We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel
Its a Hotel perched on the top of a hill with fantastic views over the second largest city in Mexico
The pool and the grounds are impressive
The rooms are large but are very long over due upgrade mainly the bathroom area
Also the room I had (615) suffers from a great deal of noise from lorries travelling along the road at the base of the hill during the night
Most of the staff were friendly except at breakfast time when some of the waiters acted as if they did not want to be there

Room Tip: Not sure what the rooms are like around the pool and garden area It is mainly a holiday resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col4cyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The rustic decoration theme of the rooms is not very appealing anymore and for the money, you could get better value somewhere else. Sadly, the best experience of our stay was the Memories night club! great music from our times! that nightclub and its view made the stay bearable.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get Wi-Fi anywhere beyond the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

however, not recommend the restaurant. they are nice but so slow and taste below average. Flavor is like old days... view is great and quiet. Bathroom and old room are little creepy at night but beautiful during the sunset time. i come to Guadalajara for my business but usually i didn't get a good experience at the hotel. So instead of looking others in same price point,i 'd to come back here again. Just take a taxi to eat.

Room Tip: make sure wi-fi and shower works first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HbBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I just came back from staying 2 nights at this place. The property itself is beautiful and the views from te rooms are very nice.
However the experience is another story. The signal up there is really low or non existing. The front desk even had problems charging the credit cards since the terminal couldn't get a signal. I ended up paying in cash, fortunately there was an atm right next to the front desk.
I couldn't use my celphone in my room and could not connect to my own internet. There was also suppose to have wifi and that didn't work either.
The rooms are spacious and comfy. However the bathrooms are dangerous, you have to be very careful to getting in and out.
Once we had dinner at the restaurant and it was good but pricey. We also had the sunday brunch and it was average, quesadillas were very good but some other things were cold and poor quality.
Saturday we went to the Memories discotheque and I had very high expectations but left dissappointed, nice place but they failed at keeping people entertained and dancing.
The staff is friendly, but the people at the main front gate are kind of slow.
It was nice to experience the property but I don't think I'd stay there again.
I booked directly from the hotel website. Once I was there I found out that you can book the hotel trough Expedia at a cheaper rate. Take that in mind if you need to book this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcisinthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent two nights there. The location is splendid and the pool really inviting. Breakfast buffet was great.
The rooms are getting really old though, and the bathrooms are getting creepy... on the second night we didn't even have any hot water. Wifi only barely worked in a specific area near the reception.
Service is really below average for a place in that price range though. They barely understand English, seem to be puzzled when presented with online reservations, and attempts to organize a pickup from the airport by phone were impossible.
All in all, it's a bit of waste of a great atmosphere, and a tad too pricey for its quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Although the staff is extremely accomodating the rooms are left over from the hotels heydays. Even with the nice size of the rooms, they are drab and the bedspreads look as though the have had them since at least the early '50's. The wiring was rigged and the bathrooms need to be gutted and renovated.
It has a beautiful pool with a swim up bar - bar only open on weekends. No wireless internet. This place is also not handicap friendly.
The hotel sits high on top of a hill with nice views. When you come down from the hill you are not in an area that is tourist friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanneKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our "history" with this hotel goes back to the late 90's when it was a respected resort hotel. Granted we booked it for one night since it offered a convenient location to get to the airport for a morning flight. I had booked a deluxe room (described as being poolside or overlooking the pool). When checking in, the so-called front desk manager acted like he assigned us such a room but we were taken to a standard room. When we questioned it upon a return trip to the front desk, we were told all the deluxe rooms were out of service due to water problems. While we requested a monetary offset, we were told only the hotel manager could approve. Back to the room to find out that the TV and WIFI were both out of service. Another hike to the front desk resulted in the admission that he knew both were out and after discussions about leaving for another hotel, a change of rooms and a $200MXN food credit was agreed upon. The second room had a working TV but still no WIFI. We had dinner in the "gourmet restaurant" and the food presentation there has also gone downhill through the years.

As mentioned above, this formerly was considered to be a Mexican 5 star resort and I am not sure we would even rate it 1 star these days. They have lost any chance of future bookings from us!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 324neilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
2.2 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#9 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
24 reviews
2 mi away
City Express Junior Guadalajara Periferico Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
22.4 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#4 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tapatio & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tapatio & Resort

Address: Carretera Chapala Km.6.5 | Blvd Aeropuerto 4275, Tlaquepaque 45588, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: £36 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Tapatio & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Tapatio & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tapatio Tlaquepaque
Hotel El Tapatio And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing