We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocobana Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good room, great location”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I recently stayed in Cocobana for 10 days in a super deluxe aircon room, and enjoyed my stay alot.

The room I had was extremely spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Cocobana is not the newest resort, some things (in the bathroom for example) are a little bit worn out, but fully functional. Hot water shower worked fine, as did the aircon.
The highlight of the room was the huge balcony with its stunning view of Bounty Beach and the ocean, sunsets included.
There was still some reconstruction work going on in the building next to mine (but almost finished when I left in late February), and the pool wasn't back in use yet. But after the typhoons in the previous months I wouldn't hold that against anyone.

The staff at the reception was always nice and friendly, and helped with any issues or questions I had. Some things might take a little longer there, but I was on island time as well, so it didn't really matter.
The restaurant was only serving breakfast when I was there, which I had booked elsewhere, so I didn't try it. You can get drinks there all day long.
The WiFi is only working in and around the reception area. If it's working or not is always a matter of luck though; Cocobana seemed to have a signal more often then other places on the island when I was there. But be prepared to be without working internet connection for a couple of days as a worst case scenario. Also bring cash in lots of small banknotes if possible, since there is no ATM and many places/persons do not have enough change for the big banknotes.

All in all, Cocobana is a good resort with possibly the best location on Malapascua. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront seaview room if you can, room 'Klivie' has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    49
    30
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

It's a nice place, the rooms are clean and quite big, there is air con (depends which room you will choose) and great view. It's in front of the bounty beach which is amazing , all the trips to the other islands start from there, the water may be a problem but bear in mind you are on an island, its not the hotel's fault. If you want a decent place I recommend Cocobana :-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Rooms are impressively huge. Although didn't understand the restroom design and shower in separate compartments and not really bath "rooms" because they are not enclosed, so it's a bit odd for your room companions when you're in the toilet and you can be seen sitting there only separated in thin blur glass.

Booking was speedy, but speedy because I called and called and called and that was the only way that we had our rooms confirmed. Older lady at the reception needs training to smile and be friendly to guests. Most specially the staff at the small restaurant and the housekeeping, management really had to do something with staff because Cocobana has a good potential to be boom compared to other hotels because they got the best prime beachfront.

Being prime beachfront, it's neither squeezed in to the other hotels where the noise of night disco and bars at night so actually the best location you can find among the hotels.

But when we were there and treated slackly by staff, although rooms were good especially the new ones, we were lured to transfer to other hotels.

Staff busy chit-chatting and flock together while leaving guests' needs. Our friend requested to rent snorkel gears, an hour passed no gears came so we rented outside. They have to be reminded that you need soap in your bathroom. Beds are tough and airconditioning smells musky and old.

Room Tip: Pick the new rooms, not the cabanas although the cabanas got the best seaview. 2-storey new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malapascua Island hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The room I stayed in was basic with a fan and cold shower but it was clean, comfortable, quiet, homey, and all I needed. The garden is beautiful and complete with a duck and beautiful flowers everywhere. It is right on the beach and even my room which was the furthest back on the property was only about 50m to the water. The staff were friendly and always said hello with a smile. My room was cleaned and the bed was made and new towels were provided daily. Wifi did not work for the duration of my stay but I just walked down the beach to Ocean Vida, had a coffee and used their wifi when I needed to. I would return, it was a peaceful spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvvinScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This resort is nice because its right in front of the beach. The swimming pool was just being constructed when we checked in August 2013 and they said it would be finished in a couple of weeks. The place was a bit pricey though and as i walked around I saw many more hotels within the same price range that was much better. The ordering in their restaurant took very long and when I ordered food somewhere else, they charged us for the use of their utensils. There were many cockroaches in the room where we checked in but this was solved by multiple doses of bug spray. We stayed for 3 nights and we didn't encounter anymore insects on the 2nd and 3rd night.

Malapascua though boasts of very good diving... specially when you see the Thresher sharks which are very rare elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Ong1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The thing i like about cocobana is that it is just adjacent to the wharf where the motorized boats would unload the guests. it has an excellent beachfront. it is also near to our favorite restaurant in the island, Ging-ging's (just at the back). They also have a restaurant but we did not eat in their resto coz we had a tight budget. Overall, we had a great experience in malapascua. see more pics in my blog -> www.enchantingphilippines.com

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleofas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The resort is super quiet. The room was very spacious. There is hot water. Both toilet and bathroom door couldn't close properly. I was staying in the room by myself so it didn't bother me. The staff is friendly. Skip breakfast here. Try Malapascua Legend for breakfast instead.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzSleepyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobana Beach Resort

Property: Cocobana Beach Resort
Address: Bounty Beach | Barangay Logon, Daan-Bantayan, PI-6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocobana Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Also Known As:
Bounty Beach Cocobana Hotel Malapascua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing