We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, But !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, But !!!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our Second and Last time to stay at this Hotel. The staff is Friendly and Helpful. We stayed in the Room upstairs toward the street. It was Noisy, but the Worst part was the Sheets. They send their sheets out to be washed at another location. I don't know what they are using, but the soap was so strong that I was awake all night for 2 nights of our stay. I said something to the staff the first nite. She gave me a strange heavy velour or fake fur blanket to wrap in during the night. AWFUL !! The second nite - again awake all nite. We left early and were unable to communicate this problem - they might have made this right for us.
They need to use an organic soap with no perfumes especially for so many quests. I couldn't wait to leave.
We later stayed at The Gran in Mexico City. The sheets were marvelous beyond what I could have hoped or dreamed of. Hopefully they will see this review and change this for the rest of their guests. The Restaurant is Excellent !!!

Room Tip: Book a room away from the street or find a Better Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovestoTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear LovestoTravela,
Thank you for expressing your comments about your recent stay at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel.
I'm sorry to have learned of your experience with our bed sheets through this site. I assure you that we would have taken every possible step to correct your sheets had we learned of this in time. We are in business to offer our guests excellent lodging and dinning experiences and, in your case, we obviously fell short of our goal! We have taken steps to repair and prevent this from happening again.
I hope that you'd allow us an opportunity to repair your last experience with us. If so, please contact me personally and I will be more than pleased to see to your reservation.

We ARE NOT a commercial hotel and WE CARE VERY MUCH about the experience that each and every guest leaves QDJ with. As a boutique-sized hotel, we want to be close to our guests with excellent service and quality infrastructure. We will work every day to earn your business through these priorities.
Sincerely,
Arturo & Estela Magana
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    100
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
154
257
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We just spent three nights in this beautiful traditional Mexican style hotel. Even though my husband has been visiting this city many times in the past, this is our first experience in this hotel. The main reason we stayed in Tlaquepaque is to do some shopping, have a taste of real Mexican culture and we are fortune to choose Quinta Do Jose Hotel! Here are my comments:

*Location: The best location for shopping and wondering...lot of options with very reasonable prices; wondering around over 200 years old houses make you feel walking into history.
*Service: from the owner of the hotel to the gardener, everybody is so friendly and kind. I like the ladies who serve mexican breakfast, they even dress traditional Mexican style.
*Garden: The gardener did a wonderful job: there are lemon trees, avocado tree, pomegranate tree and all full of fruits; all kinds of flowers...and a turtle in the pond!
*Restaurant: We had two dinner in the hotel and we regretted that we spent the first dinner somewhere else. Excellent food, live music, wonderful services, very reasonable price.

Overall, this is a very well managed hotel and it will be our home in all our future visits!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pekproperties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel for just one night, regrettably, before an early flight but it was lovely and a perfect place since we could check in and then go walking in Tlaquepaque for several hours, browsing the wonderful galerias. And, because there is a great restaurant in the hotel, Tlaque Pasta, having dinner and retiring early was easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanmigueldeallende
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are visiting Tlaquepaque, this is the place. Note, if you are driving, look for the restaurant sign (Tlaquepasta), as the hotel sign seems to be non-existent. I'd stay again if in town.To address an earlier comment, I called for my reservation & the staff told me total price including VAT, so no surprises. Plusses:
*Genuinely friendly staff-from reception, to gardeners, to bartenders
*Spacious - both grounds and rooms
*Italian restaurant very good
*Clean, spacious rooms
Negatives:
*Thought the rooms were average value
*Tlaquepaque itself is not an overly charming town

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdlgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just spent three nights here with friends, in two large rooms next to the swimming pool. After staying in large chain hotels during previous visits, we decided to stay in Tlaquepaque, and enjoyed the atmosphere of the small town suburb very much. The Quinta is definitely an excellent property that is clean, well managed for the most part, with good breakfasts and a good restaurant, based on just one dinner. You can tell that the property has been around for a while, with some wear around the edges, and a definite "rustic" style to the furnishings and decor. I am a definite Scrooge when it comes to lavish praise, so i won't grant any here; the hotel receives plenty in other comments. There were a few minor problems but nothing that detracted from an overall very pleasant experience. The bathrooms are quite small, almost cruise ship size, but i imagine that is something from the past that would be very hard to change. The rooms, on the other hand, are quite spacious, at least the ones around the pool where we stayed. The calm and peaceful atmosphere at the hotel, in the middle of a city, was one of the best points about it. As is the fact that you can easily walk over to the main shopping streets and the main square. If you are a business visitor to the area, your activities probably dictate where you need to stay. If you are coming for a few days of vacation or sightseeing, this hotel can certainly be recommended. It is also an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veteranworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Once again, my stay at QDJ was amazing. Excellent service from all staff, beautiful decor, wonderful food, spotless room and great conversation with Charlie. If you're in Guadalajara for business or pleasure, I highly recommend a stay at this incredible place.
Kudos to everyone at Quinta Don Jose, and thanks once again!

Dave Villeneuve
Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: Tough to pick a bad one, and I've stayed in 4 or 5 different rooms over the years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I live near Guadalajara, and my cousin was visiting from the States. We decided to spend two nights at Quinta Don Jose. What a delightful experience! The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room very nice and comfortable. It's a great location for exploring Tlaquepaque. I will definitely return with my husband. The Chef's Tour dinner was over the top fun and good. A great choice of place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, and are in the Deluxe category, choose #6. It has one king sized bed, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing