We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run old style hotel short walk from the beach.”
Review of Las Camelias

Las Camelias
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Camelias
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Las Camelias has been here for over 30 years and retains a lot of the old characteristics of Spain. Terracotta floor tiles, wooden panelled doors - old televisions with Spanish only channels!! Comfortable bed - with bolster rather than pillows. Large bathroom with strangely dated whirlpool bath! Empty mini bar but useful for keeping drinks cold and cheese etc. fresh. Short walk to the beach with plenty of parking and two beach bars. Hotel restaurant serves traditional Spanish fare and there is a small bar. Lovely owner and staff. Price is very reasonable for the location. NB This is NOT the Costa de Luz - that is round the corner from Gibraltar, this is still the Costa del Sol!

Room Tip: Those at the back are quieter and first floor rooms have sea views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetalTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Las Camelias
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Don't know if I went to same hotel described in earlier reviews but we arrived yesterday at 6 but had walked out by 615 the room was disgustingly smelly and dirty, shame staff seemed really nice. This hotel needs either knocking down or completely renovated.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel, we did and got a much better hotel at 14€ less per night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Nice, clean hotel conveniently situated at the entrance to Sotogrande port. Nice large rooms ( I had Superior Double), with comfy beds and sofa seating. Great value for money and a genial owner. Nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights over Christmas whilst visiting family near by. We found the room large (with 2 double beds) and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a big Jacuzzi hot tub. We brought our own kettle and mugs/coffee as this is not included but the room had a mini fridge which was most useful. The room was cleaned every day including Christmas even though we said it wasn't necessary. My 10 year old son made friends with the owners' three children and was invited to sit with them for dinner and made very welcome. The restaurant is very good, we had 3 evening meals there and each time it was exceptional. We found it good value for money and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewSmith101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Clean and friendly, comfortable hotel. We stayed here for a wedding and the room was ideal. There was a fridge and a comfortable bed. Not many frills, but ideal for a short stay. I would certainly recommend to those looking for a decent hotel at a good price.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Chrispy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had booked a twin room online (Booking.com) for this hotel for one night, 2 adults. I later get an email saying the price quoted on the website is wrong and it costs more. I called the next day to say that was false advertising and they should honor the booking and then advised them to change it asap for other people. Instead the Manager started shouting at me saying, "you no stay at my hotel" and hung up!!
I think they are advertising the most economical deals and then changing them once you book. Some people may be swayed to pay the difference and stay but as a matter of principle, this is a scam and should be avoided at all costs - especially the very rude Manager.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Dee910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Rather basic, but our rooms were clean, had decent beds, and good, hot, showers. Out of season, at least, the bar is not open late, and is not especially inviting. Breakfast was simple but perfectly OK.
The marina at Sotogrande is an easy 5-10 minute walk, and there are number of bars, restaurants and shops a 5 minute walk in the other direction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyLittleTownBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
4.2 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
6.5 mi away
Hotel Almenara Resort
Hotel Almenara Resort
#1 of 5 in Sotogrande
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#16 of 34 in Estepona
55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Manilva
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Don Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Camelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Camelias

Address: Ctra. Nationale 340, Km. 134,7 | Torreguadiaro, Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Las Camelias 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Camelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing