We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite hotel with superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel for just one night, regrettably, before an early flight but it was lovely and a perfect place since we could check in and then go walking in Tlaquepaque for several hours, browsing the wonderful galerias. And, because there is a great restaurant in the hotel, Tlaque Pasta, having dinner and retiring early was easy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are visiting Tlaquepaque, this is the place. Note, if you are driving, look for the restaurant sign (Tlaquepasta), as the hotel sign seems to be non-existent. I'd stay again if in town.To address an earlier comment, I called for my reservation & the staff told me total price including VAT, so no surprises. Plusses:
*Genuinely friendly staff-from reception, to gardeners, to bartenders
*Spacious - both grounds and rooms
*Italian restaurant very good
*Clean, spacious rooms
Negatives:
*Thought the rooms were average value
*Tlaquepaque itself is not an overly charming town

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdlgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just spent three nights here with friends, in two large rooms next to the swimming pool. After staying in large chain hotels during previous visits, we decided to stay in Tlaquepaque, and enjoyed the atmosphere of the small town suburb very much. The Quinta is definitely an excellent property that is clean, well managed for the most part, with good breakfasts and a good restaurant, based on just one dinner. You can tell that the property has been around for a while, with some wear around the edges, and a definite "rustic" style to the furnishings and decor. I am a definite Scrooge when it comes to lavish praise, so i won't grant any here; the hotel receives plenty in other comments. There were a few minor problems but nothing that detracted from an overall very pleasant experience. The bathrooms are quite small, almost cruise ship size, but i imagine that is something from the past that would be very hard to change. The rooms, on the other hand, are quite spacious, at least the ones around the pool where we stayed. The calm and peaceful atmosphere at the hotel, in the middle of a city, was one of the best points about it. As is the fact that you can easily walk over to the main shopping streets and the main square. If you are a business visitor to the area, your activities probably dictate where you need to stay. If you are coming for a few days of vacation or sightseeing, this hotel can certainly be recommended. It is also an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veteranworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Once again, my stay at QDJ was amazing. Excellent service from all staff, beautiful decor, wonderful food, spotless room and great conversation with Charlie. If you're in Guadalajara for business or pleasure, I highly recommend a stay at this incredible place.
Kudos to everyone at Quinta Don Jose, and thanks once again!

Dave Villeneuve
Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: Tough to pick a bad one, and I've stayed in 4 or 5 different rooms over the years.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I live near Guadalajara, and my cousin was visiting from the States. We decided to spend two nights at Quinta Don Jose. What a delightful experience! The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room very nice and comfortable. It's a great location for exploring Tlaquepaque. I will definitely return with my husband. The Chef's Tour dinner was over the top fun and good. A great choice of place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, and are in the Deluxe category, choose #6. It has one king sized bed, but...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here May 18th - May 31st 2013. We stayed in room 12. It was perfect size for the 5 of us. The 2 kids (9&13yrs) stayed upstairs in the loft and the staff put a twin bed in the living room for our adult daughter (19yrs) and my husband and I had the bedroom. I liked that we had 2 full bathrooms, a kitchenette for snacks and lunches, and that the pool was right outside our door. The staff is very nice and very helpful with everything. From getting pool towels, calling taxis, booking outings, recommending activities, they were great! Our room was always clean and ready for us when we came back from our outings. The ladies at breakfast were very nice and the food was good. They offer a fruit plate, juice and delicious muffins which is enough but we also ordered other great items occasionally. The grounds are kept up real well and it is very peaceful. At night it is beautiful with the lights and fountains. When we were there they had a performer playing guitar and singing in the evenings. We didn't try the restaurant because we ate at the many street vendors near the Parian. But we can recommend the bar. They will even serve you at the pool or your room.
Overall we had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. We plan on staying here again as a family next year as well. Thank You! to the staff of Quinta Don Jose for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGARCIA3164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My mom and I stayed here in March and I've got to say the staff was outstanding , the beds uber comfortable , the decor lovely and the "Chef's Tour" is a meal I will never forget. I absolutely love this place and will be back next year for more.I also want to give a shout out to Nik the fabulous driver who took my mom back to Chapala where she lives and picked up my boots that I had forgotten there and delivered them to me when he took me to the airport the next morning. Everything about this hotel is AWESOME! Thanks so much for everything. Karin Carrio

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#6 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#9 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing