We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mata Tinta Tlaquepaque

La Mata Tinta Tlaquepaque
Ranked #9 of 79 Restaurants in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

After hearing about this restaurant I decided to try it. Very disappointed! I ordered a margarita on the rocks. It came in a normal size glass, but the contents could have fit in a 2 oz. shot glass. The appetizers had a nice presentation but were very small. The arrachera was tough and chewy. The smoked salmon had a rancid taste and a off color. When the waitress was told about it she took it off the table, but not off the bill...98 pesos......for 2 small bites. Then the bill came with a 15% service charge for entertainment that was happening later in the evening. It did'nt make a difference that I was'nt going to watch the show or not. The one saving grace was that the staff was very nice and attentive even though she could only apologize.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rgnoble57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I had a fabulous and very reasonable lunch at La Mata de Tinta yesterday. The service was impeccable and we sat at the table for about two hours and no one hurried us. The place is beautifully furnished with chandeliers made from recycled wine bottles--they are lovely and it took me a while to figure out how they were constructed. If you come upon the place in the photo attached to this description, enter and go all the way to the back. Be sure to check out Krystinas Boutique and just before that a pastry/sweets place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marigene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best place to stay!!! I loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I just had the time of my life in Gdl, and staying at the apartments above La Mata Tinta was amazing. The room had everything I needed. Cristina, Doug and everyone else made me feel so welcome and assisted me with all of my questions. It was so comfortable, I found it hard to leave! The restaurant is amazing - great food, awesome music at night, and impeccable service! I recommend this place to everyone and anyone - you will love it here!!!

Helpful?
Thank Anania87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, good food and cool concept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

What I love about this place is that it has a really cool concept. They serve as an art forum for local artists, so all the artwork you see on the walls is made by local artists and it changes every 15 or 30 days. They also have a movie night every tuesday and live music and/or performing arts every evening from wednesday to sunday. The food is really good, the ambiance is nice, is not pricy at all and the service is great. They are closed on mondays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amaya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had a late night dinner the night we fly into Guadlajara and lunch a few days later. The menu is varied with many different options breakfast through late night snacks. We happened to be staying in the apartments above and owned by the same people. This is a superior family operation where all family members chip in.

They have entertainment most nights - single musicians, bands and even a circus act one night we were there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mata Tinta Tlaquepaque also viewed

Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Mata Tinta Tlaquepaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing