We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Barn at Alfold

The Barn at Alfold
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Cranleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$46
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very Traditional Family run Restaurant in a 16th Century Oak Beamed Barn. Full of atmosphere and serving food with substance.
crawley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just called in on the off chance early one Friday evening, could not have been more helpful and friendly. Set us a table, beautiful barn, good food and lovely staff. Oh, and a good glass of wine as well. Thank you, will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    46
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worplesdon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hit and miss lunch”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Found this place after looking at other reviews and as only 30mins drive thought we'd give it a go, especially as the interior looked stunning. Entered the small eating/bar area with one other table eating at around 12.40. Went around to the main bar and room - the room itself is stunning, typical barn interior, with a couple of tables taken - a big high ceilinged room to fill. The gentleman asked if we'd booked - we hadn't, and were directed back to the smaller eating area and took a table for two with comfy leather chairs by the inglenook fireplace. Would loved to have eaten in main room just to appreciate this old building but perhaps when much busier. Great bottle of reasonably priced Gavi...decent scampi and chips...husband had the best lamb shanks he'd ever tasted and portions were generous. This is a beautiful building which is untouched by the typical 'gastropub' décor and is unique. Both gentlemen who served us were friendly and service was good. Food v reasonably priced. Would consider returning in colder months when pub is at it's busiest and atmosphere can be most appreciated.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KTHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Familly favorite”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have been coming to the Barn at Alfold for seven years now, the first time with our new two week old daughter. We have always had great food and service at this establishment and have continued to enjoy the Barn on a regular basis and now bring all our family out here on a Sunday for lunch grandparents included, we live about a thirty five minute drive from the Barn so the food has to be good to keep coming back time and again. We really love this place especially in the winter when the have a roaring fire on the go. The staff are great here and always make us feel so welcome, my girls often come up to me and say when are we going back to Carolyn's restaurant daddy as they love it here so much because all the staff especially Carolyn make them feel special and comfortable. Back to the food, The Sunday lunch is delicious as is the whole menu if there is something you particularly fancy and is not on the Menu then Fran the chef will always try and accommodate if you give her a bit of notice. You are always offered more potatoes, Veg, Gravy etc, where else do you find this, also the kids eat for free. We will be back to this restaurant on Sunday, Cant Wait!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottmag m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is fantastic that we are lucky to have such loyal customers. Carolyn said she will have the loom band on. Ha ha.
Once again thank you all for such kind reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a second visit”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Being in the area for a fortnight, we ate at The Barn in the first week and found it so wonderful we returned for seconds!! The food was just as delicious, the family and staff were just as welcoming and we enjoyed the whole experience even more. Thank you. (For the record we ate T-bone veal steak, brisket in red wine, trio of chocolate and cheese board - all faultless.)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayjaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After driving for 4 hours, needed to stop to have a rest and something to eat. Having never eaten here before I was concerned, however when we entered the restaurant we were given a menu to look at to see if there was anything we liked. We decided to stay. The homely atmosphere and food was a pleasant change to some of the other places I have eaten in. The food was homecooked and portion size was definately not an issue with the member of staff asking if we wanted more????. This place is a definate must for those wanting a traditional home cooked meal. Have already booked a table for sunday lunch......and considering I live over 40 miles away, I am looking forward to it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottmag m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you to all our recent customer comments and feedback, it really makes what we do feel worth it.

Carolyn wanted to thank you and say she is looking forward to seeing you soon to help with your choice of roasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn at Alfold also viewed

 
Cranleigh, Surrey
 

Been to The Barn at Alfold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing