We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very familiar and professional resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocobana Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very familiar and professional resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The bungalow was in a top condition, very clean and everything (shower/hot water/toilet flush/aircon/fan) worked very well.
The staff was very friendly and give you the feeling, you stay in a big family.
Everything you wanted to know, has been answered by Freddy in a very friendly and professional way and all the tips were very helpful and good.
The organization of tours/boot transfers/reloading of the cell phone card worked very well.
The food was very delicious. We could recommend this accommodation, thanks to all of the staff, for our nice and familiar stay with you.
Claudia&Ricardo

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    42
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We spent a great long weekend at this beach front resort. Our air conditioned bungalow looked across a garden and right at the white sandy beach. It was a perfect place for relaxation and forgetting the streets of daily life. The breakfast was passable, the staff very friendly and helpful. Great views from the upstairs balcony bar. We road the resort's local boat back for 100Pesos, the same price we had paid on the way over on a very overloaded boat. Lucky I guess. I would recommend this resort but PLEASE avoid the MAGELLAN RESTAURANT down the beach. Poor, extremely slow service and a condescending attitude about it all.

Room Tip: Bungalows A and B have a great view and veranda from which to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

the rooms are clean and big! the abviance was nice and homey...so relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noperfectme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Cocobana is a nice little hotel with a wide range or rooms to suit all budgets. We had a partial view fan room which was ok, the only thing was it was right next to the hotel next door's kitchen so at 6.30am we could hear them thrashing pots and pans.

The restaurant has had an overhaul, it has a great view from the 2nd floor. Pity the food isn't any good. We had 1 breakfast and 1 lunch there but it wasn't good value or very nice food. For the best food on the island, go off the beach. La Isla Bonita has the best food in our opinion, we ate there most nights. If you want to splash out, go to Angelina's for the best Italian food...awesome. Don't bother treating to yourself to a happy hour cocktail at Sunsplash Resort - theres no alcohol in them, they're just a sugary brightly coloured concoction.

Malapascua has a beautiful beach and the water is fantastically clear. Definitely worth the 4 hour bus and 1 hour boat ride from Cebu

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raydi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Unfortunatelly, we never made it to Cocobana beach resort. We booked room via phone and we arranged airport pick-up from Mactan airport to Maya. Everything was going nicely. Then driver asked us if we want to use their private bangka for 1000 PHP and proceed directly to Malapascua or we want to use regular bangka for 50 PHP/pax. According to the driver, maybe we would need to wait for an hour until regular bangka is full and will start journey to Malapascua. As we were very tired (woke up at 2 AM), we decided to take private bangka and that's when fun started.
Due to low tide, only way to reach bangka is by small boats.
Once we climbed onboard bangka, Captain went down without any word of explanation. We were waiting for about 10 minutes and then we started asking other sailor what's going on. He didn't speak English and he couldn't help us. So we continued waiting, and at the end we were waiting for 45 minutes before the Captain came back.
In the meantime 3 regular bangkas left towards Malapascua.
We decided not to continue our trip with this bangka and we wanted to go off and use regular bangka, but Captain was demanding money for the fuel and in one moment he was even saying to another guy:"Give me my gun!". Meanwhile, i was talking to the girl from the reception, but she was also saying that I need to pay and come to Cocobana.
So, at the end we paid 800 PHP to the Captain, we went on another bangka, came to Malapascua and found nice and cheap accommodation at Purple Snapper resort and we never came to Cocobana.
We were passing by every day, but we've never entered to Cocobana. It looks ok, probably service, cleanliness and everything else is not too bad. However, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone due to the fact that their Captain is threatening to the people and treating people badly.
Now, we can't wait to go back to Malapascua, but luckily we don't need to deal with Cocobana at all.
Malapascua island is paradise, especially for divers and there is lot of nice people and we are happy that that first impression didn't ruin our experience of Malapascua.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MladenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malapascua Island hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
459 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Booked a beachfront super deluxe room (3000p). The room is very large – 19’x19’ not including the large bathroom and patio. The room comes with AC, a fridge, table and chairs, desk/makeup table, 21” satellite TV, 2 queen sized beds and sofa (the newer units only have double beds and no sofa). The bathroom has excellent hot water in the sink and shower, though the shower is not enclosed. As elsewhere on the island the water has a high salt content.

The restaurant food is just average. Breakfast is not included and brewed coffee is extra.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We took the rooms without seaview but the rooms are clean and big. Overall the rooms are quite good except its a bit dim even with the lights on.
The water pressure was not strong and sometime there are no water when you turn on the tap or shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celtis Resort
Hotel Celtis Resort
#8 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobana Beach Resort

Property: Cocobana Beach Resort
Address: Bounty Beach | Barangay Logon, Daan-Bantayan, PI-6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cocobana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Beach Cocobana Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing