We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming colonial style, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

From Jade's smiling and aimiable greeting to Antonio's pre-dawn send-off two days later we thoroughly enjoyed our comfortable stay in "La Villa". The rooms were commodious, beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and supplied with shampoos and the like. Breakfasts were ample and delicious, specially prepared (loved the "huevos a la mexicana") and served with the best coffee we tasted in 8 weeks spent in Jalisco. We were completely charmed by all staff we spoke to and felt spoiled. In Spanish one says "como se debe", in French, "comme il faut". I suppose in English that means everything was "just so".

Room Tip: We looked at the tips on this site and decided to just take what was supplied. We had Room 7 at the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeGir38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteGM, Manager at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Hola! muchas gracias por tus comentarios! thanks a los for your comments, this is very helpfull for us to provide a better business to all of you.
Our staff and myself personally apppreciate your feedback, there are isnt a better feeling than reading your complete satisfaction. Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We just spent one night at Villa del Encanto while en route for Zacatecas. We had a charming junior suite, enjoyed an excellent breakfast and the company of Amel in the bar who served us a welcome drink when we arrived. Only negatives were that pools were not heated or in use and the Internet did not function in our room. Would go back for sure as Tlaquepaque is an interesting small community to visit - we really enjoyed the ceramic museum and Guadalajara is a central point from which to get buses all over Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteGM, Director General at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

We thank you a lot for taking the time and share your commets, we hope to see you soon again with a longer stay to show you more of this great place. Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

An absolutely wonderful stay in the best location in Guadalajara, a short walk from the centre of the cultural area, el Parian. This hotel definitely one of the best in Mexico and a fantanstic value for money.

Room Tip: Junior suites are phenomenal!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankR1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteGM, Manager at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thnak you very much for your comments! we are very happy yo have had you with us, will also like to apologize the inconenviences you had during your stay. we promise to get hands on. Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

If you get there at night, you may not be familiar with the narrow streets and the older buildings - but rest easy! You will not regret the booking. The rooms are very unique and feel free to see a couple before you choose. All the staff were very accommodating and very friendly. After a couple of days exploring you will find the neighborhood is very safe and the locals are very nice. The main square of Tlaquepaque is only a short walk away and the shops and restaraunts are great. We walked back and forth day or night and never felt unsafe. Two days into our trip my husband got very sick with a chest infection (that he brought from Canada). The manager (I wish I could spell his name) offered to take him to the hospital to see a doctor, waited with him, translated and then filled his prescriptions. Incredible- I am so thankful for him! The hotel's on-call cab driver, Quan, took me to the grocery store to stock "flu" neccessities, stayed with me to shop and translate and then took me home. Even though the hotel only serves breakfast, the waiter Emile heated up the soup and served in a nice warm bowl. Emile speaks very good English and is a great source to talk to about the customs and the area. And, the free breakfast they serve is by order, fresh and very good. Every morning stopping to talk and joke with the front desk staff was a memorable part of our trip. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check out what they have available. There are many options to suit your taste.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteGM, Manager at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you!!! Muchas gracias!
we were very happy to have you guys with us, we are morem than happy to accomodate any of your needs while your stay. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I like to visit tlaquepaque at least once a year and usually stay in Guadalajara. This time I read the reviews on trip advisor and made a 5 night reservation at "villas del ensueno" with with family. We were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were very spacious, bathroom expansive and decor very traditional. All rooms have a patio/balcony. Pool was cold and so was jacuzzi. The hotel is well located lots of shops, restaurants and taxi availability at very reasonable rates. Breakfast options traditional and offered a great start for the day. Personnel all went out of there way to be helpful. In all a good experience and would stay again. Beds were okay, not great but clean and improved as we stayed on. Recommended for large groups and family. Very nice and enjoyed the location. Not far from airport or downtown area. Price was very reasonable for service.

Room Tip: Away from front desk . Back area over pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VicenteGM, Manager at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate them.
we are taking in serious consideration all your recomendations, gracias once more!
this is your home away frm home anytime! looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I traveled here with my fiance and his parents (my husband's family is from northern Mexico and I am from Washington, DC) in November 2012 and all four of us were just blown away by how beautiful this little boutique hotel was when we arrived. It was about $20 to take a taxi from the airport here the first night we arrived- you pay in advance at the airport and they assign you to a cab. We were in the new building across the street from the old building where the hot breakfast was served every morning (by the way, they were nice enough to send breakfast up to me with the rest of my party when I woke up a little later in the morning one day).

As mentioned, the hotel is beautiful due to its colonial-style architecture and the many different plants they have everywhere. Our junior suite was charming with its touches of talavera pottery tiles, the beds were perfectly comfortable, and the noise wasn't bad even though we were int he room closest to the lobby. If I had been sleeping in ear plugs might have been a good touch, but there certainly wasn't a high level of noise for a boutique hotel on a city street (a side street so not too much traffic).

I would note that we felt quite safe here- there is always someone at the front desk or nearby, they know the neighborhood very well, and the doors are locked in the evening with someone there to let you in. When we first saw our room and its sliding doors to the patio we were a little nervous, but there is a strong door and walls all around the Villa and pretty soon we felt that both ourselves and our stuff (including two new mac laptops) was secure. That said, there isn't a safe in the rooms- not sure why this is the case but it would be nice for the smaller valuables, especially cash. While by the end I was confident that nothing was going to go missing from our room, a safe should really be added for each room just in case.

The best thing about La Villa del Ensueño is probably the staff- they are unobtrusive yet pleasant and helpful. On the last night we were there no fewer than three of the staff went out of their way to help me seal a bottle of tequila for the journey home. I had purchased it for a friend as a gift and the seal had come up just a tiny bit, but if they hadn't helped me seal it with multiple materials it would not have made it back int he suitcase. It means a lot that the staff are responsible yet easygoing, and pleasant while letting you go about your business. Lovely hotel- would definitely stay again and recommend to fellow travelers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunfl0werSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Last minute decision to go to Guadalajara on Friday, and we found this great boutique hotel on
the Internet. It did not disappoint! Can walk to the main plaza of Tlaquepaque .... The arts area, and everyone was so warm and welcoming! Special kudos go to the young man tending the pool bar, Amel. He gave us a rec for dinner, chatted about the special sights in the area, and even invited us to a special art showing that night at the charming hotel. When we arrived, he made certain we were introduced to some of the guests....while keeping an eye on his bartending duties. Very courteous young man. The a.m. breakfast in the patio area offered lots of options...,again, attentive and friendly! We will go back.
.

Room Tip: Our room was outside the pool patio area and also the breakfast area. If you want to sleep in, I wou...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#9 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#6 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
20 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa del Ensueno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa del Ensueno Hotel

Address: Florida 305 | San Pedro, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa del Ensueno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa del Ensueno is a cozy establishment, decorated in the purest Mexican style and nestled in the heart of San Pedro Tlaquepaque. Only 30 minutes from Guadalajara's International Airport, Tlaquepaque town is one of the most famous art and handicraft destinations in all of Mexico. Our bi-lingual personnel are always on hand, ready to assist you by recommending restaurants, shops, or galleries. They can arrange special shopping tours within and beyond the city, as well as provide additional tourist services for the area. Your stay at La Villa del Ensueño includes an afternoon welcome cocktail at our bar. In the mornings you will enjoy a delicious full breakfast a la cart. For business or pleasure La Villa del Ensueño brings a great experience. Our rooms have a mexican traditional decoration. We also have 2 pools and an outdoor jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Villa del Ensueno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing