We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chateau everyone wants to own”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Paterne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The chateau everyone wants to own”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A recent trip for Jackie & Nigel's 10th Anniversary (they were originally married at the chateau) had a group of us staying here - which I most definitely didn't want to leave. I am absolutely sure this is THE place to get married to have a long and happy marriage! This was the most wonderful place to stay with amazing food (the asparagus mousse is to die for and yes you need seconds), beautiful rooms and grounds. I loved my luxurious bath, which I spent time in every day listening to Edith Piaf. It's easy to feel so at home here with the staff and owners (Charles-Henry & Segolene) who take such incredible care of their guests with attention to detail that was second to none. This amazing place will restore your spirit and sense of how life should be lived (i.e. not rushed, with delicious food and wonderful friends). I couldn't leave without a bottle of their delicious Pommeau, a candle that reminds me of the night our group sat by the fire laughing, trying to determine if it was the flowers or candle that smelled so wonderful (it was the candle), and the most fantastically beautiful soap that reminds me of the anniversary weekend. Segolene's history of the chateau was fascinating and I'm so thrilled to have been able to stay there with such interesting and caring owners. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and hope I can return soon.

Room Tip: Loved the Terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leamills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    55
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
71
164
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this is the most beautiful & serene place i have ever had the joy to stay in.
my wife & i got married here with a small group of friends 10 years ago.
we returned this month for our 10 year anniversary with our friends.

the place is as timeless as its owners charles-henry & ségolène de valbray are tireless in making each & every one of their guests feel welcomed & at home.

in ten years they've made many glorious improvements as well as many almost imperceptible ones--the chateau remains the same only better.

it's hard to appreciate the privilege of staying in their home until you've actually experienced it.

each room is unique & lovingly maintained.
the main salons & dining room are a delight to experience.
the cooking of charles-henry is at once grand & light.
he's very knowledgeable about wine & has a wonderful cellar.
& the hospitality is incredibly gracious in every respect.

i hope we shall return one day to celebrate another anniversaire...

Room Tip: all fo the rooms are different--explore them on the hotel's website & choose the one that sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arriving in the sunshine to this fabulous family home, we were greeted by the owners. I asked if they had a ground floor room and they upgraded us to the beautiful Orangerie. AMAZING!!! It was huge, the wallpaper was some old scenery from a theatre in Barcelona,I believe. The Bathroom had steps to lead you to the bath. A cold beer on the terrace before getting ready for dinner. Aperitife at 8 followed by dinner cooked by the owner.That evening an amazing lightening storm leading to a rainy Tuesday. A swim in the recently re-vamped pool (excellent) then dinner with the most delicious duck. A two day stopover and would have loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The Orangerie was Magnificent. I believe all the rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeyjou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a lovely , though sadly very brief stay at this magical chateau...the atmosphere created by the team is perfect ...the dinner was amazing and was a special experience...we can't wait to stay again...thank you so much!

Room Tip: We had the "tours" room in the attic, which was spacious and quirky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthT340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Found the chateau quite by chance and we were delighted by the whole ambience and welcome. We stayed in the King's room with an amazing painted ceiling and delightful balcony overlooking the park. Dinner and drinks by the log fire made for a memorable evening and breakfast a truly French affair with home-made fruit compote and yoghurt.
If only we had time for a second night!

Room Tip: Go for the King's Room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have been coming here for years and have never found the equal to this place. Of course we also enjoy staying in a whole range of accommodation that La Belle France offers but this is the only place we come back to year after year. Do not stay here if you are obsessed with everything being sparkling new but if you appreciate style, atmosphere and warm hospitality this is the place for you. I am not entirely sure how the de Valbrays manage to make everyone's visit so special but they are easy and generous hosts. A night and candlelit dinner at St Paterne refreshes the soul!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerningpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place is really very special. We (me, my wife and my two young children) arrived late after a long drive to this palatial looking building. Even though we were (very very) late - we were welcomed with kindness and considerable hospitality.

And then, the room (Chambre des Canards). Wow. Like something from a romantic novel. Beautifully decorated, and huge, with local produce to sample. And, behind a door, a hideaway bunkbed for the children - which they thoughts was the best thing ever (not least because of the accompanying cuddly toys).

This place really ticked all of my boxes:

- really friendly staff and owners;
- beautiful room and grounds;
- family friendly - kids loved it;
- reasonably priced;
- excellent and very tasty buffet breakfast;
- super peaceful, but very easy to get to.

Room Tip: The website has an excellent facility whereby you can view each room and its position on the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LostLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Paterne
3.0 mi away
Chateau de Sarceaux
Chateau de Sarceaux
#1 of 3 in Valframbert
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Villaines la Juhel
395 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
1.0 mi away
Mercure Alencon
Mercure Alencon
#9 of 11 in Alencon
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Saint Paterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Saint Paterne

Property: Chateau de Saint Paterne
Address: Rue de la Gaiete, 72610 Saint-Paterne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Saint-Paterne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Paterne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Saint Paterne 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Saint Paterne, 4 star hotel, 2km from Alençon, between Loire and Normandy, great stop-over place from Calais to L'île de Ré, Dordogne, Bordeaux, Brittany.and mont saint michel : Luxury hotel, chateau hotel, boutique hotel and private chateau, a special place to stay.Combining comfort and elegance, the luxury chateau de Saint Paterne will also give you the charm of a private chateau ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Saint Paterne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Saint Paterne Hotel Saint-Paterne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing