We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on a stick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Heaven on a stick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

This is a real gem. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. It is in such a good location - just a couple of blocks from the Parian and right in the heart of the art and craft district of Tlaquepaque. When I booked this hotel through the website I got immediate and friendly responses from the staff and nothing was too much trouble. I definitely plan to stay here again as soon as I can get back there.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Typhoon1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    99
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
151
248
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pt. Loma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

We were in 16 and I actually liked it better than 17 or any of the other rooms...but, any of the poolside suites would be a delight! Cabot, the cat, is lucky to still be there...I wanted to take him home! Paolina and Anjelica and all the staff in the reception area are AWESOME. Endless patience and smiles. The drivers were efficient and careful. The breakfast women are a great way to start each day. To repeat what others have said, the happy hours are quite a treat! The faux aqueduct spilling into the pond provides a lovely sound. If you are not happy here, you need to look in a mirror and reexamine your life!

  • Liked — Location...Staff...Margaritas...Cabot...EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — Cold pool
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MyNameIsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed four nights at Quinta Don Jose in December 2008 and had an excellent time.

Beyond the plain wall facing the street, the property is beautiful. The front door opens to a lobby which has a computer for free guest interent use. There is also a phone available for free calls to the US. To the side of the lobby is the restaurant, TlaquePasta, which specializes in Italian food (although we did not eat there). We did sample some food from the kitchen as on Christmas eve, a complementary meal was served to all of the guests and it was excellent. Beyond the restaurant is the bar and the open air patio where breakfast is served. Above this area are the regular guest rooms. The remaining guest rooms are located around the pool and attractively landscaped yard. There is a small secured parking area if you are driving.

We had pool side suite #17 and I would highly recommend it. The suite, which was the corner unit, had a separate living room area with floor to ceiling windows looking out on the pool and landscaping. The bedroom has a king sized bed and the bathroom was adequately sized. We looked at pool side suite #16 as it was being cleaned one morning, and it was a much larger unit, although darker as it did not have the extensive amount of glass unit #17 has.

The location is perfect, about two blocks from the main square in Tlaquepaque and within walking distance to multiple restaurants and all of the shopping. Taxis were plentiful and inexpensive, 70 pesos for a ride to the center of Guadalajara.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank neildean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

We were treated like family! Our wedding was stressful, we missed our flight to Mexico and ended up showing up a day late looking somewhat harried I'm sure. We came in at 7am after a red eye and were immediately shown to our beautiful room to rest before even having to check in. This gesture meant everything to us! The hotel is so cute and quaint and lovely that my husband and I agreed that if we'd never left the grounds, we would have been perfectly content. They have everything you need after all...from a good restaurant to a bar that serves great drinks, and an extremely friendly and chatty staff who let you practice your spanish or speak to you in english, its all just too wonderful. It would be unfare to name names b/c the entire staff is equally warm and accomodating. We can't wait to get back here, to the family at Don Jose! Muchas Gracias Amigos!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn_NYFunbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

Great Hotel!!!! I would begin by saying that the town in which the hotel is located is the best. The town is centrally located to anywhere in Guadalajara. The town has many shops, food stands, and souvenir shops. The hotel is small, but very pleasant. The hotel staff go above and beyond the call of duty. They make you feel very special and attend to your every need. The hotel is not a 5-star hotel, I would say that rooms are average, they don't have flat screen televisions or nice fluffy pillows, but the rooms are comfortable and they give you the real mexican experience. They have a nice pool that is located on the property. Most of the visitors to the hotel all older couples in their 40's and above, so if you are young then this is not the place to stay. The drinks and food at the hotel are great!!!! Overall, I traveled to cancun, cabos, mazatlan, and many places in mexico and have always stayed in 4-star and above hotels, but this hotel and the city of guadalajara is the best vacation I have ever had....I will be back..

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

One of our most memorable stays anywhere and we have done a lot of travelling. The hotel is richly decorated and has a beautiful courtyard/pool area that invites one to enjoy a margarita (two for one during happy hour) and linger. The staff is the most pleasant and helpful group I have encountered in my travels. We booked a deluxe room and it came with our choice of anything on the breakfast menu-it was all delicious. The hotel is centrally located and just about every place is within walking distance.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Genendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

Had to go to Guadalajara for business, but had a weekend to spare. Planned on staying in the city to be closer to the meetings, but saw a review on trip advisor of this bed and breakfast in the suburbs. The reviewers were so exuberant that I took a chance and booked this hotel 40 minutes from my meetings. It was an excellent choice. The town of Tlaquepaque is so charming. The hotel was an excellent deal.

  • Liked — Location near the zocolo of Tlaquepaque
  • Disliked — distance from Guadalajara center
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#5 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing