We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in Cranleigh”
Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranleigh
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in Cranleigh”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It's Saturday night, the clock has just gone 23.40, and we're lying wide eyes awake in bed, cursing ourselves for not having read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking earlier today.

Outside our window (room 3), rowdy revellers drink into the night, chatting away in drunken voices. Beneath us, a DJ's boombox is vibrating our bed. This might explain why they don't serve dinner on a sat night.

The room is pokey, the pipes make a rattling sound similar to a cat being strangled. The carpet is stained. The decor is ghastly. The threadbare linen dates back to the 70s.

My fiancée and I have stayed in many hotels - this is one of the worst. We've found better youth hostels than this hell hole!

Avoid like the plague - less you want to catch it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    7
    13
    24
See reviews for
6
19
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have never been to somewhere where I was treated so rudely by staff members as this place.

The landlord was ignorant and rude, when I went to the bar for a drink it was a busy night and they stacked up all the seating so that no one could sit down. When a few people asked him if they could sit down he said no it was too busy.
I asked to get a sampler of the ale (common practice in a lot of pubs) and honestly the barmaid acted as if I had said something incredibly offensive. She made me feel about 1cm tall before rudely said 'never had anyone ask THAT before'

I can honestly say I would never, ever come back here and would advise anyone to go find somewhere else where the staff treat customers like humans rather than dirt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieMorgan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cranleigh hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a room next to the road with single glazing where the windows wouldn't shut! Someone flushed a toilet at 3am 3 times which woke me, dried moldy milk left in a cup, plastic cup in the bathroom was covered in crap, however the shower was quite powerful. Overall, poor. Stay elsewhere!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Plackow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had to go to a school reunion dinner nearby, so needed a hotel.
When I told local friends where I was staying they all expressed horror and when I read some of the reviews I understood why.
But, on arrival I was greeted in a very friendly way and allocated a room on the first floor directly over the entrance to the bar. This concerned me at first as there were drinkers and smokers outside just below my window. But the room and bathroom were comfortable and clean, slightly shabby around the edges, but perfectly acceptable for £65.
I returned from my reunion dinner at about 11pm and had a nightcap in the bar which had a very friendly atmosphere and it was obvious that this was where the locals liked to drink. My earlier fears about the potential noise from the bar proved unfounded, I had a comfortable night's sleep and an excellent cooked English breakfast in the morning, which was included in the price.
I think people expect too much from small privately run country hotels. This was clean, comfortable, friendly and relatively cheap - what else do you need?

Room Tip: If you are worried about potential noise from the bar ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arljinsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

First impression on arrival, bar maid couldn't be bothered. The room was not clean, towels were old. Bathroom very small, sink almost non-existent. The noise from running the water or flushing the loo was unbearable. The bed was comfortable although very short. Advertisement in the bar said 7 refurbished rooms, ours wasn't one of them! Loud music in the bar until midnight, then early risers making a lot of noise at 5.30am. All in all, a bad night. The whole place needs a good clean and redecorating. The building is in a prime location and very attractive from the outside, but the inside leaves much to be desired.
On a good note: the breakfast staff were very friendly, although we couldn't choose a table, we were shown to one! Breakfast was average.
I would suggest new management and welcoming staff; It would go a long way. We will never stay there again, not a good experience.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Jewson's, choose a side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on business as everywhere else in the Cranleigh area was fully booked and they were the only place with all rooms available. Well, no wonder. It was a dirty, dank and smelly room, the sheets had a blood stain on them and there were pubic hairs in the sink. The bathroom was also very dirty with mould. The furniture in the room is very dated and worn (a bit like you expect to find in a very cheaply run nursing home). How they get away with this level of cleanliness is truly jaw-dropping. It is in deserate need of a visit from the environmental health. God knows what their kitchens are like.... Needless to say I didn't eat there and luckily, there are some super places to eat in Cranleigh, but they get so busy that it is advisable to book a table in advance. Please, do yourself a favour and don't even step through the front door.

Room Tip: Good luck if you can find a clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights here towards the end of June and were pleasantly surprised. Spacious and clean room with large ensuite. Breakfast was very good and very good free WiFi. Look, this B&B is indeed in need of a refurbishment but it is CLEAN, comfortable and does not pretend to be anything other than what it is. Yes, the towels could be bigger and less threadbare but that is about the only negative we found. Staff were wonderful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozziemozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranleigh
3.9 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
6.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
112 reviews
6.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
181 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
7.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Property: Cranley Hotel
Address: The Common, Cranleigh GU6 8SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Cranleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel Cranleigh, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing