve meals onsite (grill some fish/seafood in the island) while guests explore/swim. (2) giving divers the option to claim their 'free' breakfast after their dive. As divers usually leave early, they are not able to avail of the breakfast which is served until 10am only. (3) more economical transfers -- one of the pricier components of our trip was the transfer, it cost us 4,500 pesos (one way) to travel from the Mactan Airport to the island. If the cost cannot be lessened, perhaps the resort can organise a "carpool system" where guests from the resort (or other resorts for that matter) and coordinate and leave at the same time to lessen the cost. (4) Having a designated staff member discuss the guests' activities during their stay (a sort of activities coordinator) and give some tips on timetabling.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Mangrove. Josephine was an engaging host while the rest of the staff members, though shy, were generally competent, helpful and pleasing.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SabineStrohem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I went there despite reading the previous reviews about people having stuff stolen at there, so you can imagine i was a bit apprehensive. But my stay there was without incident. My room had a safe where I could keep my valuables, so I didn't have to carry them around. What everyone says about resort being secluded is true - although only in the relative sense. It's a good 15 walk to the main bounty beach, but it's not completely cut off. the resort has its own private beach where you can relax away from the other holidaygoers if you are feeling anti-social. The restaurant is very nicely decorated with various Asia motif and it serves a limited but well prepared and well presented menu of both local and international foods. As an added bonus, it is open (usually) until 10pm.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turelchemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocobana Beach Resort
Cocobana Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
104 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Oriental Resort

Address: Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: £21 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Oriental Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mangrove Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Oriental Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing