We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get used to taxi rides...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Get used to taxi rides...”
Reviewed 17 July 2008

You'll be riding taxis everywhere, because El Hotel Tapatio is located outside of Guadalajara, away from literally everything! Before I get carried away, let me break down different aspects of the hotel:
-Location: This hotel is situated on top of a tall hill and affords terrific views of Guadalajara and its' surrounds. The disadvantage is that if you're a tourist, you need to take a taxi into town every time you go out of the hotel. The going rate is about 100 pesos or $10US. The ride up and down the hill gets annoying after a while since the road is made up of rocks which make for a jaw rattling drive. Again, you need a cab to get ANYWHERE from here.
-Staff: Most of the folks that work here do their best to help you and make sure you're happy. However, that can be hit or miss, especially at the front desk. If you catch the desk staff when a manager is right there, you get good service, however later in the evening, the front desk staff become quite uncaring. My biggest problem with the desk was when we told them we needed the van shuttle for the airport for 6am, and the person took down the info and even suggested a wake-up call for us. I set the alarm just in case, and good ting I did, because our wake-up came at 6am as we left the room! The van didn't come until 6:15.
-Rooms: We had a room with two queen beds. The air conditioning was adequate, and the maid service was excellent. The rooms, as others have noted, are dated and need work. If only the owners invested a little back into the small things like electrical upgrades, modernizing the bathrooms, and fixtures, this place could be a gem. Still, not the worst rooms I've ever been in.
-Facilities: This is not a resort, no matter how many times they call it one. It's a hotel, and it has a pool (not heated from what I could tell) in need of cleaning, a gym (sorry - I didn't even look at it), as well as a restaurant and bar. The food at the restaurant is pricey compared to going into town, but don't miss the breakfast buffet - for about $9US per person, the food is fresh and you can get eggs as you like them. Also try the cafe de olla - local traditional coffee.
So in closing, if you know you're spending a lot of time in town, spend a little more and stay in town at a big-name hotel. Perhaps if this place offered a shuttle for free into town every hour or two, I could recommend it more. The views are great, but I can't see having to throw another $20-$40 a day at cabs every time I want to go somewhere.

  • Liked — Terrific views and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Remote location.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnGrease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    45
    44
    33
    38
See reviews for
56
50
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2008

We chose this hotel for its closeness to the airport and because they offer shuttle service to the airport. We booked three rooms for a total of seven people. Upon our arrival we were told our rooms where in three different floors but in the same building. When we requested the rooms to be on the same floor, we were offered dirty rooms. We obviously had to decline the "offer" and agreed to take the three rooms they had initially reserved for us. I couldn't believe they offered us dirty rooms. That was uncalled for. Then, when we inquired about their airport shuttle service, we were told the two vans that are used to take guests to the airport were broken and that there was only one small car available. We were very concerned about our transportation to the airport as it was going to be at 5:00 A.M. for an early morning flight and we had several pieces of luggage. We asked if the hotel could find a way to get all seven of us to the airport in one trip but they only offered to take some people at 4:00 A.M and some others at 5:00 A.M. Even if we had accepted their "offer" we would've had to get an additional cab to the airport. In the end, we had to pay for two taxicabs to take us to the airport. We felt it was unfair that the hotel did not even offer to pay for our taxicab ride since the issue with the broken vans was not our fault. Their manager Felipe Salazar told us they could not offer anything else. He did not make an effort to alleviate the situation and had an attitude. If you plan on staying at El Tapatio because they offer shuttle service to the airport, you should reconsider your decision. Even though the rooms were clean and spacious their beds were uncomfortable. Additionally, when I went to take a shower I realized the drain was clogged. I called the reception twice but nobody ever came to our room to fix the problem and never apologized for it.

  • Liked — Its closness to the airport
  • Disliked — Shuttle service to the airport was unavailable, clogged drain, and bad customer service.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Maribel_Hernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tlaquepaque hotels

Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Hotwire gave us this as a 3 star hotel in Guadalajara for $63/night. It wasn't worth it.

LOCATION: It was a 100peso cab ride to downtown and 70pesos to Telaquepaque. You can't walk to anywhere from here... it's between the 2 directions of the expressway on a hilltop.

ROOM: Ours was spacious and clean, but definitely worn and old. The A/C didn't work well enough to cool the room down, but fortunately the weather was cool enough at night to leave the windows open. It was a long walk on a very uneven walkway to our room. There were no elevators in the 4 floor wing we were on.

POOL: Cold, unheated. Nice landscaping around it.

RESTAURANTS: We ate at the one near the lobby. The service was impecible. The food only so so. They prepared the cesaer salad we ordered at tableside from scratch...I hadn't seen that done since the mid-70s. The soup we had had burnt bits in it. The drinks at the bars were moderately priced.

We wouldn't stay here again. We'd probably choose someplace in Telaquepaque where you can walk around at night and there are places nearby to eat.

  • Liked — Service in restaurant was good, room was clean
  • Disliked — Old, worn rooms with inadequate a/c, front desk was rude and unhelpful even to spanish speaker
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redheadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

After the most amazing stay in Nayarit, Mexico in Costa Azul Resort we took a 5 hour bus ride up to Guadalajara for my cousin's wedding in which I was a bridesmaid. We were excited to see the city and more excited to get into our hotel where the rest of the family and guests of the wedding were staying. We, along with everyone else, booked our room at El Tapatio almost a month in advance through Expedia.com. However once we finally got there they told us that they had no internet and that they did not receive our reservation and whats more that they were overbooked so they did not have a room for us. This is where things start getting to the point where I can confidently call them liars and cheats. After showing them our confirmation papers from expedia we went over to THEIR business center got on THEIR computer and again printed out all of our reservation details. Even after doing so they refused to give us a room, we explained further that we were late for the rehearsal and that we needed to be in this hotel because this was a family affair and we planned on being with our family at this time. They told us they didn't care. Then we talked to the supervisor who went on and on explaining a completely bogus story about again the internet and when we asked how we were going to get compensated for this huge error on THEIR part he offered us free breakfast. FREE BREAKFAST CAME WITH OUR ORIGINAL RESERVATION!! The fact of the matter is that they overbooked which is completely wrong to do in the first place when there are confirmed reservations. Second they lied to our faces and had already known beforehand that they would not give us a room because they had made prior arrangements with the airport hotel to put us up instead. BUT, we would still pay for this room and in no way did the airport hotel compare with El Tapatio. Third after much arguing and going back and forth even getting expedia.com customer service involved they still gave the story of having a problem with their internet. However on my last phone call with El Tapatio manager he let it slip that he "had pulled up my reservation online just now and saw that it was only for 2 people" (we were a family of 4) so that either way he couldn't have accommodated us. Funny how quickly and easily he pulled up our reservation online huh? And whats more the rest of my family and friends reserved through the same website we did and they still tried feeding us lines that their reservations were by phone. Bottom line we were treated rudely, dishonestly, and not even compensated for the time we lost (we missed the rehearsal and dinner) and we were separated from the family for the wedding weekend. The people at El Tapatio were money hungry and greedy and terrible business people because any American knows that if there is an oversight on the part of the hotel you should be adequately compensated not run out. Sure El Tapatio may look like a nice hotel but beware they will lie to you through their teeth to make a buck. The only people I'd send here are people I don't like. What a terrible ending to what was a beautiful trip.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yesyes0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Our room was spacious and clean; with a great view.
I would recommend this place if this the beginning or end of your trip to Mexico since it’s so close to the airport in Guadalajara. It is also convenient if you have a car to drive to Tonala & Tlaquepaque which is about 10-15 minute drive away.
It is a little out of the way for downtown Guadalajara.

There is potential for this place to be a resort, but several dichotomies which prevent that at the present time;
- the grounds are immaculate, but there are few beach chairs and the pool is not heated
- the restaurants & meeting rooms have great views & the foods is okay – but a little overpriced – we saw a wedding and many business meetings the 3 days we were there.
- The room as large and clean, but older fixtures in the bathroom

The room service was fast & the food was hot.
Unfortunately, to get the maintenance staff to respond was another story…
I made many persistent calls and finally I had to stand at the front desk to get my mini-bar refrigerator opened. The security box was broken.

  • Liked — near the airport
  • Disliked — distance from tourist attractions
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
413 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

This is definitively not a 4 star hotel. Besides the pool (which is not even heated), I don't know why would this place be advertised as a resort. The rooms are large, but old. The entire place is in need of renovations. Maybe because we were there during the holidays and people resent working on those days, we got very poor service. The towels were very old, thin and falling apart. I read the reviews before I left and I don't know what people are so happy about except for the rate. We payed less than $100 a night.

The view at nite is nice, but during the day all you see is the smog and poverty that exists in this city.

This place is far away from downtown.

The coffe if you take it out of the ready made filter, is actually pretty good. The sugar and cream were stone hard!

I might be back since it is the only hotel near El Salto, but if you are coming for a holiday, I would recommend you find something in town.

We didn't try the restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

We (two couples), needed a place to relax at the end of our trip through Colonial Mexico. The descriptions and the price of the hotel sounded almost too good to be true. A five star resort for under $80 per night. The room itself was all that was promised, the grounds were beautiful, the views would have been perfect if not for the haze of traffic wafting up from Guadalajara. The main drawbacks were the mediocre, expensive restauarant and the distance from Tlaquepaque (not 5 minutes by taxi as promised, but more like 20 minutes). I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone for their last night or 2 in the area. It is extremely convenient to the airport and the new bus terminal, and the staff is very accommodating. However, keep in mind that it is a gated resort and very separated from the surrounding area.

  • Liked — Spacious room with all the amenities/ grounds of hotel
  • Disliked — Restaurant/ proximity to town
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ItalianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
1.9 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#10 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Express Junior Guadalajara Periferico Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Las Torres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tapatio & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tapatio & Resort

Property: Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Address: Blvd Aeropuerto 4275, Tlaquepaque 45588, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Tapatio & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Tapatio & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tapatio Tlaquepaque
Hotel El Tapatio And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing