We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Almenara Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Thsi is a great hotel in season and out of, i have visisted twice the second time recnetly. Both were golf tours and it's a great base, rooms are very very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. My only criticism is the bar prices they are very expensive in the hotel bare but the golf club bar more reasonable. Thre great 9 holes for the guests looking for cheaper golf and right on the doorstep opf Sotogrande and valderama if you can strecth to their green fee's

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is fine if you are going to play gold and will not be spending too much time there and plan to eat out. The rooms are a good size. we paid for the family suite of 2 rooms. It was ok. It was very hard to find staff members who spoke English so ordering room service for a family meal was difficult. The food is really awful. there is no drinks service etc by the pool. the outside restaurant staff are bad tempered, the food is barely adequate and it is expensive. The service is generally poor, however the conceierge are very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Eleanor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An excellent place for our winter golf and relax. This area is a dream for all golfers.
I stay here 2th time and year by year is better and better. Service was perfect ,commodious room and in overal i can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZvaraCZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

ridiculous poor pool heating and pool area resulted in contracting heavy head cold. Breakfast bar was too crowded and not enough staff or coffee machines.
Buffet dinner was a scrum and tables too close together


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank Iaincroysdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Almenara is a friendly hotel. Great for golf with three challenging nine holes. The rooms are simple but comfortable built as individual units. The pool is ok but the room includes complimentary access to the beach club which is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank 101mjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Highly recommend this hotel from the very large and comfortable bedrooms rooms. The breakfast was excellent for choice and the buffet at night we had it three nights and it different every night with plenty to choose from, all the staff we met were very friendly from reception, cleaners, waitresses, bar staff. Overall I would give it 5 stars no problem, The golf course has three nine holes and all were very good, with very fast greens.Would recommend a buggy if it's windy very hilly at some points .


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank Lizkeohone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Staying in the hotel while writing this.
Hotel is fine, well situated and services are as my be expected, but two things need to be mentioned:
There is absolutely NO coffee or tea making facility in the room, which is a real shortcoming of a hotel of this statue. After our complaint we did get a watercooker, but it should simply not be necessary to complain about something so basic.
Also in spite of what one may expect there are NO complimentary bottles of water in the room. We find this really seriously bad!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
2.3 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
425 reviews
4.6 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
8.8 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
916 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
6.5 mi away
Las Camelias
Las Camelias
#5 of 5 in Sotogrande
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenara Resort

Address: Avenida Almenara s/n, 11310 Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: £71 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almenara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an established, high-end destination, on the cusp of the Costa del Sol, Sotogrande provides the perfect setting for a bespoke hotel. Located at the heart of its famous golf course and next to renowned Valderrama or La Reserva Golf, the Almenara Hotel with 145 rooms and suites set around the main building all with commanding views of the greens, the gardens or the Mediterranean, the hotel is a golfer's dream. The hotel includes the Elysium spa, a sanctuary of rest and relaxation offering innovative treatments and a wide variety of wellness and beauty therapies. Hotel guests can enjoy the fine cuisine offered in two on-site restaurants. Other facilities include the Pentagrama´s Bar and Pool Bar, a Golf Academy, the beachside Racquet Centre, the beach club and four meeting rooms with a capacity of up to 800 people. This variety creates the sense of wellbeing that the Almenara Hotel is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Almenara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Almenara Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande
Almenara Golf Hotel
Almenara Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing