We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting and friendly staff”
Review of Mariscos Progreso

Mariscos Progreso
Ranked #42 of 79 Restaurants in Tlaquepaque
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice setting and friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a nice setting and friendly staff. The seafood we ordered was nice without being amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank macsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not Bad Seafood”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Good seafood, but not gourmet. The price was good and the atmosphere is simple, but honest. I enjoyed the staff trying to do their best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ikeamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We ordered the seafood parillada. Left most behind. It was as though we got a platter or leftovers from everyone else's orders. Nothing fresh. Mostly fried. Along with chicken.

Helpful?
Thank catepoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Seafood in a nice setting.”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

This is not an upscale place. It has more of a local flavor, but that lends to a favorable ambiance. It's clean and comfortable, but unpretentious. A wide variety of fresh seafood is available, served in a number of different styles. I opted for the 'Brocheta de Camarones', skewered shrimp with bell peppers, onion, plantains & pineapple. The shrimp was cooked well, but not overdone. It was moist, flavorful and tender. The fruits and vegetables were delicious. On the side, there was white rice, steamed carrots and cabbage or lettuce. - A delicious meal for 120 Pesos or about $10 USD. I would recommend Mariscos Progreso and plan to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DALFLr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Was okay. Good service and not too pricey. Moriscos Rojas is sooooo much better, but there is a long wait there ( for good reason). Mi novio thinks he got sick from the oysters here. But really, one should not eat oysters in Mexico unless you are Mexican. I ate them ( I am not Mexican) and I was fine, but he got sick.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariscos Progreso also viewed

Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Mariscos Progreso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing