We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richard Onslow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Richard Onslow
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I would stay again and I would recommend it to friends although it is more expensive than I usually choose it seemed very good value for the area. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - on arrival they took the trouble to take us right to our room and offered to carry luggage. My courtyard room was incredibly spacious with a sofa and chair. Crisp white linen, big fluffy towels, luxury toileteries and a good wi-fi signal all added to the comfort and convenience, but the tea/coffee tray took up all the desk space. I would have liked a bath as well, although the shower was excellent.
Breakfast offered some unusual and delicious cooked options but no fruit. Dinner somewhat disappointing - the roast of the day was heated up prepared slices of meat, which was tender but not freshly carved - the roast potatoes likewise were pre-cooked and reheated so they were crispy hard - would have loved more veg, so actually poor value. Five stars for sourcing welfare-friendly meat though!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms potentially larger and quieter and near the carpark, but main building more characte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi
Thank you for kind review of the Onslow, we are glad that you enjoyed your room and that our staff were friendly and helpful.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your roast dinner with us, our chef is working hard to improve these and please ask for more veg next time, we will be more than happy to provide extra
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    82
    37
    18
    6
See reviews for
57
99
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have eaten here twice now, and there won't be a third time. The prices are huge for what you get, and also poor value, since what you get is mediocre. My 'specials' salad of 'crispy chicken, black sausage and bacon' comprised some leaves, one chopped up slice of black pudding, a few over-cooked bacon cubes and what appeared to be sliced chicken nuggets. It tasted like them. I ordered this as a main course, so the staff simply doubled the price of the starter size, so I paid £15 for something with a total value of about £4. The 'garlic bread' was a sliced-up mini loaf with pats of butter on the side, which had hardly been touched by garlic. There seemed to be portion control over the coffee, since it tasted more like watery Ovaltine. Not impressive. It makes London pricing and food quality even more attractive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi Susan,

I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your recenrt visits to The Onslow, we recieve many good comments about our food. Everything we serve is fresh and of the highest quality hence the prices not being the cheapest
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked having stayed in February. We had quite a long journey to Cranleigh and wanted to arrange a meal for our arrival. Ben was outstanding, calling us to check our expected eta, and ensuring that we would have a meal on our arrival, and ensuring we were looked after throughout our stay. Thank you Ben.

We asked for room 9, which is a Mews House we had had previously, and were not disappointed. The room is well equipped, comfortable and clean. The en-suite shower room is spacious and the toilettries are very good.

We stayed 2 nights, and ate at the pub on both nights. The quality of the food served is exceptional, if a little pricy, but highly recommended. There is an extensive wine list and cocktails.

We would definitely book again if work takes us back to the area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a spacious, quiet room, the room 9 is the one for you. Its not in the pub, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Sharon,
It was a pleasure having you here to stay with us, thank you for the lovely kind review. We look forward to you visiting next time you are in the area
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have been here twice now both with work and it is not a bad place to go but quite expensive for what you get. I wouldn't not go back but it wouldn't be at the top of my list to recommend to friends either. The service at Christmas was good and most of the food came out at the same time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theotherone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor. At The Onslow we only ever serve the good stuff, we like to think that what we offer is a good value for the quality we serve. I am sorry if you didn’t feel this was the case on your visit
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at "The Onslow" before and this year on our annual pilgrimage from Oz to the UK and Europe we stayed a number of times during June and July. The reasoning is quite straightforward - it is simply the best around for quite some distance and we have never been disappointed with the standard of service and quality of the rooms. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a good room on all occasions and during the time we were there the whole team were engaging and were enjoying themselves as well !! ..... especially James from Qld !!
I think it was in 2011 when we first stayed at The Onslow and looking back I would say that the only thing that has dropped off a bit is the food. I think it is not as good now as it was previously, mainly in terms of consistency, as we did have a pretty ordinary fish board one night and at breakfast, the scrambled eggs were a bit hit and miss from time to time (overcooked). Nothing major but enough to drop from Excellent to Very Good. Overall, another pleasant stay and thanks to Stewart, Ben and Camilla for looking after us.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms outback -superb !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozziemozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi
Many thanks for the nice comments, I have passed your compliments onto James, Stewart and Camilla.
I am sorry that you haven’t found the food as consistent as previous visits, I have passed your comments onto our head chef
See you next year
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I were with a wedding party which had booked every room in the hotel. The rooms were excellent and we had a good choice of tasty dishes at breakfast.
However, most of our party had problems with the locks on their doors. In our view the mechanism was faulty in every lock. Ours couldn't be unlocked from the inside - fortunately it was on the latch and we were able to unlock it with the key from the outside. My brother-in-law had the same problem and was unable to get out. It was fortunate that he had his mobile to call us, who in turn called the management to free him. To make matters worse, there were no landlines in our rooms.
We expressed our concerns at reception and received a brusque retort to the effect that the locks were like that at this time of year. False economy in our view !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Trevor,
I am happy that you liked our rooms and breakfast offering. Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems with the locks on the doors. We are now in the process of replacing all of the locks in the rooms to ensure that we have no repeat of the issues you facec
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying this is a review about the restaurant. The waiting staff were delightfully chatty and the wine (me) and beer (hubbie) was great. I was just a bit let down by the food. It is expensive and nothing on the menu is simple- if you are looking for good honest food, served well, this is not the place. I am sure that many like this pretentious food, but, given the traditional village location, it would be nice to add a bit more tradition to the menu. I think that locally sourced, simple food is the way forward for these guys.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Reamitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for you review of The Onslow. I have passed your kind words about the staff onto the team. We like to think that we do offer good honest food alongside our more fancy items. We often offer Beer Battered Fish and Chips on our specials board alongside staples such as our Fishcake and our Roast of the Day

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranleigh
4.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#5 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
6.0 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richard Onslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richard Onslow

Property: The Richard Onslow
Address: 113-117 High Street, Cranleigh GU6 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Cranleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten lovely en suite bedrooms with all the little comforts you’d find at home. Each one’s newly refurbished, and simply but stylishly decorated in keeping with the pub’s age, making the most of original fireplaces, ancient beams & low doorways. Some rooms overlook the hustle and bustle of the high street, others have a view over our sunny patio hidden away at the back of the pub. We have doubles with king-size beds, twins and family rooms. There’s even a box room if you just want somewhere cosy to hole up for the night, plus a fully accessible double room on the ground floor. All of them have really comfy beds, great linen, power showers and lovely toiletries, as well as mod cons like flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WiFi and tea & coffee-making equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Richard Onslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richard Onslow Cranleigh, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing