We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of NH Sotogrande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Sotogrande
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights and our only complain is that it's not so easily located but as long as you have a car you should be ok. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Although the hotel was full it really didn't feel like it. The pool area was very quiet and the sun loungers were super comfortable. The room (superior) was huge and had a massive terrace which we didn't have time to use. The breakfast was amazing and we couldn't believe the price we paid but I am pretty good at shopping around for the best deal on hotel comparison sites! This hotel for us for worth every single penny even though we did spend some time trying to find our hotel on the first day! It's 45 mins to Tarifa and 30 mins to Malaga for a medium to fast driver!

Room Tip: Do not travel to Spain in August, their busiest period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scldn2hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2008

We were working at the Valderrama Golf Course for a week, and chose this hotel because of its close location to the site.

On checking in we were very impressed with the lovely spacious reception area, bar and seating areas - beautifully designed with fantastic contemporary furniture. However, it all went drastically downhill from there!

Our room was a deluxe room, with steps down into a sitting area. While the room itself on first inspection looked pretty good - the bathroom was a different story! Black mould covered the walls around the bath and shower area - and I mean literally covered! When we went to bed the bed clothes were damp, and in actual fact during our weeks stay both my husband and myself developed a bad chest and cough, a result we are convinced of sleeping in a damp bed.

On our first night we just opted for room service - the menu was pretty basic, mainly sandwiches and burgers etc, but we thought for a room service menu pretty good - however on our 2nd night we ventured down to the restaurant - after waiting for about 15 minutes for a waiter to materialise, we went in search of someone, finally tracking down said waiter. When he bought the menu to us, it was the same room service menu with sandwiches, burgers etc! We decided to give them the benefit of the doubt, and thought that maybe with it being a Sunday night, perhaps the chef was off. A few nights later we asked at reception whether the restaurant was operating a full menu and not the room service one, we were told they had a full menu, and not only that, the Chef would prepare us anything we wanted! Sounded pretty good - except it wasn't true! Down to the restaurant we went, and the room service menu we were given .

We only attempted breakfast twice, both times we had to go in search of a waitress, never were we offered any tea or coffee - it really is the most appalling hotel I have ever stayed in, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone! If you want somewhere decent, for a reasonable price go to the Duquessa Suite Hotel just down the road in Duquessa, vastly superior in every way!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed at the NH Sotogrande for 7 days in September 2008. We were 2 couples all in our 50's and the 2 men were golfers. Our first impression from the outside was not very good, the entrance/road to the hotel wasn't very well kept. However, once inside it was very nice and very clean and well kept. It is ideally located for the golfers but not for those non golfers! There is nowhere to walk to and therefore you need a car. A trip to the marina, which is less than 10 minutes away by car, was costing us between 15 and 18 Euros a go each way! We did also drive to the marina but car parking was quite limited and of course if you want a drink, one of you has to go without!! HOWEVER, the best find we had was a restaurant that is quite hidden! If you come out of the hotel front door and turn right and follow the road around the back you will see a sign saying 'La Cabana Restaurante'. It is quite a steep walk but keep following the road up and through a set of blue/violet gates and you will see a car park and riding stables, follow the road around and you will come to the restaurant. Don't be fooled by it's appearance - it is excellent! They are open Monday to Saturday from 8pm and closed on Sunday's. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dot1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the NH Sotogrande in the middle of August 2006. For such an expensive accomodation we were disappointed with our experience.

Rooms are a strange design. They are split level meaning bathroom, wardrobes are on the upper level with bed on a lower level. This was not a problem, but did feel strange. The entrance to our room also led us through a patio that was infested with ants and too hot for anything throughout the day. How's about putting up a roof and making it into something more useful?

Breakfast and bar areas were good, if unspectacular. Service in these areas is very good. The pool is cold and the "grounds" of the hotel are very limited. A brisk walk to and from the paddle courts is no more than five minutes. Be warned, you'll need a car to get to the beach, golf course or Sotogrande village (at least a 15-minute drive)

Overall we were disappointed with our stay. We would judge it an overrated hotel in an overrated resort.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

I really liked the set up and rooms at this hotel. Each room has a private walled entry area and spacious balcony. The room itself was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was also very nice (with the audio from the television piped in so you could listen to the BBC while soaking in the bath). Breakfast was quite good as well (lots of variety from hot breakfst foods to cereals to fruit). The staff were generally helpful. A positive experience. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2006

The NH Sotogrande is ideally placed for golfers wishing to play the fabulous courses in the Sotogrande area. Valderamma very tough. Almenara 27 holes very enjoyable but poor fairways good greens. La reserve superb - the greens are very very very fast. San Roque old excellent. Sotogrande Old wonderful but limited availability for visitors. Alcadeisa ordinary. La Duquesa avoid like the plague.
The hotel has been designed by an architect who either is very fit or has a sense of humour. i have never known a hotel with so many steps. My bedroom while large had two steps down on entering and a further four steps down to the bathroom. Well equipped with limited english language Tv stations. Amazingly the shower was in the bath despite the fact there was plenty of available space for a walk-in shower. Good bar. Good breakfast. I didnt visit the Spa. as i said ideally situated for golfers and the hotel has access to reduced green fees at Almenara, la reserve and sotogrande Old.
Bryan Somers

3  Thank bryansomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2005

We have just come back from a 5 day stay at this hotel. We stayed here because friends were getting married in Gibraltar. End of September is out of season but we had good weather so we could use the pool facilities.

Very stylish hotel. The rooms were well equipped and furnished very nicely. Nice size too, all with either balconies or patios. You are a long way from your neighbour so it's nice and quiet. One restaurant and a bar/lounge which serves snacks. The pool, side bar was closed. The hotel over looks Valderrama golf course and there are lots round here including the sister hotel NH Almenara spa and golf course just up the road. We didn't play but it's a good place to stay for golfers.

You need a car really, old Sotogrande is small but the harbour is worth a visit at night.

In general it was fine, bit quiet although it was out of season, but breakfasts were good and service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SolihullTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
2.3 mi away
Hotel Almenara Resort
Hotel Almenara Resort
#1 of 5 in Sotogrande
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
4.2 mi away
Las Camelias
Las Camelias
#5 of 5 in Sotogrande
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.6 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Manilva
116 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Sotogrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Sotogrande

Address: Autovia A-7, Salida 130, 11310 Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: £57 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Sotogrande 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Sotogrande is a magnificent four-star hotel located in the heart of Sotogrande, along the popular Costa del Sol in Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Sotogrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Sotogrande Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotels Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing