We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven, a secret garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles de San Rafael, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A haven, a secret garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Walking down the street, you would never guess that behind those closed doors was the entrance to a peaceful and restful vacation stay. From the moment you go in, you are transported to another place and time. The staff is kind, friendly and attentive. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The food is good. The pool is clean and COLD. I have only gone in there once out of the more then ten times we have stayed at the hotel. The hotel is located walking distance to restaurants, shops and simply allows for easy mobility. The hotel also provides transportation to and from the bus station (not sure about airport) for a fee. I love the Quinta Don Jose!! If you need a place to stay in Tlaquepaque, Guadalara, this is THE PLACE!
I have recommended it to several family members and they too have loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear P V,

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! Your comments are much appreciated and thank you for your referrals and your continued preference :) Our staff and us will continue to make "QDJ" better and better....

Best regards,

Art, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    99
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
152
253
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's been about 7 years since our last visit to Quinta Don Jose. You won't find a better location for walking to all the major shopping and restaurants. The common areas of the hotel are lovely, a nice oasis behind the walls. Lovely crystal clear pool, flowers, gardens, and fountains. The staff is all excellent and will help you with anything you could possible need. If you arrive by car, there is offstreet, secured parking. We understand that they are getting ready to do some updating to the hotel rooms and that is a good idea. Though quite comfortable, the furnishings could use some updating. The major change since our last visit is that they no longer include a full breakfast in the room rate. Instead they offer a continental breakfast with an option to purchase other items. For these two reasons, I feel they are not quite excellent

This will always be our choice when visiting Tlaquepaque.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are face the street. #6 is a good choice or the suites by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexfandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mexfandos,

Wow, 7 years since your last visit, THANK YOU! We continue to make changes and yes you are correct, we are remodeling many of our rooms "poco a poco". In fact, we just finished a few days ago redoing the ceiling in the room you stayed in. It now has that typical exposed brick ceiling so it changed the look of that room a lot :) As far as no longer offering a full breakfast like we used to many years ago, we were forced to do this instead of raising our room rates. We haven't raised our rates in over 6 years or so and thought we could cut back on our breakfast cost, keep the same rates and offer a continental breakfast instead. Of course all our guests have the option to order a full breakfast at reasonable rates if they want to. We hope to see you again soon and we thank you for your continued patronage after so many years!

Best regards,

Art, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stay here when I travel for business into the industrial zone. It is a lot closer than staying in the city and easier to get where I need to go. I really enjoy this place and some day would like to stay for personal vacation time. But that's one reason I stay here on business. It kind of makes it feel like a vacation. I like getting done at the end of day and know when I return I can sit at the bar or by the pool and relax and have a cerveza. The overall feel of this place just makes me relax and when I want to go over to the city center, its a block away and safe to enjoy walking around there. Their restaurant food is pretty darn good too so sometimes I never leave after work.

I will comment however, that on my second stay there, in room 3, it was very noisy. Windows shut and you could hear the phone ring at the front desk or in the kitchen? When that rings at 1:00 in the morning and wakes you up, that gets a bit old fast. I think they need to do a little sound proofing in that room. If they don't believe me, please go up there at midnight when the room is not occupied and have someone ring the front desk or kitchen. Don't tell me no one has ever complained of that before.

Always a pleasure to stay here. Great staff all around. I'll be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool would probably be your best bet if you want, relaxation, seclusion and romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Justin H,

It was our pleasure receiving you again at "QDJ"! Thank you for your comments, we truly appreciate and value your opinion. It's nice to hear that you find our place and our restaurant so relaxing after a long day of work. I wanted to let you know that soon we will be fixing that problem regarding noise. In fact that room and the one next door will be remodeled into a totally different layout. Hopefully we can show you the next time you visit :)

Saludos,

Arturo, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is our fifth stay at the hotel, this time for eight days. A helpful and friendly staff, comfortable bar, excellent breakfast, very comfortable, clean, and spacious room, and central location always make this hotel a place that we miss for many months. Their restaurant, Tlaquepasta, is comfortable, quiet, serves excellent food, and has entertainment most nights. On this visit we attended the National Ceramics Festival and visited artisans in Tlaquepaque and nearby Tonalá, finding first-class ceramics. We can't wait until we can return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athensofga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Propietario at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Athensofga,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments!

You and your wife have been coming to "QDJ" for over 10 years now, WOW! It's amazing how time flies! Aside from being wonderful guests you are true art lovers and appreciate all the wonderful artists that our area has to offer. If that wasn't enough, you are a truly talented photographer. Thanks for the photos!

You always have your "home away from home" here with us!

Saludos y abrazos!

Art, Estela, Brissa, Maia and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful surprise. Don't let the plain exterior of this boutique hotel fool you for inside it's an oasis.
The staff is exceptional, the food and drink are great, and the location is perfect. Just a block away from the center of the city. We could walk around buy our treasures and then come back and drop them off in our room - and start over again. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and family. Looking forward to our next visit. And if you have a car the parking is very secure. We didn't lock up the whole time.

Room Tip: We had Room 8. The room had Art and was decorated in beautiful rustic Mexican design. Room 8 is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renteria_5_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear renteria_5_123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are glad to hear that you have good things to say and we truly appreciate your comments :) We will always be here ready to greet you with a smile again and again! Little by little we are continuing to make improvements and we hope to show them to you on your next visit! Muchas gracias :)

Arturo, Estela and the entire "QDJ" staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed here a few times during the past 10 years and I have to say the service just keeps improving. The staff is polite, helpful and most important respectful.
Location is perfect if you like to browse thru all the great shops in Tlaquepaque.
Rooms are clean and beautiful with plenty of options to accommodate a variety of group sizes.
Lovely complementary breakfast and the pool are definitely a plus!
The on.site restaurant offers great meals at good prices. I always recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear GabyD,

Wow, thank you for your nice comment! This December "QDJ" will celebrate 13 years :) so you started staying with us when we were very new at this and we had no children :) Life and our business has chnaged a lot and we thank you for staying loyal to us and we promise to keep improving because we truly LOVE what we do!

Take care,

Arturo, Estela, Brissa, Maia and the entire "QDJ" family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice accommodations, friendly staff and beautiful grounds. Walk to shopping. Fantastic restaurant on premises featuring a very talented chef. Our stay was like visiting family. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hephvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMC, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Hephvac,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thankful for having such wonderful guests like you and we hope to greet you again soon :)

Best regards,

Arturo and Estela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#5 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing