We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sashimi heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamakura

Kamakura
Ranked #22 of 44 Restaurants in San Roque
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A tatami is a type of mat made from rice straw, used as flooring in traditional Japanese-style rooms. The private Tatami room is the perfect place for an intimate meal to be shared in the company of friends or loved ones. There is a sunken part under the table so that guests can eat comfortably. The service here is very specialized and exclusive and your dining is sure to be uninterrupted by anyone other than your server. The perfect location to close a business deal or for a special treat. Full menu available.
Fuengirola
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sashimi heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The service and setting was excellent. The food was great and there was a really good selection. Expensive though in comparison to what we pay in Australia for Japanese food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fuengirolajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Kama-Kura was a nice place with ok food. A bit to expensive in regard to what you get. Fun to have eaten there, but one time is enough.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisbetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“roger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

could easily be a lot better,more varied menu needed

Helpful?
Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food good service fantastic sushi and sashimi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Shame for the bad reviews. Issue was that the manager of 25 years had left first week in august and took the head waiter of 10 years

A few months on the dust settled and the great food and service is back to nearly normal

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and 9 year old sushi-mad son had dinner at Kamakura in August 2011. The staff were not friendly. There was no pride or sense of wanting to be there and you could feel this. In total 5 different people served our table at different times depending who went by and took pity on us. As they had located us completely out of the way, we had to wait until someone passed by to grab their attention and even that was hard as they just did not want to know. After asking for the menu a second time to order some more Sushi, two attempts to place the additional order and a further 20 minutes of wait, we simply failed- we could not even place the additional order. We had to leave. We asked for the bill twice and waited for an additional 20 minutes before, I grabbed someone and told them I am leaving and if you want your money present me with a bill now or I am leaving. She pointed us to the manager somewhere in the restaurant (that we could not see), told us to speak him and went on about her work! She did not even bother getting the manager for us. They absolutely did not care. As we stood up, manager who was totally unaware of anything turned up to offer us deserts! I explained and said we are leaving and he has a minute to give a bill or I am gone. All he could say was "sorry" and ran and I paid as I was exiting. The food on the other hand was good. Fresh and vibrant. Bu the service ruined it. Kamakura has a steady regular client base that are part of the golf club. The rest of the customers are really a burden. I would not risk it. The coast if full of wonderful places and frankly this is our only bad experience in 10 years.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Payam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamakura also viewed

San Roque, Costa de la Luz
San Roque, Costa de la Luz
 
San Roque, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Kamakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing