We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant with great food and service”
Review of Adobe Fonda

Adobe Fonda
Ranked #13 of 79 Restaurants in Tlaquepaque
Price range: US$1 - US$28
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mexican environment restaurant, in the heart of Tlaquepaque, with Mexican and international cuisine. We have also the best Mexican handcrafts for you. Live music and valet parking.
Queretaro
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant with great food and service”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

As we toured all the shops in Tlaquepaque, we stumbled upon an incredible store with the best and most varied artisan products we had seen...and to our surprise, found a wonderful restaurant at the back of the store. As it was already evening when we walked by, the beautiful lights and decor of the restaurant truly drew us in. We returned the next day for a wonderful lunch. After shopping in the store, where we bought a few beautiful items including a two foot tall, ceramic, flamenco dancing Catrina...we were greeted by Gerardo (if I remember correctly his name) who was incredibly attentive, friendly and professional. All the dishes we ordered, from the soup, to mole to the molcajete were really beautifully presented and delicious. Also, great margaritas and scrumptious desserts. Definitely worth the visit for a great meal if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
“Excellent food, shame about service.”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I went with my family to spend the evening at Tlaquepaque, arrived just in time for lunch at the Fonda Adobe. The place, as most restaurants in Tlaquepaque, available in the same place crafts for sale and gourmet Mexican restored. The dish I tried was chicken mole with cinnamon. Quite rich, good portions, and really fair price. However, leave much to be desired service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in Tlaquepaque/Guadalajara”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The greater Guadalajara area has quite a number of very good restaurants. I have not eaten at all of them, but I am sure Fonda Adobe is one of the best. The menu is very creative -- many dishes are recognizably traditional Mexican dishes, sometimes with an interesting little twist; others are more innovative but maintain a touch of Mexican influence (the menu is available online). An example of the latter is a grilled shrimp dish served atop a roquefort sauce, where the shrimp have been grilled with a hint of chipotle that gives them just a bit of bite. We enjoyed a delicious appetizer of "Mexican rolls" that featured flor de calabaza (zucchini flower) and huitlacoche (black mushrooms), relatively difficult to find Mexican delicacies. The margaritas were well made and ample. The service was as good as it gets, attentive but not at all intrusive; intelligent menu suggestions. My only disappointment was that my first choices of both appetizer and entree were both sold out early in the lunch period. The restaurant is part of a gallery/shop located more or less midway along the pedestrian walkway that is the "main street" of Tlaquepaque and gets busy for lunch around 3 pm on weekdays. The items in the shop are fun to look at during a visit; most of them would be available elsewhere for a much lower price. Noise from the street is a bit of a bother; the pianist helps to cover it up. The building does not seem to be air conditioned. This is probably the most expensive restaurant in Tlaquepaque, but very reasonable by US standards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Located in the back of a very eclectic store this restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere. The food is delicious and the presentation and ambiance outstanding. Always a must stop when we're in the area, which is often. Don't skip desert always great. Have had almost everything on the menu, all good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure; my go to place in Tlaquepaque”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Adobe has such a great menu that it's hard to make a choice. The three cheese soup is wonderful, but then so is the mushroom broth with beer (think French onion soup only with mushrooms). This is my go to place for Mexican lunch around 3 p.m. Great food always consistently prepared, with very good service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adobe Fonda also viewed

Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Adobe Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing