We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almenara Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here with my partner for one night and the room was lovely and very well equipped. Also the bathroom was very well laid out. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely first class with great service throughout the hotel. The only downside was the spa wasn't open during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Quiet break in Sotogrande Alto, The hotel is nicely placed on the hills overlooking the valley.
We stayed in mini cottage style rooms a short walk from the main building.

Great facilities and you have access to the beach club by Sotogrande golf club.

Breakfast is fantastic and the service is of a high standard.

Will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited for 3 nights in May and we were lucky with the weather. Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic, with great variety and quality and you can eat (and smoke) on the terrace if you want to. The pool was a little cold but that's expected so early in the season. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and well kept. Great shower, good air conditioning system, little private balcony... If you are looking for a lively spot you should look elsewhere, because it was very quiet here. Mostly older couples and golf tour groups. You will absolutely need a rental car for this place as well, as it is up into the hills above Sotogrande - which makes for lovely views!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nholtsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed in the Hotel Almenara as part of a golf deal . On arrival Jose at reception made us feel very welcome and took the time and trouble to explain everything we needed to know about our stay. The hotel lived up to Jose's description and we felt very much at home. The breakfast buffet and the evening meals were just what we wanted and provided a wide range of delicious foods to chose from. The Golf was challenging and the weather superb and the 19th hole was much appreciated.

On the second day of our stay, I asked for a kettle as there was none supplied in the room. Jose said to leave it with him and a kettle duly arrived in my room. What I did not realise until I was leaving was that the kettle supplied was his own personal kettle that he used behind reception for his own refreshment. This was over and above the call of duty.

The bar staff and in particular Fran were exceptionally helpful as indeed all the staff I encountered during my 3 day stay.

I had a positive experience at the hotel and it was in large part due to the helpful and friendly staff, in particular Jose. I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaBanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As an (English) PGA Professional working in Germany, I am "on tour" with members of my club about 3 times a year. And mostly between November and mid-March. As a result I am only refering to this time bracket 2013.
The rooms, which are laid out as terraced houses, in village-form, are generous, very comfortable and well appointed wi-fi worked well). My group (14 people plus my wife and I) were housed within 100 yards of each other and about 150 yds from the main house (reception, restaurant and bar)
Restaurant is relatively small but absolutely adequate. The food was very varied, well cooked and presented. The only thing I missed were the freshly fried eggs at breakfast (I know, cholesterol etc, but I do love them (with bacon) when on holiday).
Reception, restaurant and room staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar staff were a little inattentive and slow, often popping outside for a quick drag, but otherwise okay. Bar prices are expensive - try the clubhouse cheaper and a great chocolate cake.

The golf-course was rather wet (only parts of the fairways) following a long rainy period, but very playable and good fun. Practice-facilities not great okay for holiday-golfing.

I would recommend this hotel, at the very least, to anyone on a golfing vacation. Other courses in the area -San Roque, la Reserva, Valderama, Alcaidesa etc.) also very good.
Take a trip westwards, (about 25 min.) to the castle - Castillo de Castellar - fascinating inside. Take a beer up to the rampants and enjoy the fantastic views. Then drive 400yds back, downhill, and stop off at "Venta Carmen" for a bite. Lovely people (even if you don't understand them) and good food.

Room Tip: Can't remember the numbers, but backing onto the pon about 100 yards or so below the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Currently staying here with my family been here since 16th April. Rooms clean and quite well decorated breakfast buffet was quite busy but it was Easter so expected. However, seeing that I came here for business/ pleasure it's ok if you are a golfer and just want to play day in day out but can get a little boring esp for little ones as there isn't much to do around here apart from a small mini club for kids which just has few amenities. Pool is ok bit cold but gym and spa adequate. Close to motorways so Gib and Malaga easy accessible. More to do at other resorts if you prefer that lifestyle and beach club excellent.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank parasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Thsi is a great hotel in season and out of, i have visisted twice the second time recnetly. Both were golf tours and it's a great base, rooms are very very comfortable and the staff are very friendly. My only criticism is the bar prices they are very expensive in the hotel bare but the golf club bar more reasonable. Thre great 9 holes for the guests looking for cheaper golf and right on the doorstep opf Sotogrande and valderama if you can strecth to their green fee's

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
2.3 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
429 reviews
4.6 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
8.8 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Las Camelias
Las Camelias
#5 of 5 in Sotogrande
30 reviews
9.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,097 reviews
10 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenara Resort

Address: Avenida Almenara s/n, 11310 Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: £76 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almenara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an established, high-end destination, on the cusp of the Costa del Sol, Sotogrande provides the perfect setting for a bespoke hotel. Located at the heart of its famous golf course and next to renowned Valderrama or La Reserva Golf, the Almenara Hotel with 145 rooms and suites set around the main building all with commanding views of the greens, the gardens or the Mediterranean, the hotel is a golfer's dream. The hotel includes the Elysium spa, a sanctuary of rest and relaxation offering innovative treatments and a wide variety of wellness and beauty therapies. Hotel guests can enjoy the fine cuisine offered in two on-site restaurants. Other facilities include the Pentagrama´s Bar and Pool Bar, a Golf Academy, the beachside Racquet Centre, the beach club and four meeting rooms with a capacity of up to 800 people. This variety creates the sense of wellbeing that the Almenara Hotel is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Almenara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Almenara Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande
Almenara Golf Hotel
Almenara Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing