We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Gem of Tlaquepaque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Gem of Tlaquepaque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is a great Boutique Hotel. Its right in the central area of Tlaquepaque... just two short blocks and your in the pedestrian zone for fantastic shopping. Estella and Arturo are the owners and take great care to look after every fine detail of the Hotel. Charlie is the Bartender and he always greets you with such a warm smile. The restaurant has a varied menu. The night we ate there, my friend and I had the Prime Rib Steak and his wife had the Lamb. All of the food was exceptionally presented and was delicious. If you like coffee with a little kick, I would highly recommend "Salvador's Coffee". Salvador is the waiter who prepares this fantastic delicacy!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CliveGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    99
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
152
253
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at a deluxe room in this hotel for 2 days and one night as part to a larger trip to Guadalajara. In a way, we knew what to expect after reading the reviews given to this boutique hotel in Tripadvisor. However, it is great to be able to confirm that the hotel is a tastefully decorated hacienda-style of house, very comfortable, and quiet. There are nice patios and green areas to relax the eyes. If you happen to visit, we fully recommend having a tamarindo-flavoured margarita in the patio outside the bar area and enjoy the most beautiful songs by a small enthusiastic canary. The staff made every effort to make our stay memorable, were polite and very helpful. In fact, we were switched to different room because we asked to have our airconditioner checked (it was making noise). The bed was comfortable and the airconditioner made a difference when the temperature outside was over 28 degrees celsius at night. We tried the food at Tlaquepasta, it was good but we did not find it particularly memorable. The only negative comment is that the swimming pool was freezing cold. After having walked around in Tlaquepaque we were looking for a refreshing splash and were extremely disappointed even if we are not usually shy of cold water! We'll be back with our children on a different visit.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Quinta DonJose Boutique Hotel is a little bit of heaven in Tlaquepaque! The hotel is beautiful with a lovely garden and patio. From the time you enter your room you are welcomed by a personal note saying how much the staff appreciates your visit. You are provided with the finest towels and linens plus purified water.
I highly recommend the hotel to everyone who will be visiting Guadalajara!
Kathy Howard

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kespino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed a total of 9 nights and loved it. Beautiful hotel, very hospitable staff, great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacos_en_la_calle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia; The Baja
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

What a great "home". The staff are exceptionally helpful, the hotel is very "mexican", clean, safe and spacious. A lovely fruit/bread breakfast is included but you can also order off a menu. The bartenders mix delicious drinks, the maintenance staff are eager to please and no request is too small. The reception desk staff made munerous phone calls for me to make reservations or determine the hours of operation of several sites outside the area. They never hovered over us so so sense that they were trying to hurry us. There was a musician who played the harp for about 1/2 hour at dinner time - very soothing yet up-beat music. All in all, it was an excellent experience and we would definitely return!!

Room Tip: The rooms not on the poolside tend to be a bit quieter and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtn_meadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We recently spent 10 days in TLAQUEPAQUE (Quadalajara).
The choice of QDJ was based on Trip Advisor reviews and Travel Guides.
An unexpected bonus was the opportunity to meet a number ofl "ex pats" and
business travelers who come to the Hotel.
They took us under their wings and in some cases into their homes.
This with the various local tourist attractions kept us very well entertained.

A bit of advice. We had reserved a Rental Car for the 10 days.
At the end of day 2 we returned it.
1. Proper rental Insurance and a modest car in Mexico exceed $100 a day.
Everything else on our trip was a "bargain" .
2. The biggest bargain was Taxi fare. (15 to 20 mile trips for $10.)
3. There is no place to park in greater Quadalajara.

Hope this has been of help.

Say Hi to Art, Sal, Charlie and the rest of the staff, who were uniiformly pleasant.

Jim & Boyann

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JIMBOpCincinnatiOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at QDJ. The service was exceptional and the location was ideal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing